$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

4 stars
Schwanthalerstrasse 37, Schwanthalerstrasse 37, Munich, 80336
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
19 reviews
Great Location

Hotel was in a great location. Easy to get around, the Central Train Station was only 2 blocks... See full review

  • AnaP
  • Jan 21, 2014
Courtyard Munich

Large rooms by European standards. One complaint is the relatively high cost of internet access in... See full review

  • EC14
  • Jun 7, 2014
Downtown hotel in Munich

The Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center Hotel is in the heart of Munich, steps from the main train station, Old Town, and Marienplatz. The hotel offers spacious rooms with air-conditioning and all conveniences. A bistro with show kitchen and a 24-hour market are on site. The hotel is convenient to the central train station, Metro system, Oktoberfest, and city center. Munich's fairgrounds, convention center, opera, and other cultural highlights are easily accessible.

Highlights
  • Restaurants and bars
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary Internet access in public areas
  • Multilingual staff, safe at reception
  • Laundry service
Rooms

The Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center Hotel has 235 rooms and 13 suites over seven floors, all air-conditioned. Rooms and suites combine comfort and functionality, offering a large well-lit desk, an ergonomic chair, in-room refrigerator, safe, iron and ironing board, coffee- and tea-making equipment, and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Rooms are equipped with luxurious Marriott bedding, custom duvets, soft linens, and fluffy pillows. Soundproof windows keep things quiet.

Features

The Oleo Palazzo restaurant welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant includes a full American breakfast and Mediterranean cuisine with a show kitchen. The Oleo Palazzo Bar offers a variety of cocktails and tapas. The city center area has a wide range of restaurants and bars, from casual to formal, Middle Eastern to gourmet. The Hofbräuhaus, the city's famous beer hall, is a 20-minute walk.


The fitness center has free weights and state-of-the-art fitness equipment.

Four meeting rooms include La Piazza Ballroom, which seats 150.


Internet access is available in public areas.

Transportation
  • Central train station (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Munich Airport (18.3 mi/29.3 km)
  • U-bahn Nordfriedhof (600 yd/550 m)
Nearby attractions
  • Theresienwiese, Oktoberfest venue (0.75 mi/1.2 km)
  • Munich Cathedral (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • English Garden (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Konigsplatz (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Olympiapark, BMW headquarters (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Neueu Messe Munchen exhibition center (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Allianz Arena (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms
  • Four breakout rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Event management team
  • Full-service business center
  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 150 people

Hotel Map

48.1374 11.5598
Area served
Karlsplatz (Stachus)
Nearby airports
Munich, (MUC), 40.00, KM, NE; Nuernberg, (NUE), 182.00, KM, S; Stuttgart/Echterdingen, (STR), 215.00, KM, NE; Salzburg, (SZG), 140.00, KM, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.2 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.2 mi
  • Church of Holy Trinity: 0.3 mi
  • Stachus: 0.3 mi
  • Justizpalast: 0.3 mi
  • Karlstor: 0.3 mi
  • Isarvorstadt-Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.4 mi
  • Burgersaal: 0.4 mi
  • Sendlinger Tor: 0.4 mi
  • Asamkirche: 0.5 mi
  • St Michael Kirche: 0.5 mi
  • Oktoberfest Tents: 0.5 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 0.6 mi
  • Maximiliansplatz: 0.6 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 0.6 mi
  • Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.2 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.2 mi
  • Church of Holy Trinity: 0.3 mi
  • Stachus: 0.3 mi
  • Justizpalast: 0.3 mi
  • Karlstor: 0.3 mi
  • Isarvorstadt-Ludwigsvorstadt: 0.4 mi
  • Burgersaal: 0.4 mi
  • Sendlinger Tor: 0.4 mi
  • Asamkirche: 0.5 mi
  • St Michael Kirche: 0.5 mi
  • Oktoberfest Tents: 0.5 mi
  • Staatliche Antikensammlungen: 0.6 mi
  • Maximiliansplatz: 0.6 mi
  • Frauenkirche: 0.6 mi
  • Glockenbachviertel: 0.6 mi
  • Munich Stadtmuseum: 0.6 mi
  • Glyptothek: 0.6 mi
  • Lenbachhaus: 0.7 mi
  • Marien Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rathaus Glockenspiel: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Porcia: 0.7 mi
  • New Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Isarvorstadt: 0.7 mi
  • Peterskirche: 0.7 mi
  • Marienplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Holnstein: 0.7 mi
  • Salvatorkirche: 0.7 mi
  • Viktualienmarkt: 0.8 mi
  • Old City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Maxvorstadt: 0.8 mi
  • Heiliggeistkirche: 0.8 mi
  • Theatinerkirche: 0.8 mi
  • Alter Hof: 0.8 mi
  • Staatstheater am Gartnerplatz: 0.8 mi
  • Palais Pinakothek: 0.9 mi
  • Palais Preysing: 0.9 mi
  • Pinakothek der Moderne: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian opera house: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Residence: 0.9 mi
  • Odeonsplatz: 0.9 mi
  • Residenztheater: 0.9 mi
  • Bavarian State Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Staatliches Museum Agyptischer Kunst: 0.9 mi
  • Nationaltheater: 0.9 mi

