$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

4 stars
Wallstrasse 70-73, Berlin, D-10179
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Great location!

We stayed for two days and really enjoyed the hotel. It was well located close to Museum Island and... See full review

  • MEXRLP
  • May 22, 2014
Great sigle getaway

i love the decoration, the food and the fact everyone is friendly. Any service u needed they ll... See full review

  • Jubela
  • Jul 25, 2011
Mingle with Georg Baselitz at Berlin hotel with 4-star service
Staying at the art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza is like living in a contemporary art gallery, albeit one with 4-star service and fine dining in a comfortable, modern atmosphere. The hotel is dedicated to the work of Georg Baselitz, one of Germany's most famous contemporary artists, with original works of art displayed throughout the hotel. Factory, the hotel restaurant, serves international cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Factory Bar serves specialty cocktails. The hotel is centrally located in Berlin with easy access to the U-Bahn.

Highlights
  • Original works of contemporary German artist Georg Baselitz displayed throughout the hotel
  • Centrally located near many popular Berlin attractions and very close to a U-Bahn station
  • Factory, the hotel restaurant, serves fine international cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere

Location
The art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza is centrally located in Berlin, a short walk south of Alexanderplatz. Nearby to the west are the Brandenburg Gate and the Tiergarten. The Märkisches Museum U-Bahn station is directly across the street.
Rooms
The 109 rooms of the art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza are stylish, light and modern, each featuring original work by contemporary artist Georg Baselitz. Rooms are air conditioned and include free Wi-Fi, mini-bar and safe.

 


Features
Original artwork by Georg Baselitz is on display throughout the art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza. The hotel restaurant, Factory, serves international cuisine in a casual, stylish setting. The Factory Bar serves snacks and specialty cocktails. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property.

Transportation
  • Berlin Tempelhof Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Berlin Tegel Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Berlin Schönefeld Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • U-Bahn (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • S-Bahn (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • Alexanderplatz (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Berlin Holocaust Museum (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Brandenburg Gate (1.8 mi/3.0 km)
  • Reichstag (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

 


Business
  • Nine meeting rooms and five banquet rooms
  • Meeting rooms feature modern technology and Wi-Fi
  • Gourmet catering is available
  • Dedicated event staff

Hotel Map

52.5126 13.4103
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
TEGEL AIRPORT, (TXL), 12.00, KM, NW; SCHOENEFELD ARPT, (SXF), 19.00, KM, S;
Area description
Downtown, This hotel is located near downtown.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Indoor tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Märkisches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.3 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.3 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.4 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.6 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Congress Center: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Deutsches Historisches Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Märkisches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.3 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.3 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.4 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.6 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Congress Center: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Deutsches Historisches Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Buchstabenmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • Galeria Kaufhof Alexanderplatz : 0.7 mi
  • Antikensammlung: 0.7 mi
  • Altes Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. Hedwigs Kathedrale: 0.7 mi
  • Staatsoper Unter den Linden: 0.7 mi
  • New Guard House: 0.7 mi
  • German Historical Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Alexanderplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Gendarmenmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Neue Kirche: 0.7 mi
  • Deutscher Dom: 0.7 mi
  • Berlinische Galerie: 0.7 mi
  • James Simon Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Konzerthaus Berlin: 0.8 mi
  • Alte Nationalgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Franzosischer Dom: 0.8 mi
  • Museum island: 0.8 mi
  • French Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Humboldt University: 0.8 mi
  • Pergamon Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Hackescher Markt: 0.8 mi
  • Deutsche Guggenheim: 0.8 mi
  • Chamaleon Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Currywurst Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Bethanien: 0.8 mi
  • Anne Frank Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Museumsinsel: 0.9 mi
  • Hackesche Höfe: 0.9 mi

Dining

Factory
On the ground floor

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle, Artist
Business
Clinton, WA
May 31, 2010

Clean, modern hotel moderately priced

Excellent location in East Berlin for visiting museums, shops and galleries. Better than our previous used hotels in West Berlin. U-Bahn stop across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
May 17, 2010

good

Subway 1/2 block from the hotel, museums within walking distance, historic Nicolai Quarter very close with restaurants, charm and shops, would have liked more closet space. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Methos
Business
Thessaloniki, Greece
Jan 7, 2010

A fine choice!

Very nice hotel, near many places of interest in Berlin (Museuminsel, Alexanderplatz, Brandenburger Tor, Gendarmenmarkt etc), very polite personel (we arrived early in the morning and they gave us our room right away, even though check in was at 2 p.m.). Nice and quiet room and quite a few options for breakfast nearby (try any place at the Nikolaiviertel)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Jan 5, 2010

