$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Hilton Munich City

4 stars
Rosenheimer Strasse 15, Munich, 81667
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
42 reviews
Excellent weekend break

Check-in was quick and efficient. Our room was on the 4th floor facing a courtyard, very quiet. The... See full review

  • Artybar
  • Nov 6, 2013
great location - good value

10 min walk to MarienPlatz, 5 min walk to Deutsche Museum. + Access to City Trains from inside the... See full review

  • t556
  • Aug 9, 2013
Comfortable hotel in the east of Munich’s city center

The Hilton Munich City hotel is adjacent to the Gasteig Cultural Center, a 35-minute train ride from the airport. The hotel features an executive lounge, fitness center, two restaurants, a bar, and a café. The city center is a 10-minute walk away. Some suites offer guests views of the city. The hotel has nine meeting rooms accommodating from five to 550 and a fully equipped business center. The hotel is non-smoking throughout.

Highlights
  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurants, bar, and café
  • Multilingual staff
Rooms

Rooms are graded guest, deluxe, and executive. All offer Wi-Fi, daily newspaper, garden or city views, desk with ergonomic chair, television with cable channels, telephone, and a mini bar. Suites also feature separate seating and working areas. Executive rooms and suites have access to the executive lounge. All accommodations have en-suite private bathrooms. The hotel is non-smoking throughout, including in the rooms.

Features

The Hilton Munich City has two restaurants and a café, all open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and a bar. Lowenschanke restaurant is decorated with wood panels in the traditional Bavarian style. Lowenschanke has its own beer garden where guests can relax with a locally brewed weissier. The restaurant's signature dish is a specialty meat loaf, served at lunch time, while in the evening guests can sample dishes such as veal escalope or beef carpaccio. Zum Gasteig restaurant has two separate dining rooms and is known for its Friday evening seafood buffet and Sunday brunch. Caffé Cino's guests enjoy specialty coffees and cakes while relaxing on comfortable sofas. Light lunches, pasta, and a children's menu are also available.

Transportation
  • München Hauptbahnhof train station (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Munich Airport (23.4 mi/37.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Frauenkirche (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Konigsplatz (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Theresienwiese, Oktoberfest venue (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Englischer Garten (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Nymphenburg Castle (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Olympic Park, BMW headquarters (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • Botanic Gardens (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
Business
  • Nine meeting rooms
  • State-of-the-art Cisco TelePresence suite
  • Audio-visual equipment
  • Catering
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Meeting rooms hold up to 500

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Munich City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.1303 11.5914
Nearby airports
Franz Josef Strauss, (MUC), 35.00, KM, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • German Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.7 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.8 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.8 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.8 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.8 mi
  • Gasteig: 0.1 mi
  • Food Market: 0.1 mi
  • Deutsches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • German Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Isartor: 0.5 mi
  • Museum fur Volkerkunde: 0.6 mi
  • Kammerspiele: 0.7 mi
  • Hofbrauhaus: 0.7 mi
  • Altstadt-Lehel: 0.7 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.8 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.8 mi
  • Friedensengel: 0.8 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.8 mi
  • Schackgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.8 mi
  • Nationaltheater: 0.8 mi
  • Marienplatz: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 0.9 mi
  • Prinzregententheater: 0.9 mi
  • Marien Square: 0.9 mi
  • Residenztheater: 0.9 mi
  • New Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian National Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 0.9 mi
  • Kultfabrik: 0.9 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 0.9 mi
  • Isarvorstadt: 0.9 mi
  • Archaologische Staatssammlung: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Residence: 1 mi
  • P1 club: 1 mi
  • Haus der Kunst: 1 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 1 mi
  • Hofgarten: 1 mi
  • Glockenbachviertel: 1 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 1 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 1 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 1 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 1 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 1 mi
  • Asamkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 1.1 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Munich City

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 42
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VDude
NJ
Sep 14, 2011

Room for Improvement

This is a good hotel in a very good location. As others have stated, it is easily accessible via S8 train from airport. Follow signs for "Gasteig" when leaving the Rosenheim Platz station and you will be at the hotel. Mostly the hotel is standard Hilton quality, but there is room for improvement here. First, concierge is overall poor. Most of the concierge staff do not smile or offer additional info, so be prepared to play 20 questions if you want to fully understand. Second, the T.V. has the most limited selection of English language channels I have ever seen - only 3 channels and they were all news. Of course, for an obscene amount of money, one could upgrade their T.V. viewing. A single movie rental is 10 Euro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can buy train tickets from Concierge. Ask for daily rates that cover more than one traveller to save $$$.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VDude
NJ
Sep 14, 2011

