$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

4 stars
Neue Rossstrasse 11-12, Neue Rossstrasse 11-12, Berlin, 10179
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
9 reviews
Mother & daugher city break

Friendly & helpful staff, centrally located, clean & affordable. See full review

  • Mary totaly chilled
  • Jun 4, 2014
Business stay, $100 USD for nice place

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. It was much nicer than I expected. It was $89 US the first... See full review

  • Thomas2255
  • Apr 6, 2013
Spa treatments offered at Berlin hotel near attractions

The personally managed Derag Hotel Grosser Kurfuerst is a 4-star property situated in the middle of the historic centre of Berlin, near Nikolaiviertel. The boulevards Friedrichstrasse and Unter den Linden as well as the Brandenburg Gate and the Museumsinsel are no more than a few minutes walking distance away. The luxuriously fitted rooms boast a large desk, as well as access to fax machine and modem. For guests with the highest demands, there are seven spacious suites and a suite-de-luxe for outstanding comfort.

 

 

Highlights
  • Near Museum Island, Checkpoint Charlie Museum and Brandenburg Gate
  • Restaurant features a patio overlooking the Spree River
  • Wellness center with fitness room, sauna, steam bath and Ayurvedic massage
  • Bicycle rentals

Rooms
Warm tones and colorful accents fill the guest rooms at the Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst, along with modern amenities and comfortable beds. The large rooms provide extra living space and full bathrooms. Guests of the Derag Livinghotel enjoy cable TV with pay-per-view movies, mini-bars, phones and city views.

Features
After a day exploring the historical sites of Berlin, guests recharge at Ayurveda Wellness & Spa an der Fischerinsel. Along with a sauna, steam room, solarium and fitness room, the center offers Ayurveda and other massage treatments. 
 

 Our restaurant Cana with its sunny patio, bar and cafe offers selected oriental specialties. During summer time, guests can enjoy dinner right next to Spree in a romantic atmosphere. Sip refreshing drinks and cocktails at the on-site cozy bar.

Transportation
  • Berlin Tempelhof Airport (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Berlin Tegel Airport (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Berlin Schönefeld Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • U-Bahn (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
Attractions
  • Museum Island (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Checkpoint Charlie Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Brandenburg Gate (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Reichstag (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Secretarial services
  • Wireless Internet available throughout the hotel -- free for one hour every day
  • Conference rooms

Hotel Map

52.5115 13.4093
Area served
Berlin
Nearby airports
Airport Berlin-Brandenburg in "Schoenefeld" - 17 KM Airport "Tegel" - 12 KM
Area description
The Derag Hotel Grosser Kurfuerst is situated in Berlin Mitte, by the river Spree, nearby the underground stations Maerkisches Museum and Spittelmarkt. You get to the Hotel Groer Kurfuerst conveniently from the train station Zoologischer Garten via underground line U2 in the direction of Pankow and alight at station Maerkisches Museum. You can also take the Bus 147 from Ostbahnhof in the direction of Hallesches Tor which takes you directly to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst Rooms

Business double room
facing the Spree river or Wallstrasse, bathroom with bathtub / WC and bidet, twin bed (1,10 x 2,10), desk, trouser presser, safe, blow-dryer, minibar, TV and telephone with voice-box
Business single room
facing the inner courtyard or Wallstrasse, bathroom with bathtub / WC and bidet, single bed (1.80 x 2,10 m), desk, trouser presser, safe, blow-dryer, minibar, TV and telephone with voice-box

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Berlin Mitte: 0 mi
  • Märkisches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.4 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.4 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.5 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Berlinische Galerie: 0.7 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.7 mi
  • Berlin Mitte: 0 mi
  • Märkisches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.4 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.4 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.5 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Berlinische Galerie: 0.7 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.7 mi
  • Deutsches Historisches Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. Hedwigs Kathedrale: 0.7 mi
  • Berliner Congress Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gendarmenmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Neue Kirche: 0.7 mi
  • Staatsoper Unter den Linden: 0.7 mi
  • Deutscher Dom: 0.7 mi
  • Antikensammlung: 0.7 mi
  • New Guard House: 0.7 mi
  • Altes Museum: 0.7 mi
  • German Historical Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Buchstabenmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • Konzerthaus Berlin: 0.7 mi
  • Franzosischer Dom: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Galeria Kaufhof Alexanderplatz : 0.8 mi
  • French Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Currywurst Museum: 0.8 mi
  • James Simon Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Alte Nationalgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Alexanderplatz: 0.8 mi
  • Museum island: 0.8 mi
  • Humboldt University: 0.8 mi
  • Bethanien: 0.8 mi
  • Deutsche Guggenheim: 0.8 mi
  • Checkpoint Charlie: 0.8 mi
  • Checkpoint Charlie Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pergamon Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Berliner-Mauer-Dokumentationszentrum: 0.8 mi
  • Museum der Dinge: 0.9 mi

Dining

Cana
Our restaurant "Cana" with its sunny patio, bar and caf will indulge you with selected oriental specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kelly
Not Provided
Aug 26, 2011

Just 2 stops from Alexander Platz,

Just 2 stops from Alexander Platz, very well presented hotel with most things required at our fingertips. Breakfast expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kerry and Tim
Austin, TX
Aug 10, 2014

What a Value!

I couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel! I put location above most things when making my reservation, and I got it just right. I could have gotten closer to tourist sites, but the price difference wasn't worth it. Staying at the Grosser Kurfuerst I could still walk to most sites, but when I had a ways to go, all I had to do was walk out the front door and down into the Markisches Museum S-Bahn tunnel. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and accurate when it came to giving directions and recommendations. They steered me to a small grocery store a block away when I asked about inexpensive breakfasts, thereby saving myself several euros a day. Most European hotel rooms seem very small and cramped, but this one was roomy! It had the feeling more of an American sized room. The beds were quite comfortable, and everything about the room (and the hotel overall) was clean. The one slight negative is that this hotel is not air conditioned. We were there the first week of August and the daytime highs were in the 80's. I was nervous because I'm an American accustomed to my AC. But the maids had the windows in our room opened and the breeze made the room comfortable, albeit not cool. I never had a problem falling asleep. I would stay here again without a second's hesitation if I were to go to Berlin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two musuems you shouldn't miss if you're visiting Berlin: the DDR museum and the Germany History Museum. The DDR museum is cleverly arranged, well organized, and very interesting. The Germany History Museum on the other hand is simply the best history museum I've ever been to. I like history, but I can't say I'm a history buff, yet I managed to fill an entire day at this musuem. Oh, but skip The Story of Berlin. It isn't worth it in either time or money.

Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pacer79
Singapore
Jun 24, 2014

Berlin getaway

The hotel was located right next to the Maeckisches Museum and a short walk from the Nikolaiviertel. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The only downside is the non-existent Wi-Fi connection in the room; I had to go to the hotel lobby to get some decent connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary totaly chilled
mayo
Jun 4, 2014

Mother & daugher city break

Friendly & helpful staff, centrally located, clean & affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane stage mom
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
May 31, 2014

Restful Comfort in convenient location

The hotel setting was lovely and quiet, the room was spacious and comfortable, the staff was helpful, the amenities were great., the location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBEJ
Saratoga, California
May 21, 2014

Berlin in May

This hotel is located right next to a subway station making access to any part of Berlin easy. Several restaurants are about 6 blocks away with excellent menus and entertainment (music). Weather can be cool (around 10 degrees C) and wet and heat in this hotel is turmned off on May 1st; so be prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several upgraded and renovated restaurants in a section near and around the Nikolai Church.

Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhysicsFarmer
Business
Boston, MA
May 13, 2013

Great hotel in a great location

I stayed here for a few days after a conference at the Berlin Congress Center, where I had stayed at another hotel nearer the conference. This one was both better and cheaper. Rooms are typical European small, but well and efficiently laid out. The two free beers in the fridge are a nice touch, too. Breakfast was quite good (although scrambled eggs sitting in a warmer are always less than perfect) at about 16 euros. The location is great, just south of the Museum Island and a short walk to Alexanderplatz in one direction and a somewhat longer one to Checkpoint Charlie and Potsdammer Platz in the opposite one. There is a U-Bahn stop right at the corner, steps from the hotel entrance. The staff was helpful and courteous and English was no problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the "Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe". This is an amazing and very affecting city-block sized monument a block or two south of the Brandenburg Gate (and across the street from the US Embassy).

Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas2255
Business
New York
Apr 6, 2013

Business stay, $100 USD for nice place

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. It was much nicer than I expected. It was $89 US the first night and the second was $100 (friday night). I got two free bottles of beer and 2 free bottles of water each day. There were plenty of international channels on the television. The only problem was that the internet didn't work so well and I couldnt' stream videos. But it did function decently, albeit at 56k or so. And the subway stop is the Marx Museum, not Jannowitzbrooke

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dkhnl
Honolulu
Apr 4, 2013

A Good Option in Berlin

Recently stayed at the Derag LivingHotel Grosser Kurfuerst. I arrived late in the evening and took a taxi in from Tegel. I would have taken the bus and S/U-bahn, but due to the time of my arrival, a taxi was easiest. I was pleased with the hotel. Staff were friendly and room comfortable. I liked the fact that the room came with free wifi and two beers and water each day. There was a small workout room, sauna and steamroom. The room had a kettle for tea and instant coffee and a refrigerator. It was snowing while I was in Berlin, but it appeared the room came with a/c which would be helpful in the summer. The hotel wasn't too far from many of Berlin's attractions. There is a U-bahn station right next door. It's walking distance to many of Berlin's sites, although a good distance away from the Reichstag and Brandenburg Gate. I had an early morning flight, but opted to take the U-bahn to Alexanderplatz, two stops away and then hopped on the TXL bus. The entire trip took me just 30 minutes and cost only Euro 2.30. It was much cheaper thant the Euro 28 that I spent for a taxi. All in all, it's a great, affordable option. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J14ABR
London
Jan 7, 2013

New year stay

Great location and generally very good. However our room did not have any opening windows and after 4 days of aircon we both had pretty sore throats!! Free Beer and water in the fridge every day though.....We'd go back, just got unlucky with room i guess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Berlin travelcard to cover your stay.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search