Disappointing

It seems to me that [...] has an issue being accepted at European Hotels. It displays best rooms w/o showing reality and then the front desk assigns the customer to the worst category. Happened to me 3 times now. Last example - art'otel Berlin - great picture and description of the rooms and the actual room was far from what I thought I had booked. Sick and tired of such treatment, because I am spending hard earned dollars. On top of it the front desk staff was arrogant and miles away from understanding what concierge means; and the front desk area looked really worn out...The hotel has no love for details - i.e. No champaign offer on New Years morning - I would have even paid for it, but nobody thought of it or tried to make the first day of the new year somewhat special. Very minimalistic hotel and Baselitz (that is the reason why the hotel is called a designer hotel) must have thrown the pictures together in one session - all the same...becomes boring right away. Luckily, we had good weather, met old friends and there is lot's to see in Berlin, so we used the hotel really just to sleep. If you like "minimalistic", go ahead and knock yourself out - it is not my cup of tea and certainly I feel misled by [...] showing pictures that turn out to only show the junior suits...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
American German Couple
Business
South Carolina & Kaiserslautern, Germany
Jan 4, 2010

Berlin for New Years

My boyfriend and I took this trip to celebrate New Years and to see some of the great sites that Berlin has to offer. The hotel is in Berlin-mitte but it is still a 10 minute train ride to the Brandenburger Tor. I actually liked that it wasn't that close to the New Years hot spot. The street that we were located on was extremely quiet. The hotel room did not look like the one from the pictures but it was still nice and clean. I did not check out the spa area since we were mostly there to ring in the new year and to do some site seeing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We left the do not disturb sign out so we could sleep in after staying up so late for New Years and housekeeping left us a bag of fresh towels outside the door -- I really appreciated that. The hotel is in a good location if you want to do site seeing. It is close enough to the sites so that it only takes a few minutes to travel via public transportation to each site but it was quiet enough to get a good night of sleep. I suggest getting the Berlin Welcome Card for using the public transportation system. The 72 hour card only costs 22€. Using public transportation it takes about 40 minutes to get from the hotel to Berlin-Tegel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

At New Years it is very difficult to find a place to eat. Definitely make your dinner reservations in advance when visiting Berlin on any national holidays. Also the closest dining to the hotel is 2-3 U-bahn stops away at Alexanderplatz.

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wayne, nj
Oct 10, 2009

art'otel

The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Rooms and hotel were clean and cheerful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florence, MA
Oct 4, 2009

A great value for the dollar

We loved this hotel. First, the staff was wonderful. Everyone at the reception desk was helpful and friendly, especially the woman with the short dark hair ([...]) who was so professional, energetic and thoughtful. Our room was clean and spacious and, except for the poor design of the shower (which allowed too much water to spray on the rest of the bathroom, the rooms were wonderful. Our only complaint, and it is a small one, is that we had to renew our free internet connection every 24 hours with a new password. While not horrible, our connection seemed to expire at just the wrong time on several of the 5 nights of our stay. And one more thing, the location is wonderful since the metro was just outside the hotel. Don't forget to try the restaurant's currywurst, a Berlin delicacy and well done by the kitchen staff. We'd definitely go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We avoided the one hour line at the Reichstag to view the city from the dome by booking a reservation at the Reichstag's terrace roof top restaurant. The view was great, our lunch was delicious, especially the fish and the sachertort. And then we took the beautiful walk to the top of the dome and enjoyed the 360 degree views of the city.

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado, USA
Sep 17, 2009

Absolutely Excellent!

This was the best hotel I've ever stayed in for many reasons. We were able to sleep off jet-lag in the most comfortable bed in the most serence and peaceful environment. We chose not to have maid service and they respected our wishes by leaving clean towles and all the ammenities by the door each day. The location is right on the river and just blocks away from many tourist sights and fantastic restaurants. The train stop is literally 30m from the front entrance with simple connections to all of Berlin. We are quite travelers and completely appreciate a good nights sleep after a day of seeing the sights- this was the perfect hotel for us. The front desk service was welcoming and spoke fluent English. The room was extremely clean with beautiful framed art, crisp clean sheets and a large flat screen TV. Overall, this is my best hotel experience for an extended stay in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Choo Choo Charlie
Business
Columbia, Maryland
Sep 16, 2009

Staying at the Art' Otel Berlin mitte

Very modern hotel boutique tyoe hotel next to Australian embassy. Could walk to many places - Alexanderplatz, Nickolaiviertel, and only 1/2 block to U2 station Markishes Museum station. We parked the rental car in their underground garage and used dailey public transport passes purchased right at the hotel desk (small surcharge but no need to deal with change). Hotel sits on a small canal half block from Fisherninsel Strasse and a great place Millie's Cafe only a 5 minute walk around the corner for morning Italian coffee and quiche. Also a grocery store next to it for supplies Fishern Inseln Passage. Also a decent local restaurant across the canal. Hotel offers meals and has a cool bar too but a bit pricy. We were there this past August in a rare heat wave and the air condioning worked really well and was much appreciated. Staff were very nice and made reservations for us at there sister hotel in Dresden which worked out great. We would definitely stay there again. Used Orbitz to book this hotel in dollars and saved over the Euro rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Not knowing Berlin, I found the hotel to be in a great location. Just far enough away from the tourism traffic but close enough to get everywhere rather easily.

Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seal Beach, CA
Sep 10, 2009

Art in the Heart of Berlin

the hotel ambiance is very modern and artsy. We arrived late but enjoyed the bar and restaurant as well as a very fresh continental breakfast the next morning. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant at the hotel. Other restaurants within short walking distance but did not try.

Back to menu Return to top