Room for Improvement

This is a good hotel in a very good location. As others have stated, it is easily accessible via S8 train from airport. Follow signs for "Gasteig" when leaving the Rosenheim Platz station and you will be at the hotel. Mostly the hotel is standard Hilton quality, but there is room for improvement here. First, concierge is overall poor. Most of the concierge staff do not smile or offer additional info, so be prepared to play 20 questions if you want to fully understand. Second, the T.V. has the most limited selection of English language channels I have ever seen - only 3 channels and they were all news. Of course, for an obscene amount of money, one could upgrade their T.V. viewing. A single movie rental is 10 Euro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can buy train tickets from Concierge. Ask for daily rates that cover more than one traveller to save $$$.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 2, 2009

No Air Conditioning / Great Location

I hesitated in rating this hotel a '3' only because during our stay at the end of May, we realized the hotel had no air conditioning and the temperature in our room was unbearable. When we asked the front desk about our complaint we were only offered a desk fan. Beware when booking during hot/warm months. Other than that, the location of this Hilton is EXCELLENT! It is only two subway stops from the city center. If arriving from the airport, you can take the S8 train directly to the hotel (35 minute ride) In addition, the subway stop is directly below the hotel, so no worries on dragging your luggage around. There are plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Hotel staff was average, as it was hard to communicate with the staff, and most of the concierge staff was rude and condescending. If we were not so uncomfortable in our room due to the heat, this hotel would have easily gotten a 5 star rating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 3 day "Partner" pass for the subway. Allows you to utilize the subway unlimited within a specifc zone. We used this to get to most of the city's attractions near/in the city center.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 2, 2009

No Air Conditioning / Great Location

I hesitated in rating this hotel a '3' only because during our stay at the end of May, we realized the hotel had no air conditioning and the temperature in our room was unbearable. When we asked the front desk about our complaint we were only offered a desk fan. Beware when booking during hot/warm months. Other than that, the location of this Hilton is EXCELLENT! It is only two subway stops from the city center. If arriving from the airport, you can take the S8 train directly to the hotel (35 minute ride) In addition, the subway stop is directly below the hotel, so no worries on dragging your luggage around. There are plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Hotel staff was average, as it was hard to communicate with the staff, and most of the concierge staff was rude and condescending. If we were not so uncomfortable in our room due to the heat, this hotel would have easily gotten a 5 star rating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 3 day "Partner" pass for the subway. Allows you to utilize the subway unlimited within a specifc zone. We used this to get to most of the city's attractions near/in the city center.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axxell
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 14, 2009

Great Location, quakity hotel

We've stayed at this hotel many times since 1994. The hotel was significantly upgraded several years ago. We very much enjoy the Metropolis Bar for late evening cocktails. Many good restaurants nearby. The hotel location, above the S Bahn stop is very convenient as we do all our local and regional travel by DB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get S Bahn tickets from the concierge.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tpcoops
buffalo ny
Jun 17, 2013

Poor WIFI

The charge of 20 Euros per day for WIFI service was outrageous. We were informed that free internet was available by the frony desk. This service was extremely slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor Klein
washingtonville, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Great Hotel in Munich

The Hotel had very good service, great location w prox. to sites and very convenient to the airport. Also it offers an excellent breakfast( which was included w the room) and a very comfy bed as well. All this 4 A VERY REASONABLE PRICE. Please note, we stayed at the boutique hotel called Flemmings in Munich the previous week. It was twice the price and half as good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A restaurant called "Broeding" was amazingly good w awesome austrian wines and fabulous food

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor Klein
washingtonville, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Great Hotel in Munich

The Hotel had very good service, great location w prox. to sites and very convenient to the airport. Also it offers an excellent breakfast( which was included w the room) and a very comfy bed as well. All this 4 A VERY REASONABLE PRICE. Please note, we stayed at the boutique hotel called Flemmings in Munich the previous week. It was twice the price and half as good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A restaurant called "Broeding" was amazingly good w awesome austrian wines and fabulous food

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelin nancy
Clayton, Ohio
Oct 19, 2010

Nice Hotel; Great Location

The check in process was very efficient and friendly. Food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. Room was comfortable - roomy, luxurious. However, it was either too hot or too cold all night making sleeping less than ideal. The concierge was not helpful and was actually rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the very convenient underground railroad connection to the airport. No need to go outside, ticket booth is in English, cost is less than 10 Euros per person and the trains run on time. It takes only about 40 minutes to get to the airport on clean and efficient trains.

Review of Hilton Munich City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axxell
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 14, 2009

Great Location, quakity hotel

We've stayed at this hotel many times since 1994. The hotel was significantly upgraded several years ago. We very much enjoy the Metropolis Bar for late evening cocktails. Many good restaurants nearby. The hotel location, above the S Bahn stop is very convenient as we do all our local and regional travel by DB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get S Bahn tickets from the concierge.

Back to menu Return to top