$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

3 stars
View map of Paschstrasse 46, Munich, 80637

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
9 reviews
Molly Madison

Completely unfamiliar with Munich and luckily booked this hotel. Easy 4 block walk to subway stop.... See full review

  • Molly Madison
  • May 6, 2014
Luxury hotel in residential neighborhood

The "room" was a spotless, well-decorated apartment with a fully-equipped kitchen, living room,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 25, 2010

The three-star Derag Hotel Karl Theodor is situated in one of Munich's nicest residential areas. The green villas quarter of Gern is not far from the Olympic Park and the famous Schloss Nymphenburg. This hotel is a pleasant surprise, offering good value, individually furnished hotel rooms, and serviced apartments, in easy reach of the city center and BMW museum, and ideal for longer stays in Munich.

Rooms

Two free bottles of beer and mineral water are provided on arrival at the Derag Hotel Karl Theodor, which has a total of 238 rooms and serviced apartments. Rooms are at least 22 square meters in size and feature extra-long beds. Rooms are available as single or double, economy or business grade. Most of the apartments have either a balcony or terrace access to the courtyard. All rooms have a private bathroom, desk, chair, trouser press, complimentary mini-bar, satellite and cable television, direct dial telephone with voicemail, Wi-Fi (fees apply), analog modem access, and a hairdryer. Apartments are suitable for single or double occupancy and the hotel also has a duplex suite. All apartments have kitchens or kitchenettes with fridge, microwave, coffee machine, dishes, and cutlery.

Property features

The local area is ideal for short walks or longer exploration. The Olympiastadion (Olympic Stadium), which hosts concerts and other events, is less than 2 kilometers away and can be reached on foot, through the Olympic Park.

 

The Amadeo restaurant, on site and open to guests and non-residents, serves authentic, good value Mediterranean food from a menu that is changed weekly. There is also a set 'business menu' available daily. Guests have free access to the gym and sauna in the wellness area, and can quietly relax in the terrace, which has a garden bar in the summer evenings.

Highlights
  • On-site bar/restaurant
  • Free wellness and fitness area
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Quiet location
Nearby attractions
  • Olympic Stadium (2.5 mi/4.0 km)
  • BMW museum (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Marienplatz (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest field) (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Frauenkirche (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Munich Exhibition Center (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
Transportation
  • Gern U-Bahn (Metro) station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Munich Airport (24.4 mi/39.0 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor also booked these hotels.

Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor Rooms

ECONOMY - Room
Standard room with 20-22 sqm facing the front side, single or double beds, combined sleeping and living area, Minibar, Sat- and Sky TV, telephone, WLAN, private bathroom with toilette, shower and hair dryer
BUSINESS - HOTEL
Business room with 20-22 sqm quiet to the courtyard, single or double beds, combined sleeping and living area, Minibar, Sat- and Sky TV, telephone, WLAN, private bathroom with toilette, shower and hair dryer
UPSCALE - HOTEL
Nice Rooms with balcony and roof-deck, double bed, separated living/sleeping area , two floors, one TV per living and sleeping area, extra studio couch, safe, kitchen with hotplates, oven, microwave, sink, fridge, dishes set, kettle and coffee machine bathroom with bidet
SUPERIOR - APARTMENT
Apartment room with 20-22 sqm quiet to the courtyard, single or double beds, combined sleeping and living area, kitchenette with microwave, Sat- and Sky TV, telephone, WLAN, private bathroom with toilette, shower and hair dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Gern: 0.2 mi
  • Olympiapark: 1 mi
  • Nymphenburg Palace: 1.5 mi
  • Schwanthalerhohe: 1.8 mi
  • Lenbachhaus: 1.9 mi
  • Amalienburg: 1.9 mi
  • Glyptothek: 2 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 2 mi
  • Maxvorstadt: 2 mi
  • Neue Pinakothek: 2 mi
  • Alte Pinakothek: 2.1 mi
  • Kunstareal: 2.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 2.1 mi
  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 2.2 mi
  • Pinakothek der Moderne: 2.2 mi
  • Gern: 0.2 mi
  • Olympiapark: 1 mi
  • Nymphenburg Palace: 1.5 mi
  • Schwanthalerhohe: 1.8 mi
  • Lenbachhaus: 1.9 mi
  • Amalienburg: 1.9 mi
  • Glyptothek: 2 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 2 mi
  • Maxvorstadt: 2 mi
  • Neue Pinakothek: 2 mi
  • Alte Pinakothek: 2.1 mi
  • Kunstareal: 2.1 mi
  • Railway Service: 2.1 mi
  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 2.2 mi
  • Pinakothek der Moderne: 2.2 mi
  • Church of Holy Trinity: 2.2 mi
  • Justizpalast: 2.2 mi
  • Palais Pinakothek: 2.3 mi
  • Oktoberfest Tents: 2.3 mi
  • Stachus: 2.3 mi
  • Maximiliansplatz: 2.3 mi
  • Karlstor: 2.4 mi
  • Burgersaal: 2.4 mi
  • Isarvorstadt-Ludwigsvorstadt: 2.5 mi
  • St Michael Kirche: 2.5 mi
  • Salvatorkirche: 2.5 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 2.5 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 2.5 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 2.5 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 2.6 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 2.6 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 2.6 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 2.6 mi
  • Royal Residence: 2.6 mi
  • Hofgarten: 2.6 mi
  • Asamkirche: 2.7 mi
  • Sendlinger Tor: 2.7 mi
  • Prinz Carl Palais: 2.7 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 2.7 mi
  • Residenztheater: 2.7 mi
  • New Town Hall: 2.7 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 2.7 mi
  • Marien Square: 2.7 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 2.7 mi
  • Marienplatz: 2.7 mi

