$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

4 stars
Wallstrasse 70-73, Berlin, D-10179
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Great location!

We stayed for two days and really enjoyed the hotel. It was well located close to Museum Island and... See full review

  • MEXRLP
  • May 22, 2014
Great sigle getaway

i love the decoration, the food and the fact everyone is friendly. Any service u needed they ll... See full review

  • Jubela
  • Jul 25, 2011
Mingle with Georg Baselitz at Berlin hotel with 4-star service
Staying at the art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza is like living in a contemporary art gallery, albeit one with 4-star service and fine dining in a comfortable, modern atmosphere. The hotel is dedicated to the work of Georg Baselitz, one of Germany's most famous contemporary artists, with original works of art displayed throughout the hotel. Factory, the hotel restaurant, serves international cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. Factory Bar serves specialty cocktails. The hotel is centrally located in Berlin with easy access to the U-Bahn.

Highlights
  • Original works of contemporary German artist Georg Baselitz displayed throughout the hotel
  • Centrally located near many popular Berlin attractions and very close to a U-Bahn station
  • Factory, the hotel restaurant, serves fine international cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere

Location
The art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza is centrally located in Berlin, a short walk south of Alexanderplatz. Nearby to the west are the Brandenburg Gate and the Tiergarten. The Märkisches Museum U-Bahn station is directly across the street.
Rooms
The 109 rooms of the art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza are stylish, light and modern, each featuring original work by contemporary artist Georg Baselitz. Rooms are air conditioned and include free Wi-Fi, mini-bar and safe.

 


Features
Original artwork by Georg Baselitz is on display throughout the art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza. The hotel restaurant, Factory, serves international cuisine in a casual, stylish setting. The Factory Bar serves snacks and specialty cocktails. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property.

Transportation
  • Berlin Tempelhof Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Berlin Tegel Airport (8.9 mi/14.3 km)
  • Berlin Schönefeld Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • U-Bahn (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • S-Bahn (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Attractions
  • Alexanderplatz (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Berlin Holocaust Museum (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Brandenburg Gate (1.8 mi/3.0 km)
  • Reichstag (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

 


Business
  • Nine meeting rooms and five banquet rooms
  • Meeting rooms feature modern technology and Wi-Fi
  • Gourmet catering is available
  • Dedicated event staff

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Indoor tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Kitchen
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Märkisches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.3 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.3 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.4 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.6 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Congress Center: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Deutsches Historisches Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Märkisches Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.3 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.3 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.4 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.6 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Congress Center: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Deutsches Historisches Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Buchstabenmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • Galeria Kaufhof Alexanderplatz : 0.7 mi
  • Antikensammlung: 0.7 mi
  • Altes Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. Hedwigs Kathedrale: 0.7 mi
  • Staatsoper Unter den Linden: 0.7 mi
  • New Guard House: 0.7 mi
  • German Historical Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Alexanderplatz: 0.7 mi
  • Gendarmenmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Neue Kirche: 0.7 mi
  • Deutscher Dom: 0.7 mi
  • Berlinische Galerie: 0.7 mi
  • James Simon Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Konzerthaus Berlin: 0.8 mi
  • Alte Nationalgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Franzosischer Dom: 0.8 mi
  • Museum island: 0.8 mi
  • French Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Humboldt University: 0.8 mi
  • Pergamon Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Hackescher Markt: 0.8 mi
  • Deutsche Guggenheim: 0.8 mi
  • Chamaleon Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Currywurst Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Bethanien: 0.8 mi
  • Anne Frank Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Museumsinsel: 0.9 mi
  • Hackesche Höfe: 0.9 mi

Dining

Factory
On the ground floor

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie Q
Wiltshire U K
Apr 16, 2013

!st visit to Berlin

Everyone told us that Berlin is a big city therefore knowing in which area to pick an hotel proved difficult. However we were nor disappointed in our choice in that during the day we walked to many of the sights from here including the Jewish museum and Alexander Platz and at night after a short ten minute walk we were in a Quarter which had many restaurants specialising in traditional German food. The hotel was fine, clean and comfortable. It has a restaurant which we did not try neither did we have breakfast at the hotel as we thought it expensive and found a typical German breakfast again a ten minute walk away for 6 to 8 euros, which included egg, fruit bread and croissant. Berlin is a city that definantly requires a lot of walking. We tried the trams but even Berliners found them confusing, we did however enjoy a trip on the S Bahn from Alexander Platz to the Zoo area as it provided good views of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

An open top bus ride whilst feeling a very touristy thing to do on our first afternoon gave us a good feel for the lay out of the city. The tour lasts 2 hours 40 minutes an indication of how large the city is and the ticket is valid for two days. If you are intending to visit more than 2 museums a 3 day pass for 19 euro is good value. A visit to the R.eichtag which is free is well worth it but you must book on line before you go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MEXRLP
Business
Austin, Texas
May 22, 2014

Great location!

