$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

NH Koeln Mediapark

4 stars
I Media Park 8b, Cologne, 50670
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
6 reviews
Very satisfied

This was a last minute choice after a long flight and exceeded y expectations See full review

  • Love Europe73
  • Oct 25, 2014
Very good hotel

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Excellent service, room was very clean, Situation extremely good... See full review

  • Joolia
  • Oct 2, 2013
Cologne hotel with bike rental, business services, fitness room access
At the NH Koeln MediaPark hotel, guests experience Cologne with a Mediterranean flair with room furnishings and restaurant cuisine. Centrally located, the hotel is within easy reach of all major sites and attractions, as well as top shopping and nightlife. The NH Koeln MediaPark hotel provides a bike rental service enabling the truly adventurous to visit Cologne in two-wheeled style. All guests have access to a fitness center, sauna and steam bath. The on-site restaurant serves hearty, wholesome Mediterranean fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Highlights
  • Pet-friendly guest rooms
  • Smoking and non-smoking guest rooms
  • On-site restaurant serving Mediterranean fare
  • Bike rental
  • Lake views

 

Rooms
Mediterranean hues and stylish decor compliment the 217 comfortable and very spacious pet-friendly guest rooms at the NH Koeln MediaPark hotel. Standard amenities include tea and coffee making facilities, high-speed Internet (fees apply), workdesk and chair, reading chair, air conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV and in-room safe. Bathrooms are outfitted with sleek marble features, along with a bidet, hairdryer and quality bath amenities.
Features
Located in the MediaPark close to area shopping, restaurants and attractions, the upscale NH Koeln MediaPark hotel is a sleek and stylish 4-star hotel, ideal for business travelers yet is family-friendly, too.
 
Offering lake views from its summer terrace, the NH Koeln MediaPark hotel provides a welcome escape from the bustle of the city, a convenient and comfortable base for exploration.
 
The on-site Concerto restaurant is open throughout the day and features Mediterranean-inspired dishes with an emphasis on locally-sourced ingredients. The restaurant also boasts 100 seats where you can enjoy breakfast, light snacks, lunch or an elegant four-course dinner in an unique atmosphere with beautiful lake views. The classic modern bar serves local beer, German and Spanish wines, classic cocktails and long drinks.
 
Guests receive complimentary access to a functional fitness center, as well as a sauna and steam bath.

On-site parking is available (fees apply) and for those truly adventurous, the hotel offers bicycle rentals.
Transportation
  • Cologne Bonn Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
  • Hansaring metro/train station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • City center (0.05 mi/0.5 km)
  • Cologne Cathedral (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Romano-Germanic Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Wallraf-Richartz Museum of Art (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Rhine River Cruise (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Cologne Zoo (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Chocolate Museum (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Cologne exhibition center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • International Cologne Airport (CGN) (10.9 mi/17 km)
Business
  • Seven dedicated meeting rooms and two boardrooms
  • Fax service
  • High-speed Internet throughout hotel (fees apply)

Hotel Map

50.9479 6.9418
Area served
Cologne
Nearby airports
Distance to International Cologne Airport (CGN): 18,5 km
Area description
The 4-star Hotel NH Koeln Mediapark is located in the heart of Cologne Media Park in close proximity to numerous shopping opportunities, cafes, restaurants and attractions including the famous Cologne Cathedral, which can be reached easily on foot or by public transport. The station Hansaring with stations of the subway and commuter train is just steps away. Thanks to its proximity to the Cologne exhibition center and the city center of Cologne, our hotel is the first choice for business travelers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Koeln Mediapark also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

NH Koeln Mediapark Rooms

SUITE
seperate bath, living & bedroom, guest WC, located to the cathedral, 2 flat TVs, minibar incl.
STANDARD - ROOM
23 qm, minibar, Pay TV, safe, hairdryer, located to the courtyard or park.
SUPERIOR
24 qm, minibar, coffee & tea facility, located to the lake
DELUXE
38 qm, iron board for trousers, flat TV, located to the lake, minibar incl., comfortable lounge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Mediapark: 0 mi
  • Cologne Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Jawne: 0.6 mi
  • Schauspiel Köln: 0.7 mi
  • Cologne Opera house: 0.8 mi
  • Rudolfplatz: 0.8 mi
  • Kolner Dom: 0.8 mi
  • Ludwig Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Musical Dome: 1 mi
  • Cologne Town Hall: 1 mi
  • Concert Hall: 1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1 mi
  • Alter Markt: 1 mi
  • Alstadt Nord: 1 mi
  • Heumarkt: 1.2 mi
  • Mediapark: 0 mi
  • Cologne Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Jawne: 0.6 mi
  • Schauspiel Köln: 0.7 mi
  • Cologne Opera house: 0.8 mi
  • Rudolfplatz: 0.8 mi
  • Kolner Dom: 0.8 mi
  • Ludwig Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Musical Dome: 1 mi
  • Cologne Town Hall: 1 mi
  • Concert Hall: 1 mi
  • Railway Service: 1 mi
  • Alter Markt: 1 mi
  • Alstadt Nord: 1 mi
  • Heumarkt: 1.2 mi
  • Messe: 1.4 mi
  • Alstadt Sud: 1.4 mi
  • Flora: 1.4 mi
  • Rheinauhafen: 1.5 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Cologne Messe-Deutz train station: 1.5 mi
  • Cologne zoo: 1.5 mi
  • Rheinpark: 1.7 mi
  • Odysseum Cologne: 1.8 mi
  • Lanxess Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Cologne Business School: 2 mi
  • Lidenthal: 2 mi
  • Kalk: 2.8 mi
  • Rhine Energy Stadion: 3.1 mi
  • Junkersdorf: 3.6 mi
  • Rodenkirchen: 4.6 mi
  • Holweide: 4.7 mi
  • Neubruck: 5.3 mi
  • D.a.S. Theater: 6.5 mi
  • Eli: 7.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant "Concerto"
Concerto, our light-flooded and inviting, winter garden-inspired restaurant, boasts 100 seats where you can enjoy breakfast, light snacks, lunch or an elegant four-course dinner in an unique atmosphere with beautiful lake views. Concerto offers an enticing variety of Mediterranean-international dishes---from pasta to regional dishes and international food---including various specialties. What's more, our restaurant also features a live "show kitchen", where you can observe as our chefs create and cook delicious seasonal dishes right in front of you.
Hotelbar
The hotel bar has the look of a classic modern bar. We serve local beer, german and spanish wines, classic cocktails and longdrinks. As food we serve national and international snacks.TV creen is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for NH Koeln Mediapark

