$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Excelsior

4 stars
Schuetzenstrasse 11, --, Munich, 80335
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
7 reviews
Comfortable and authentic

The hotel has a traditional and luxurious interior. It is located 100 yards from the main train... See full review

  • Alkaly
  • Feb 18, 2014
october fest in Munich

the location of the hotel was excellent and the staff were very nice. Close to October-fest venue... See full review

  • sevb
  • Oct 8, 2013
Family-run Munich hotel bursting with Bavarian charm

The Hotel Excelsior offers guests a Munich experience filled with comfort and surprises.  Bursting with Bavarian charm, the Hotel Excelsior combines extravagance with modern classicism for an elegant mix of comfort and style.  The Hotel Excelsior is located in the center of Munich, just steps from many of the city's best shopping and top attractions.  Guests also enjoy a free minibar, which is refilled daily, free Internet access, and a wide array of international food and wines in the on-site restaurant.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Understand true Bavarian charm in this family-run hotel, located in the heart of Munich and steps away from top attractions
  • Modern guest rooms with free minibar beverages, free high-speed Internet, and free ironing services available upon request
  • Steps away from Munich's top shopping, best museums, and a short train ride from the Frankfurt Convention Center
Hotel Excelsior Rooms

The 197 rooms at the Hotel Excelsior offer a combination of modern and classic, with an unmistakable Bavarian influence.  The rooms and halls of the Hotel Excelsior are designed true to the region with the perfect combination of ornate and extravagant ironwork, classic antlers along the walls, and pastel friezes.  The beautifully classic, yet elegant, rooms offer a unique and intimate approach to comfort with the choice between double and twin beds.  All rooms feature a bathroom with a tub, satellite television, and additional seating area.  The Hotel Excelsior invites guests to sit back, relax, and forget their troubles.

Things To Do:
  • Munich Residence (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Old Pinakothek (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Marienplatz (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Theresienwiese (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Nymphenburg Palace (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • English Garden (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Olympiapark (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Munich Botanic Garden (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Munich Zoo (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • St. Peter’s Church (5.6 mi/8.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Additional charges: breakfast buffet
  • Airport Shuttle BMW
  • Parking fee
  • Pets

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.1399 11.5622
Area served
Munich
Nearby airports
The Munich Airport is aprox. 30 km from our hotel away.
Area description
The Hotel Excelsior is at the beginning of a pedestrian zone between the main station (Hauptbahnhof) and Karlsplatz, in the very heart of Munich. It is very close to go to the Marienplatz (Glockenspiel), shopping areas (Maximilianstrasse) and several museums (e.g. Deutsches Museum, Pinakotheken).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excelsior also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Excelsior Rooms

Double Room
Double room with double bed or twin beds and seating area, decorated in elegant Bavarian style, satellite tv with sky tv free of charge, bathroom with bathtub. Average 25m.
Single Room
Our Single Rooms provide the comfort and amenities that give a feeling of a second home. With a generous layout and intuitive design, our rooms invite relaxation. Single rooms offer up to 18 square metres of space,satellite tv with sky tv free of charge,some include walk-in closets. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Railway Service: 0 mi
  • Church of Holy Trinity: 0.1 mi
  • Justizpalast: 0.1 mi
  • Stachus: 0.2 mi
  • Karlstor: 0.2 mi
  • Burgersaal: 0.3 mi
  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.3 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 0.4 mi
  • St Michael Kirche: 0.4 mi
  • Maximiliansplatz: 0.4 mi
  • Glyptothek: 0.4 mi
  • Sendlinger Tor: 0.5 mi
  • Asamkirche: 0.5 mi
  • Lenbachhaus: 0.5 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 0.5 mi
  • Railway Service: 0 mi
  • Church of Holy Trinity: 0.1 mi
  • Justizpalast: 0.1 mi
  • Stachus: 0.2 mi
  • Karlstor: 0.2 mi
  • Burgersaal: 0.3 mi
  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.3 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 0.4 mi
  • St Michael Kirche: 0.4 mi
  • Maximiliansplatz: 0.4 mi
  • Glyptothek: 0.4 mi
  • Sendlinger Tor: 0.5 mi
  • Asamkirche: 0.5 mi
  • Lenbachhaus: 0.5 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 0.5 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 0.6 mi
  • Isarvorstadt-Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.6 mi
  • Salvatorkirche: 0.6 mi
  • Maxvorstadt: 0.6 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 0.6 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 0.6 mi
  • Marien Square: 0.6 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 0.6 mi
  • New Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Palais Pinakothek: 0.7 mi
  • Marienplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Pinakothek der Moderne: 0.7 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.7 mi
  • Glockenbachviertel: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 0.7 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Oktoberfest Tents: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Residence: 0.7 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.7 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 0.8 mi
  • Kunstareal: 0.8 mi
  • Residenztheater: 0.8 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 0.8 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Isarvorstadt: 0.8 mi
  • Neue Pinakothek: 0.8 mi