Dining

Oléo Pazzo
Oléo Pazzo is one of the delectable Mediterranean restaurants in Munich with a full breakfast and delicious cuisine for lunch and dinner around a unique show kitchen. Guests enjoy this welcome retreat from the busy city situated in a casual atmosphere.
Oléo Pazzo Bar
Located inside Oleo Pazzo is a standout option for Munich dining and drinking, Oleo Pazzo Bar. At our trendy bar, we offer a variety of cocktails and tapas, and you can grab a bite to eat before exploring the city or unwind with friends after a busy day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayern Football Fan
Atlanta, GA
Apr 12, 2012

Family Vacation

We stayed here with our children for a week. The hotel is in an excellent location with a friendly staff that speak excellent English. We walked every day throughout the city with our children and felt very safe and centrally located with our hotel choice. The main train station is just one street over as well as many of the tour companies. Munich is a wonderful city and I would recommend staying at the Courtyard City Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe on the corner from the Courtyard is excellet. Great pastries and coffee as well as reasonably priced sodas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Kari
Wisconsin
Jul 22, 2009

GREAT SERVICE FROM THE STAFF

We had a great time with our stay at the Marriott in Munich. The location was within a short distance to the major train station and local attractions. We walked safely to all the main tourist sites and restaurants. Would be happy to stay there again. One of the staff members even guided us on a 5 minute walk to the train station so we knew exactly where we needed to be. Above and beyond hospitality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to the Haufbahnhof- main train station. We could have saved some money on the way into the hotel by just a short five minute walk to the train station and to Marienplatz- only 15 min walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Germany
Raleigh, NC, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Location, location, location

This is the perfect hotel for visitors wanting to see Munich --- the location is fantastic! Close to Christmas Markets, train stations, churches, tourist information, and wonderful Munich restaurants. The hotel management is based on customer service -- ask a question, they have the answer, or will find out the information for you. Trust me, we found their information invaluable! It was perfect home base for our twelve day Christmas holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the BMW Showroom and Museum! It is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chikina
foster city, ca
Jan 26, 2010

Comfortable, quite, clean

We spent 3 nights in the hotel, traveling from Riga, Latvia to San Francisco. We paid very reasonable price of $80 per night. Our room was very clean, quite and super comfortable. Spotless bathroom, with nice size bath tub, powerful shower, hairdryer, lots of counter space. Really comfortable bed with nice bedding. Good selection of tea and coffee, teapot, refrigirator, safe, tv, even window could be open. The only thing that could be better is lacation, though it is not too bad and very close to the central train station, however to get to the city center you need 10 minutes walk on the street populated with sex shops,low class shops and people. It is not dangerous, but unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bath House near Deutches Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, KY
Apr 11, 2011

Outstanding Deal!

The Courtyard by Marriot was a luxury hotel at an economy price! Perfect location just a few minutes walk from old downtown and the train station. Everything was extremely spacious, clean and modern, from the carpet in the hallways to the pillows on the comfy bed. Large bathroom, flat screen TV, plenty of storage space and above all else extremely quiet despite the fact it's located on a busy street. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful as well and all spoke very good english. Breakfast wasn't included but was available at a trendy restaurant on the first floor, but for the price, I wouldn't expect breakfast and savings on the rate made up for it-there's plenty of bistros and restaurants to stop by in the neighbohood. Whether on a business or vacation trip with or without children, I would stay at this hotel again for sure. The best hotel value I've experienced in Europe by far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnaP
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Jan 21, 2014

Great Location

Hotel was in a great location. Easy to get around, the Central Train Station was only 2 blocks away. The staff spoke English and was polite and friendly. Helped with all our questions, gave directions and suggested places to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for seeing the city. Short walk to central train station so it was easy to get around. Lots of l restaurants in area. Wonderful food stands in all trains stations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeeYoung
USA
Sep 22, 2007

munich octoberfest

Marriot Court Yard Munich was very nice. A great deal for the opening day of Okoberfest. The location was very close to the train station and to the Oktoberfest fair ground. We also got a coupon for a glass of beer and a pretzel. I was satisfied with our stay. Breakfast was included and it was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tucson Native
Tucson, Arizona
Apr 23, 2009

Courtyard by Marriott Munich was GREAT!

The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. The premises felt safe and was very clean and quiet. We enjoyed the two meals that we ate there. I would gladly stay there again. Being in the city center was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the block (to the right as you exit) is a great bakery. We ordered carry out every morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minda P
Sydney
Mar 20, 2013

great stay

Hotel was very convenient as it is walking distance to Train station and the City Centre. Staff were very friendly and courteous. Arrived too early for check-in but was given an available room which was a treat. Restaurant Food was excellent. Best value for what I have paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top