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Koeln Mediapark

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papapickle
Business
England
Apr 7, 2014

A never stay again at this hotel holiday

We will never stay again at this hotel and will discourage our friends from doing so. Some of the reception staff were very unhelpful and clearly had no people skills. Our room was not ready on arrival, which we expected,nor was it ready when we returned at the advised time. It would not be ready until 15.00, we were told. A large proportion of our short time in Cologne would be spent waiting for our room. We did not understand that breakfast was not included in the quoted price. We spent E20 each for a cup of coffee and a croissant. The staff were not able to give me a receipt for the accommodation which they had deducted from my card but only for food in the restaurant. I have never experienced such poor care. Disgraceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Koeln Mediapark

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark on the Move
Business
Johnson City, TN
Jul 8, 2012

Not EXACTLY what I thought I was getting.

This is a great location about three blocks from the metro and in a very nice, cosmopolitan are of Cologne. The rooms were clean and comfortable (with the exception of the pillows). At this writing NH-Hotels does not include breakfast when you book via this vendor (even if your reservation states it, as ours did). That may not seem like a big deal, but at €19 per person it is, since there aren't really many places in the neighborhood to get breakfast (we elected to eat near the Dom, since there's a Starbucks right there at the train station). Also know that parking in the garage will cost you €16 per day and there is a 7% local hotel tax (typically these vary in Europe, so you don't see the local tax until you check out) Based on double occupancy your $95 per night room could end up costing you $166. Yes, we did talk with the front desk on all issues and were kindly pushed aside (and given a handful of NH-Hotels 15% discount vouchers, which of course could not be used for our current stay). Bottom line: for the same money I could have booked two nights near the airport, had breakfast and parking free, and purchased two days unlimited metro for less than one day at Mediapark. Of course, then I would not have experienced the community in Cologne. My recommendation would be that the hotel is a fine one if you want to spend the money. If not, there are other options in the Cologne/Bonn area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying more than one day in Cologne and plan on seeing more than two of the museums, purchase a one-way fare to get to the Dom and purchase a MuseumsCard. For 15 euro (single fare) it includes two day admissions (one each) to over ten museums AND unlimited public transportation for the first day. Much better than the Cologne WelcomeCard!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Koeln Mediapark

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yvonnemark
Business
Shanghai
Oct 14, 2012

good location

it spend 20 minutes walking to the famous Dum, the rom is clean, but the TV is terrible, the equipment is old. We spend above 30 minutes to look for the hotel parking area, it is terrible and it need 16 euros for 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Koeln Mediapark

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joolia
Business
London
Oct 2, 2013

Very good hotel

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Excellent service, room was very clean, Situation extremely good - you can walk out into the Media Park. about 20 mins walk to The Cathedral - two underground stations nearby. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot rate the food Unfortunately the Wi-Fi never worked in our room. I can certainly recommend a stay here and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

About 20 minutes walk to the Cathedral & The Rhine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Koeln Mediapark

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LordNegaduck
Business
Burlington, New Jersey
Jul 24, 2009

Great Hotel in a Nice Location

Tis was a great hotel for the money and location. I stayed in the wonderful City of Cologne to meet me Girlfriend who resided within 10 minutes from the Hotel. Tis was a great place to meet her so that we can visit the many attractions that Cologne has to offer. The next time I stay at Cologne, I will definitely chose this hotel! And I so love the pond with the Ducks and Swans in front of the hotel as well!! Tis so very relaxing to watch them!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of shops and restaurants, even a Cinema within a short walking distance. Ya even can take an evening stroll in the park!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of NH Koeln Mediapark

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Europe73
Business
Canada
Oct 25, 2014

Very satisfied

This was a last minute choice after a long flight and exceeded y expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top