Dining

Geisel Vinothek
Our unique Vinothek restaurant celebrates Italian and Bavarian cuisine, for a blend of tastes and cultures. Our love of good food and good wine is apparent when you walk in our door. Our extensive and impressive wine list includes up to 20 wines by the glass, so you can enjoy wine samplings that reflect your specific tastes. Or discuss your preferences with our staff, all wine lovers themselves. Like the Geisel Family, we source our food from special family-run producers, so you enjoy ingredients that define our commitment to quality and regional freshness. In the same way our buttery-smooth San Daniele ham, for example, is special to the Vinothek, so are many of our wines that we source from small, privately held wineries. Our homemade pasta complements our extensive wine list and our menu changes weekly, to celebrate the freshest ingredients available.Geisel's Vinothek demonstrates that family commitment to superlative products and service make for an unm
Excelsior Bar
Our bar just off our lobby offers guests the opportunity to relax, enjoy our extensive range of fine whiskies, liqueurs or other drinks. On some weekend evenings, piano music accompanies the flavours. Intimate and warm, here our guests can relax, meet with friends, or enjoy a before-dinner drink before ascending to our Restaurant.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located in the heart of Munich, our hotel, with its natural warmth, charm and professionalism, is a special place to host meetings and conferences. Our experienced staff, well appointed rooms and latest technology including complimentary wireless Internet access, contribute to creating an event that is both successful and memorable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Excelsior

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gordon m
FL
Jan 1, 2013

enjoyed our stay

Hotel is in a great location, nice shopping and tourist area. Hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Only warning is to check if your breakfast is included or not. We were charged 20 euros a person (4 of us) even though my wife only had coffee one morning. (Great buffet btw but for $20 euros?). Besides that the hotel itself is highly recommended by us as a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shops are closed day after christmas in Germany so plan accordingly and close early on the eve.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skatermom2
Northern VA.
Aug 7, 2014

Munich Central

We chose Excelsior for their excellent location, near train station & tours leaving town. While staff was very friendly and helpful I felt overall, that the hotel was a bit tired in need of some deep cleaning and touch-up work. Compared to similar hotels we stayed in Germany, Excelsior didn't provide in room coffee or even a bottle of water. Rooms were well cleaned but very stuffy, hotel provided an oscillating fan which basically moved the warm air around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alkaly
Chicago, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Comfortable and authentic

The hotel has a traditional and luxurious interior. It is located 100 yards from the main train station and a few blocks from the central part of Munich. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Outside Marienplatz there is a fast fresh seafood place, called Nordsee, with plenty of options: raw, smoked, pickled, grilled, or in a salad. They also have a bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sevb
california
Oct 8, 2013

october fest in Munich

the location of the hotel was excellent and the staff were very nice. Close to October-fest venue and the train station. I would highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler3343
Business
Lincoln, NE
Sep 17, 2013

Good location, very good service, somewhat noisy (room 323) just a little bit dirty

There were a few stains on the carpet and the chairs. It is also noisy because it is next to a quite transited street. Other than that, it was a good experience. Service was very good. It is close to the train station and the subway, and also next to a grocery store, coffee shops and restaurants so it is convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the breakfast offered and go the the supermarket next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gordon m
FL
Jan 1, 2013

enjoyed our stay

Hotel is in a great location, nice shopping and tourist area. Hotel staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Only warning is to check if your breakfast is included or not. We were charged 20 euros a person (4 of us) even though my wife only had coffee one morning. (Great buffet btw but for $20 euros?). Besides that the hotel itself is highly recommended by us as a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shops are closed day after christmas in Germany so plan accordingly and close early on the eve.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WyoCowboy
Wyoming, USA
Sep 30, 2012

Old world charm close to train station

We wanted a hotel that was located close to the central train station in Munich, and also within walking distance of the Oktoberfest venue. This hotel is perfect from a location standpoint. It is also located near the main pedestrian malls and the Munich Rathaus/Glockenspiel. We were very pleasantly surprised with the friendliness of the staff, the room comfort, and amenities, including a very fast internet. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Augustiner Brauhaus is located nearby...a great place to enjoy German food and beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excelsior

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JamieH
Pittsburgh
Oct 10, 2011

Excellent hotel!

This hotel was class all the way. Its a beautiful interior, a great location, and the staff was very friendly. you will love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search