$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

4 stars
Glockengiesserwall 14/15, 20095 HAMBURG, Hamburg, 20095
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
6 reviews
walkin mom

Perfect location!! Its close to train station, a pedestrian mall, and the lake. We stayed 2 nights.... See full review

  • walkin mom
  • Jul 2, 2014
What a city!!!

If you are a train lover and we are, this IS the place to stay. We love interCity Hotels and have... See full review

  • Volvo traveller
  • May 30, 2010
Ambient atmosphere in Hamburg
With its ambient decor, InterCityHotel Hauptbahnhof offers a welcoming atmosphere in the city of Hamburg, whether staying for business or pleasure. A buffet breakfast is available as well as other meals. The hotel's central location near the train station makes it ideal for visiting some of the area's attractions. InterCityHotel Hauptbahnhof is in Monckebergstrasse, one of the city's main shopping areas.
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Great location next to the train station and some main attractions
  • Room pass acts as a free transport ticket for guests to explore the area
  • Near to the nightlife of the district of Reeperbahn
InterCityHotel Hauptbahnhof Rooms
Bold yellows, warm peach and cream colors await guests in the InterCityHotel Hauptbahnhof rooms. Guests can choose from studios, standard single or double rooms, or a business single or double accommodations. All rooms are equipped with soundproofed windows for extra peace and quiet. All rooms are fully air conditioned to suit the guest's preference. Both standard rooms and business rooms are complete with a queen bed or two singles. En-suite bathrooms have a bath and shower. Enjoy cable television and pay TV, a fridge, mini-bar and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). 
Things to do:
  • Kunsthalle (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fair & exhibition centre (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Jungfernstieg (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Neuer Wall (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Rathaus (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Hamburg's Harbor (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Reeperbahn (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • AOL Arena (6 mi/9.7 km)

Hotel Map

53.554 10.0034
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
Fuhlsbuttel, (HAM), 12.00, KM, SE; Hannover Airport, (HAJ), 150.00, KM, E; Luebeck Blanqensee, (LBC), 60.00, KM, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Business Plus Room double room,
Business Plus Room, 27sqm, AC, double bed or two single beds, minibar, coffee/tea preparation set, TV with SKY
Business Room,Double bed,W-Lan
Business Room,Double bed,W-Lan,16-22sqm minibar,working desk,Radio,Pay-TV sound proof window, view to courtyard
Standard Room,Double bed,16
Standard Room,Double bed,W-Lan,16-22sqm minibar,working desk,Radio, Sky, sound proof window,view to Art Museum
Standard Room,Single bed,16
Standard Room,Single bed,W-Lan,16-22sqm minibar,working desk,Radio,Sky sound proof window, view to Art Museum

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Children's activities
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Railway Service: 0.1 mi
  • Schauspielhaus: 0.2 mi
  • Monckebergstrasse: 0.2 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Binnenalster: 0.4 mi
  • Deichtorhallen: 0.4 mi
  • Kunsthalle Hamburg: 0.4 mi
  • Hamburg Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Jungfernstieg: 0.5 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • St. Nicholas' Church: 0.6 mi
  • Planten un Blomen: 0.9 mi
  • Hafencity: 0.9 mi
  • Messe: 1 mi
  • Speicherstadt: 1 mi
  • Railway Service: 0.1 mi
  • Schauspielhaus: 0.2 mi
  • Monckebergstrasse: 0.2 mi
  • St. Peter's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Binnenalster: 0.4 mi
  • Deichtorhallen: 0.4 mi
  • Kunsthalle Hamburg: 0.4 mi
  • Hamburg Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Jungfernstieg: 0.5 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • St. Nicholas' Church: 0.6 mi
  • Planten un Blomen: 0.9 mi
  • Hafencity: 0.9 mi
  • Messe: 1 mi
  • Speicherstadt: 1 mi
  • St. Michaelis Church: 1 mi
  • Hammerbrook: 1 mi
  • Laeiszhalle: 1 mi
  • Michel: 1.1 mi
  • Miniatur Wunderland: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Ethnology: 1.2 mi
  • Uhlenhorst: 1.3 mi
  • Außenalster: 1.4 mi
  • Port of Hamburg: 1.4 mi
  • Landungsbrucken: 1.4 mi
  • Borgfelde: 1.7 mi
  • Reeperbahn: 1.7 mi
  • Große Freiheit: 1.8 mi
  • St. Pauli: 1.8 mi
  • Veddel: 2 mi
  • Neue Flora: 2.3 mi
  • Hamburg Stadtpark: 2.5 mi
  • Altona-Nord: 2.7 mi
  • Fish market: 2.8 mi
  • Altonaer Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Hom: 3.8 mi
  • Ottensen: 3.9 mi
  • Hagenbeck Zoo: 4 mi
  • Billbrook: 4.2 mi
  • Stellingen: 4.2 mi
  • Kirchdorf: 4.4 mi
  • Imtech Arena: 4.9 mi
  • Color Line Arena: 5 mi
  • Fuhlsbuttel: 5.8 mi
  • Schnelsen: 6.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
walkin mom
Lk. Stevens, WA
Jul 2, 2014

