$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

4 stars
View map of Taunusstr. 48, Frankfurt, 60329

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deirdre
Family
Ireland
Jun 10, 2010

City Break Ease

Yes this Hotel is in the red light district and there are some junkies openly injecting in the streets but then again the ECB is just a five minute walk down the road as is the shopping districts and the major sights. The main train station is two minutes away. However the hotel was clean and the service very good. The breakfast very good and as long as you kept the windows closed there was no much noise at night. Despite the hotel being in the red light district the area was well policed and we had no trouble. This is not a hotel for a family outing but for anyone just wanting a good value hotel for a city break it is ideal. The staff were excellent. I would definitely recommend it in these circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Sailor
Single
Kuwait
Apr 21, 2010

Smokey Hotel

Decent breakfast. Rooms have refrigirators. Free Wifi. 1 block from Frankfurt Hbf. Probably best "4" star this side of the train station, mostly because a bunch of the other are deeper into the red light district. At the edge of the red light district. Premise is not smoke free. Bar that is connected to lobby has some casion machines and locals hang out all day smoking. First three floor of rooms are "smoke free", but the nice stair cases act as chimnies for the downstairs patrons, so the smoke pervades every room. Top two floors having smoking rooms too. A/Cs didn't work very well in either room that I was in, and this was mid-april when it was even really hot yet. These rooms would be miserable during the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a small convience store that sell alcohol at a very good price, much better than the hotel bar...so you can save money and drink in a less smoke filled environment in your room. Also recommend that you simply travel to nicer areas via the trains from the Hbf and not venture too deeply into the neighborhood at night alone or in small groups.

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 21, 2010

Center plaza problems

The hotel was very nice during the day, but very sketchy if you're a single women walking at night. My room was a single double bed, which was very nice and cozy. The bathroom was nice and well equiped with everything I needed. I liked the cleanliness of the room as well. I enjoyed the free breakfast. The first night there was great. But these are the big problems of this hotel: the spa and fitness center are dark and never in use. There were so many loud noises and music from the clubs during the night and even the day, so it's difficult to sleep. I was put in the 5th floor and had to use the stairs because the elevator was extremely slow! Overall, it was a bad experience :( The air conditioning was broken or weak, so it was hot and stuffy. Most of all, the lock on my door broke so I couldn't get in my room for the whole night and ended up being temporarily put in a smaller room without any amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the main railway station

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo Gay Traveler
Single
Wilmington, NC, USA
Mar 17, 2010

Great Value & Location

One block from main train station in Frankfurt, which is the center for trams, subway lines, and buses. It is in the red light district and if you are male, you be solicited as you walk by the related businesses. Has a very nice bar that is open to 3am. This place is the closest to a 5 star without the pretentious extravagance. It is a great value. I would stay there again if visiting Frankfurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Aug 23, 2009

Really good

Good location, little noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VirtO
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 3, 2009

Inexpensive and close to train station

Very nice room, inexpensive, and close the the train station. The few blocks around it were a little seedy. I would hessitate taking my young children there because of the many adult clubs immediately around the hotel. Things are OK a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jdschwartz78
Single
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 12, 2009

Probably Closer to a Three Star Property

Center Plaza hotel rooms seemed remarkably similar to the dorms I resided in during my freshman year of college. The rooms at the hotel were definitely not anything special as they were small and very plain. However they were clean and suitable for a short stay. Probably the best thing about this hotel aside from price was its proximity to the Frankfurt Hbf (Central Train Station). The station is roughly 1.5 blocks from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is less than five minutes from the main train station in Frankfurt.

Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Frankfurt City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler to Frankfurt
Business
Zug, Switzerland
May 12, 2009

A surprise close to the main station

The owners/managers very accomodating. Great breakfast room and a nice bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The nightlife happens only a couple of subway stops away in the area of the Hauptwache.

Back to menu Return to top