$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

4 stars
View map of Vangerowstrasse 16, Vangerowstrasse 16, Heidelberg, 69115

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
18 reviews
very nice facility

great base for sightseeing See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 19, 2009
nice place

Air conditioned room-very comfortable bed--good service See full review

  • ticki
  • Jul 31, 2009
The Heidelberg Marriott Hotel welcomes you to one of Germany's most fascinating cities with a blend of traditional elegance and modern convenience. Located on the banks of the Neckar River, our hotel offers spacious, air-conditioned rooms and suites with a host of amenities, including flat-screen TVs and high-speed Internet access. Most rooms also provide riverfront views. Grill 16 features juicy cuts of black Angus steaks and a large outdoor terrace facing the river - the only one of its kind in the city. If you're planning an event in Heidelberg, you can take advantage of our hotel's well-appointed ballroom, which showcases amazing views and opens out onto the terrace. And make plans to join us in September 2015, when the Heidelberg area plays host to the Solheim Cup women's golf tournament! Throughout your stay, you'll be taken care of by our friendly staff, whose outstanding service has earned us TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence in 2014. We look forward to your visit to the Heidelberg Marriott Hote

Top hotels

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

GRILL 16
Our signature steakhouse serves prime cuts of black Angus in a welcoming environment. We're also the only restaurant in Heidelberg with a riverfront terrace; enjoy your meal with the picturesque Neckar River as your backdrop and stop by for Sunday brunch.
Pinte
Whether you're stopping by for a beer, a snack, or a traditional German meal, Pinte is the perfect place to gather and relax with friends or colleagues.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MtthwRyn
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 1, 2009

Nice Comfortable Hotel

Nice and Comfortable hotel. Decor was a little dated. If you require air conditioning to be comfortable, as we do, this is the ONLY game in town! It is really a taxi ride to Old Town, so the location isn't perfect, but the A/C made it worth it. Beds are very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 10, 2010

Nice hotel, staff needs some training

I found this hotel based on some reviews for the area. I am not a big fan of Marriott hotels (I am a Hilton person) but I thought I would give them a shot. The hotel itself was easy to find. I tried to check in a bit early and was told my room wasn't ready so I left my bag and went on with my day. When I arrived that evening, I got my room key and my bag was already in my room. I didn't realize til I got into my room that I was never asked what kind of bed I wanted so I was defaulted into a twin room. Not my preference, but I guess I should have asked earlier. I had parked my car in the garage so I had to go by the front desk to check out in order to have my parking validated. By validated they really mean charging $18 euros. The real problem for me with the hotel was the long wait to check out. I arrived at the front desk with my bag ready to go. There were 2 people being served already trying to check in early (it was 9am). I patiently waited and read through the paper while in line. The front desk staff never really looked my way though it was clear that I was waiting. Over 20 minutes passed while I was waiting in line. 2 other couples showed up and went directly to the desk and stood their waiting. I was a bit miffed by this, but I had experienced it in other central European countries in the past. What really bothered me was the desk clerk finally finished up helping one of the people and immediately went to help the people at the desk instead of helping me. It was clear that I had been there for a while, I was extremely disappointed in this. I wouldn't stay here again for this simple reason. Finding out that the overnight parking was 18 euros was a real kicker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Y J Traveling
Business
Perth WA, Australia
Jan 17, 2012

yn AND jl

the hotel has an old fashion style but the room was very comfortable. Location is not just at the old city center but easy access to the highway and 15-20 min walking from the center or 5 min by taxi, public transportation also available few steps from the hotel. Nice breakfast and service, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

many nice restaurants and bars at the old town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bonjan
Business
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Feb 5, 2012

Good stuff

It's very conveniently located if you want to be close to the train station (a quick walk away). You'll need to walk a bit to get to the historic area of Heidelberg although buses and trams will help with that. Staff is very helpful and friendly, the gym is open 24 hours and the rooms and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is also very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Less than 10 minutes walk to the train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegan Too
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Apr 11, 2012

Good hotel, but does not feel like a true five start

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We were offered an upgrade to an executive room for an additional amount and probably should have taken it, since it would have felt more like a five star. We had to pay additional for Internet service which is annoying. For many the location outside the center would be a disadvantage, but we like to walk and so we have stayed at this hotel twice. The workout facility is good and is open 24 hours, which is a plus. If you can get the breakfast buffet included do so, since it is expensive on its own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two Starbucks in the center of town and the one nearest the castle is lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobSD
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 14, 2013

Very nice!

One night leisure visit in Heidelberg. The hotel was excellent, with very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was outstanding. Cons: --We walked to the main part of Heidelberg--it's quite a hike. About 45 minutes each way. --I didn't realize that I couldn't 't get reward points by booking thru this site. Next time I would book directly with the hotel chain that this site that starts with "O" won't allow me to mention (weird rule-- they don 't even allow you to mention their name).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 14, 2010

Heidelberg Marriott

The Heidelberg Marriott is located some distance from the old city. The location on the Neckar River is close to public transportation and the hotel itself is attractive. There is parking under the hotel, often a problem in German cities.We took a taxi to and from the Hauptstrasse for about 10 Euro. Buses are called trams and the cost to Alte Stadt is said to be less than two Euro. You had best read German well to get your ticket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel dining room is attractive, the staff courteous and the food is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2011

Heidelberg Marriott review

Great staff and food. The room was spacious for Europe. As a side note, many Americans made me feel really at home after 2 weeks on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philly
Aug 17, 2009

Nice place to 'ease-in' to European trip

Front desk was very helpful, gave us a map of Heidelberg and told us some options for getting around. Hotel staff very courteous, made us feel like we were at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 9, 2009

Good Hotel in Heidelberg

We had a good night's stay at the hotel. They were cleaning the exec level and gave us free wine in the bar. Always welcome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 1/2 mile from the main strip of restaurants. nice walk along river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top