We stayed for two days and really enjoyed the hotel. It was well located close to Museum Island and Alexanderplatz. The metro was literally in front of the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie Q
Business
Wiltshire U K
Apr 16, 2013

!st visit to Berlin

Everyone told us that Berlin is a big city therefore knowing in which area to pick an hotel proved difficult. However we were nor disappointed in our choice in that during the day we walked to many of the sights from here including the Jewish museum and Alexander Platz and at night after a short ten minute walk we were in a Quarter which had many restaurants specialising in traditional German food. The hotel was fine, clean and comfortable. It has a restaurant which we did not try neither did we have breakfast at the hotel as we thought it expensive and found a typical German breakfast again a ten minute walk away for 6 to 8 euros, which included egg, fruit bread and croissant. Berlin is a city that definantly requires a lot of walking. We tried the trams but even Berliners found them confusing, we did however enjoy a trip on the S Bahn from Alexander Platz to the Zoo area as it provided good views of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

An open top bus ride whilst feeling a very touristy thing to do on our first afternoon gave us a good feel for the lay out of the city. The tour lasts 2 hours 40 minutes an indication of how large the city is and the ticket is valid for two days. If you are intending to visit more than 2 museums a 3 day pass for 19 euro is good value. A visit to the R.eichtag which is free is well worth it but you must book on line before you go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morton
Business
Scotland
Jul 5, 2012

Great base for a city break

Great time, really handy for u-bahn to get about. However, this hotel is ideally situated just walk, all the museums, sights etc are within walking distance. Staff were really helpful and friendly as we needed to find a concert venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ringading
Business
Marin, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

well-located, economical hotel

Staff very accommodating and helpful. Well-located. Liked the free internet. Room air-conditioning not very cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marinehaus had very economical, plentiful food. Nice outside eating near canal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
urbantraveller
Business
Zurich
Feb 14, 2012

Perfect sightseeing base

The Art'otel's location is perfect for the sightseeing visitor, being a mere 2-3 stops away from Friedrichstrasse, Brandenburg Gate, and the treasures of Museum Insel; it sits right in front of a U-Bahn stop to boot! With that said, there is literally nothing around its immediate proximity in terms of shops and restaurants, so if you're hoping to live in a bustling quarter, look elsewhere (I recommend Rosenthal Platz). Rooms are clean and spacious, although the bed is quite frankly very hard--suited to Asian tastes perhaps, but not so much for Americans. Two tips: I found the rooms facing the inner courtyard to be a bit depressing and claustrophobic in terms of the view, so I asked to be changed to a room streetside (there is no traffic so don't worry about noise). Also, most "double beds" in the hotel are actually two single beds placed together, so if you're American (like me) and are used to a large bed without an annoying crack in the middle, specify and ask if they have any double beds available. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful in my room changes (I changed twice, once for the view and once for the bed). Decor is clean, minimal, and while the art theme is a bit underwhelming since the proliferation of design boutique hotels since the nineties, it's still a welcome departure from your usual cookie-cutter hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BerlinTravler
Business
San jose, CA
Jan 22, 2012

What a dump

This hotel is low end even for Europe. Bad location, bad room, bad WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is nowhere interesting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hoffmann
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Christmas in Berlin

We wanted to experience Berlin and her powerful history . On a recommendation from friends we chose the Art Otel. When we checked in the staff was at best moderately helpful in getting us settled. The room was clean but stark. Their was one small chair a bed and very limited closet space. We could not unpack for out eight day stay. The neighborhood was sketchy and the "massage parlor" next door was a bit troublesome. The highlight was the waiter at the restaurant who was very helpful &competent. Although we had paid for an eight day stay we found another hotel and moved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jubela
Business
[@] sf, ca 94109
Jul 25, 2011

Great sigle getaway

i love the decoration, the food and the fact everyone is friendly. Any service u needed they ll provide for u, it was a great and wondeful experience. Thanks for everything. Isabel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Cold not be better:-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Wanderlust
Business
New Haven, CT
Oct 19, 2010

Modern Meets Historic

I enjoyed my stay at the Art'otel Berlin Mitte. My sleek modern room had all needed amenities,plus the bonus of real contemporary art. Comfy bed with down comforters. Only addition I'd make is a better bedside reading lamp. Location was great with the UBahn station just across the street. Friendly, helpful staff. Only had breakfast at the restaurant, but the buffet was plentiful and tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For fellow art lovers who want to sample Berlin's contemporary art scene, I recommend the galleries on Augustrasse and Linienstrasse. The KunstWerk has great exhibits. An easy walk from the UBahn stop at Oranienburger Tor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of art'otel berlin-mitte, by park plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jun 26, 2010

An excellent choice

This pleasant modern hotel compared favorably with any I used on my recent European trip. The staff helped us get oriented in Berlin, explained the various transport passes, gave us subway directions, in short, they were very well-informed and helpful. The rooms are spacious and immaculate, in a simple contemporary style. Two breakfast options were available, a full buffet or a simpler continental breakfast at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Spend most of your time in East Berlin, it's much more interesting and charming than West Berlin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top