$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

4 stars
HOCHSTRASSE 3, MUNICH, 81669
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
center city location

Way too far to take a taxi but is on the train line right from the airport. See full review

  • k.ann
  • Jul 16, 2014
Family of four

Great location. Subway and stores all within covered walking distances. See full review

  • S1 Man
  • Jul 7, 2014
Comfortable hotel in the center of the Bavarian capital

Holiday Inn Munich City Centre is opposite the Gasteig cultural center, and just a 10-minute walk from Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. The hotel's 582 modern bedrooms are designed to suit any guest, whether on holiday or attending a corporate event. Holiday Inn Munich City Centre features a restaurant, Bar Hoch3, and lounge on site. High-speed Internet access is available in the lobby, conference areas, and in guest rooms (fees apply).

Highlights
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • On-site restaurant, bar, and lounge
  • Multilingual staff
Rooms

The Holiday Inn Munich City Centre has 582 modern bedrooms and suites, ideal for any traveler. Accommodations include cable television, a work desk, direct-dial telephones with voicemail service, high-speed Internet access, coffee- and tea-making equipment, and a mini-bar. All rooms and suites feature private bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. All rooms are non-smoking. Accessible accommodation is available.

Features

The hotel's on-site restaurant, Grat3 restaurant, offers a great choice of international cuisine in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. The hotel chefs prepare modern Bavarian cuisine at a live cooking station, allowing guests to be fully immersed in a culinary journey through the delights of southern Germany. A well-balanced breakfast buffet is also served here.The Bar & Lounge is open all day Hoch3, serving cocktails, drinks and snacks in the vivid atmosphere of the hotel lobby. The all day meeting point - for a morning coffee, afternoon tea, late night drink or just a chat with your friends. 

Transportation
  • Rosenheimer Platz transport hub (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • München Hauptbahnhof train station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Munich Airport (23.3 mi/37.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Frauenkirche (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Theresienwiese, Oktoberfest venue (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Konigsplatz (2.5 mi/4.0 km)
  • Englischer Garten (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Nymphenburg Castle (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Olympic Park, BMW headquarters (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Botanic Gardens (8.7 mi/14 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Technical services team
  • Catering
  • Green meeting package
  • Facilities accommodate up to 600

Hotel Map

48.131 11.5899
Nearby airports
Munich Airport (Franz-Josef-Strauss), (MUC), 38.00, KM, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Temperature control

Nearby points of interest

  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • German Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.5 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.6 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.6 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.6 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.7 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.7 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • German Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.5 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.6 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.6 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.6 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.7 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.7 mi
  • Nationaltheater: 0.8 mi
  • Marienplatz: 0.8 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.8 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 0.8 mi
  • Marien Square: 0.8 mi
  • New Town Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Residenztheater: 0.8 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 0.8 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 0.8 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Isarvorstadt: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Residence: 0.9 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.9 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.9 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 0.9 mi
  • P1 club: 0.9 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 0.9 mi
  • Hofgarten: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 0.9 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 0.9 mi
  • Glockenbachviertel: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 1 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 1 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 1 mi
  • Asamkirche: 1 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 1 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 1 mi
  • Kultfabrik: 1 mi

Dining

Grat3 The Restaurant
Our restaurant Grat3 will not only provide you a pleasant atmosphere and a superb service, but also a novel food conception named Modern Bavarian Food.Our chefs offer you an one of a kind culinary travel through regional and worldwide delicacies on our Li

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terence
Not Provided
Jun 24, 2011

Good location, near basic amenties

Good location, near basic amenties like shopping and eateries, and to nearest train station. Pricing is value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Delaware
Jun 21, 2011

Good stop

We stayed at the hotel because we needed to get the train and than to the airport the next day. This was very easy to do with the location of the hotel. Went for a walk in the rain to a near by mall. Dinner at a Italian resturant close to the hotel. Very good location. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stop at the grocery store. Was a good experance.

Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
May 15, 2011

good hotel, good value, good locale

I spent one night in the Holiday Inn Munich City Center while on a business trip. The room was very nice, comparable to that of a 4 star hotel. There is a spacious restaurant/bar in the lobby with standard fare. The internet was 3E for 15 minutes of use, or 20E for 24 hours. The 3E package was for using the computers in the lobby, which I felt should have been free as the connection was not very fast. There are no amenities in the bathroom. Just soap. No lotion or quality products, so pack your own. Overall, a good experience, especially a good value for the price. I would stay in this hotel again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
reno nv
May 10, 2011

great spot

very nice hotel in the heart of munich....best breakfast of my whole trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

10 min to the old town

Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Munich lover
SF Bay Area
Dec 23, 2010

Perfect location, nice and clean

We stayed in this hotel for 2 night and for us it was the perfect location. You can take stairs from Hochstrasse down to the district "Au" that is close to the Isar where you can go to nice restaurants or to the Deutsche Museum. I used to live in Munich so for me this was the best location in Haidhausen as you are able to walk all the nice sights, go to stores, restaurants, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Small and big sights near by.

Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakview, Ca.
Nov 3, 2010

At least they try !!

Listen up ! No porter for bags. 16 Euro's for parking. 10 Euro's per day for internet access in room. 3.80 Euro's for an the 8 ounce cheapest draft beer! I wasnt very happy portering my own bags but did so and asked my wife to wait until I was done and meet me in the bar. When I returned the manager was there and I basically told him to buy me a beer because of this. Nope !! Didnt work. When checking in they asked if we wanted a smoking room. My wife said no. So very early in the morning I went to the corridor to obey the rules and smoke ! Within 30 seconds security was there and told me i couldnt smoke. I said really ? I dont see any signs. He said the whole building is no smoking ! Hmmmm, I guess he doesnt know about the smoking rooms ! The staff was polite but not friendly. Everything in the hotel was clean and the food was average for Germany. There isnt any value for the dollar at this hotel and it is clear they are trying to, and succeeding ripping you off for every dollar they can. If you like this, stay here !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a tour with others to avoid the high German prices, buy small food items in the grocery store and use the mini bar refer and eat at the restuarant named raftskellars I think in the marplatz square in the big church building. Its the best reastuarant I have ever eating at for all the right reasons and obviously, im PICKY !!

Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Oct 6, 2010

Expensive! but great location

We booked the night before Oktoberfest, so i expected to pay out the wazzoo, but i do feel robbed. Fantastic location, excellent and friendly staff, breakfast was delicious! Rooms were clean, but our's was TERRIBLY cramped!! We booked for 3 people, and ended up with a room with 2 twin beds and barely enough room to turn around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hofbrauhaus! Fantastic food, magical beer, lively atmosphere!

Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 4, 2010

Good hotel

Good, clean hotel. It is about a 20-25 minute walk to the Marienplatz/old part of the city. Near S-bahn line. Small mall (with grocery) attached to hotel is handy, but not open Sundays (except Subway restaurant is open). Service was friendly even though it was very busy. Gas station next to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bugsy
London
Sep 21, 2010

perfecto..

Everything was great with the hotel. Clean tidy, friendly and great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn MUNICH - CITY CENTRE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beer drinker
barcelona, spain
Sep 20, 2010

Great Oktoberfest Location

The hotel was a great location for oktoberfest.. i think 5 stops away on the U-Bahn. The station is literally connected to the hotel. The only down side was that i could have sworn they said free continental breakfast when we checked in and it ended up being 21 euro a person so it was a large chunk of money we would have been spending else where while unknowingly it was coming out of our pockets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search