walkin mom

Perfect location!! Its close to train station, a pedestrian mall, and the lake. We stayed 2 nights. The rooms were quiet and clean. The AC wasnt working during our visit which made the room a little stuffy. They gave us two 3 day transit passes which was very handy for trains and a ferry ride around the harbor. Staff was very helpful in finding the cruise terminal location for our ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pedestrian mall with lots of activity and places to eat.

Review of InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Legacy200
Dallas, TX
Nov 16, 2013

Vacation

Location is good. Room was large, clean and comfortable. I just wasn't impressed with the staff. Not all that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Totteridge
Evesham
Dec 10, 2011

Ideal location for city break

Most enjoyable stay marred only by thin towels and poor lighting in bedroom. Staff were excellent and responded to any requests most quickly. The addes bonus of a free city transport pass was most welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Miniatur Wunderland

Review of InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Germany
Sep 19, 2010

Great Location!

I only stayed here on night but it was great. The location is ideal: across the street from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the old inner city. Upon my arrival they surprised me with a card that allowed me free travel on all Hamburg public transportation during my stay. A great added bonus and a helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Volvo traveller
Portland, Oregon
May 30, 2010

What a city!!!

If you are a train lover and we are, this IS the place to stay. We love interCity Hotels and have stayed at the one in Frankfurt, Germany many times. Rooms are small but exceptionally clean. The breakfast buffets are SUPER, the service friendly and efficient. The price will WOW you. It was a super stay in a super hotel. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterCityHotel Hamburg HBF

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgg19
Ottawa, Canada
Sep 21, 2009

Location, location, location

We spent 2 nights in Hamburg. The hotel was selected due to its location to the central train station (Hautbahnhof), and we weren't disappointed. Two minutes after leaving the Hautbahnhof we were checking in. We showed up early for our check-in (13:00) and our room was ready. Our "L-Shaped" room was #812, at the end of the hall with our own access to the terrace. Room was spotless upon arrival and the hotel appears to have recently been renovated as everything was modern and efficient (except for the TV which was a CRT :). We had a mini-kitchenette at our disposal, with microwave oven, plates, cutlery, glasses and a mini refrigerator. So you could pick up a few items and have your own breakfast which would save you some money and inconvenience of finding a restaurant/café, if that's a concern. The hotel is centrally located with easy walking distance to the Rathaus and the posh shopping areas to the west across the bridge. We thought the €15 breakfast charge a little steep, so we opted to go to one of the many cafés in the area (you could even go back to the Hautbahnhof, which has a few to choose from as well). This hotel offers free public transportation in the price of the room, which is an added bonus. We didn't use it since we walked everywhere, but its there for you to use. The price of the hotel was reasonable. Let's face it: Hamburg is an expensive place in terms of accommodations, so we were happy with our choice. We highly recommend this hotel as it lived up to our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the Hautbahnhof is priceless. In approximately 2 minutes, you can be leaving the train station and be in the lobby of the hotel. That's tough to beat!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search