$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 5, 2015

art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

4 stars
View map of Wallstrasse 70-73, Berlin, D-10179

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie Q
Friends
Wiltshire U K
Apr 16, 2013

!st visit to Berlin

Everyone told us that Berlin is a big city therefore knowing in which area to pick an hotel proved difficult. However we were nor disappointed in our choice in that during the day we walked to many of the sights from here including the Jewish museum and Alexander Platz and at night after a short ten minute walk we were in a Quarter which had many restaurants specialising in traditional German food. The hotel was fine, clean and comfortable. It has a restaurant which we did not try neither did we have breakfast at the hotel as we thought it expensive and found a typical German breakfast again a ten minute walk away for 6 to 8 euros, which included egg, fruit bread and croissant. Berlin is a city that definantly requires a lot of walking. We tried the trams but even Berliners found them confusing, we did however enjoy a trip on the S Bahn from Alexander Platz to the Zoo area as it provided good views of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

An open top bus ride whilst feeling a very touristy thing to do on our first afternoon gave us a good feel for the lay out of the city. The tour lasts 2 hours 40 minutes an indication of how large the city is and the ticket is valid for two days. If you are intending to visit more than 2 museums a 3 day pass for 19 euro is good value. A visit to the R.eichtag which is free is well worth it but you must book on line before you go

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Berlin first-timer
Family
North Providence, RI
Aug 15, 2009

Exceptional Hotel

We spent 3 nights at the art'otel berlin-mitte, and it couldn't have been better. The hotel is in a great location in East Berlin with the U right down the street. With only a few stops to the museum areas, you can't beat the location. There is a tiny bit of construction street side, but do not let this deter you from staying here. The staff was exceptional and spoke great English and couldn't have been more helpful. We had to ask for extra soap and shampoo but they gladly gave it to us. Hotel itself was extremely clean. Drinks in the bar are a little pricey so I'd recommend going elsewhere for those. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Berlin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alonamarie
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 15, 2009

Quiet location, right on the U2 line

Quiet room, nicely appointed. There was construction across the street, but the rooms were so soundproof that we weren't bothered by it. Rooms are clean and very modern looking. Beds were comfortable. Overall, the room was on the small side, but the space within the room was well utilized. This hotel is a little out of the way, though. There are a few restaurants and cafes near by, but not a lot of hustle and bustle. This was fine by us, as we prefer a quiet location for a hotel, but it did mean we had to catch the train to most of the places we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe at the corner of Fischerinsel and Gertraudenstrasse was our main source of coffee. Though there was a cafe across the street from the hotel, the owners were on vacation while we were on vacation :-) We also frequented the grocery store and pharmacy at Fischerinsel and Gertraudenstrasse and kept some of the perishables in our mini bar fridge.

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Aug 9, 2009

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

The location compared with the price we paid - it doesn't get any better! Subway right in front of the hotel, Alexander Platz & Gendarmen Markt are only 10 minutes walk away. Small Cafe and Deli down the road as well as cute restaurants!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is just a short walk away. The Berlin Dom 5 minutes, Brandenburg Gate 15 minutes...

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, New York
Jul 11, 2009

Fabulous Hotel!

The Hotel is located acroos the street from the U-Bahn and a short walk from "Museum Island." Front desk staff eager to help in making restaurant reservations, giving directions, etc. I had a problem with my room on the first night and was upgraded to a room across the hall overlooking the TV Tower. When booking ask for a room overlooking the City. Breakfast was incredible buffet but pricey at 18 Euros/person (around the corner 2 bistros offering 5 Euro breakfast). For 22 Euros, book a breakfast before 11 am weekdays 12pm weekends at Mandala Suites Lounge which overlooks the Potsdamer Platz and offers free use of computer to check emails. No internet access provided in rooms else must pay for same in lobby.Mini-bar fully stocked and reasonable prices.Supermarkets 2 blocks away. Would definitely stay here again as would my 21 year old son whose room was equally comfortable but had street view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely buy a Welcome Card for up to 3 consecutive days of free public transport and many museum/attraction/dining discounts. Available for sale in U-Bahn Station or at Tourist Offices.

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lise anne
Business
Edmonton, AB
Jul 30, 2007

Great budget hotel in central Berlin

Very satisfied with Art'otel Berlin Mitte. It was a very convenient location walking distance to Museum Island, Unter den Linden, Alexanderplatz... The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful. The room was basic- but it had everything that you would want and more. The bathroom was lovely. There was a minibar. The only downsides were: the lack of pillows (only one thin pillow in a single room); the windows did not open (it had airconditioning but I wanted fresh air); the wireless internet was obscenely expensive (8 Euros for 1 hour). I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great lattes and pastries across the street. the breakfast at the hotel was great but too much for those who don't eat much in the morning and it cost 15 Euros.

Back to menu Return to top