Dining

Amadeo
Do you like italien cuisine? The restaurant Amadeo serves authentic mediterranean food for good prices: choose from the weekly changing menu. We offer a business lunch menu "affordable" and served promtly. Take a vacation on our dreamlike terrace covered with greenery and wide sunshades to relax after a hard working day. And on warm summer evenings we serve cocktails at our garden bar to make you feel like on holiday in Italy. Be welcome at www.amadeo-muenchen.de.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Regiomontanus
Business
Cairo, Egypt
Aug 24, 2014

Never book directly with this hotel

I travel to Munich regularly for work and have been hoping to find a dependable, comfortable, and reasonably priced place to stay at more consistently rather than bouncing between different cheap but uncomfortable vs. nice but expensive options. This hotel has a lot going for it -- close to metro, close to supermarket, fridge and kitchen sink in the room, laundry in basement, good wi-fi, etc. -- and was close to becoming my go-to option. However, the management really lost me with sleazy pricing when I wanted to extend my stay. Because of the nature of my work, I often don't know an exact departure date but was assuming I could just extend my stay longer if rooms were available. When I checked with the front desk, they said they would check with a manager, and when I came back late from work, I was told a fairy tale about how suddenly the hotel (which was almost half-empty for the entire time I was there) was about to fill up, and therefore I could only extend if I paid a 30-40% higher nightly rate for the rest of my stay, with full payment up front. I was annoyed but also tired, late for a phone call with my spouse, and not interested in searching for a new place at the last minute, so I finally handed over my credit card rather than doing what I should have done first, which was to go an online travel site and confirm that there were still plenty of rooms available at the earlier cheaper price. When I later went back downstairs and pointed out that I could have just clicked online to get the cheaper rate, which would have saved me money and also cost the hotel the booking premium they would have paid the online travel company as opposed to just extending my room at the same price for me but higher profit for them, the response was essentially "Too bad, we've got your money now." I suppose it's probably not that unusual for hotels that want to skim as much as possible from one-visit tourists, but it's not a way to win regular customers like me. Anyhow, if you are only visiting Munich once and know that your travel plans won't change, this place could be nice, but never EVER try to extend your stay with management at the hotel desk. Just go to an online site to book your additional nights, and then shove the new reservation in their faces and demand to stay in the same room. It's a pity that this is necessary when there could be a win-win relationship for hotels and customers instead, but it will save you from paying a lot of extra money for no reason like I unfortunately did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hansonstreet
Business
Ottawa Ontario
Oct 1, 2012

Great stay

The hotel was at a perfect location for us. It was not downtown but close to lots of transit options and then pathways to Nymphenburg and the Olympic park. The front desk staff were always very helpful and the breakfast was delicious and convenient. I also loved that there was a grocery store really close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mags5884
Business
Minneapolis
Oct 4, 2012

Great Oktoberfest stay

Located on a quiet street, quick access to the train. Only complaints are the awful pillows and noise outside all night - there is a cafe and a grocery/market that was right outside our window and it sounded like they were getting deliveries all night! Excellent value for Oktoberfest though. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikki1971
Business
Luxembourg
Jun 19, 2013

Good value for money

a clean & functional hotel with a good restaurant with a friendly team so certainly good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frecklejuice
Business
Gaeta, Italy
Sep 27, 2013

Excellent Oktoberfest location

The hotel is next to a small grocery store in what appeared to be a quiet residential area. The staff spoke english well and were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious by european standards. It was only a 5 minute walk to the closest U station, Gern, and four stops away from Hauptbahnhof station. My only complaint is that my room was directly above the hotel restaurant and I could clearly hear the patrons dining on the outdoor patio well into the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul D
Business
Mallow, Co. Cork
Nov 12, 2013

Ideal Spot for Get Away

The hotel is ideally located outside of the city centre. Only a few minutes from the U-Bahn station Gern so ideal for popping into the city centre. Hotel is located in a nice well kept residential suburb with a supermarket located next door. The Olympic Park and BMW Welt are within easy walking distance of the hotel too. The rooms were clean and tidy and functional - if a little tight on space. There was no safe in the rooms. The staff were friendly. There is a lovely Italian restaurant at the hotel. The breakfast is not great, its a buffet style continental breakfast. There is no bar to purchase any evening drinks, though you can buy beer out of a vending machine if you like. There are some nice restaurants and bars on Dantesrasse which is only a short distance walk from the hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel and would return should I ever visit Munich again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Oct 27, 2010

Perfect for Oktoberfest!

Excellent location and price for Oktoberfest! Overall the room was very clean, but the toilet was kind of gross and they never re-cleaned it after I asked (only asked once).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Molly Madison
Business
Madison, WI
May 6, 2014

Molly Madison

Completely unfamiliar with Munich and luckily booked this hotel. Easy 4 block walk to subway stop. Nice to have a refrigerator and cook top in room. Grocery store next door. Sauna too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 25, 2010

Luxury hotel in residential neighborhood

The "room" was a spotless, well-decorated apartment with a fully-equipped kitchen, living room, work station, and separate bedroom. The kitchen and living room were on the first level, the work station was on the mezzanine, and the bathroom and bedroom were on the third level. (The layout would be unsuitable for someone unable to climb stairs.) My only complaint: the lack of air conditioning during very hot weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Schloss Nymphenburg is within easy walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top