$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

4 stars
Neue Rossstrasse 11-12, Neue Rossstrasse 11-12, Berlin, 10179
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
14 reviews
Mother & daugher city break

Friendly & helpful staff, centrally located, clean & affordable. See full review

  • Mary totaly chilled
  • Jun 4, 2014
Very comfortable stay

Very good sized room and very clean. Not much in the way of pubs or restaurants in the immediate... See full review

  • Johanna Pat
  • Dec 7, 2014
Spa treatments offered at Berlin hotel near attractions

The personally managed Derag Hotel Grosser Kurfuerst is a 4-star property situated in the middle of the historic centre of Berlin, near Nikolaiviertel. The boulevards Friedrichstrasse and Unter den Linden as well as the Brandenburg Gate and the Museumsinsel are no more than a few minutes walking distance away. The luxuriously fitted rooms boast a large desk, as well as access to fax machine and modem. For guests with the highest demands, there are seven spacious suites and a suite-de-luxe for outstanding comfort.

 

 

Highlights
  • Near Museum Island, Checkpoint Charlie Museum and Brandenburg Gate
  • Restaurant features a patio overlooking the Spree River
  • Wellness center with fitness room, sauna, steam bath and Ayurvedic massage
  • Bicycle rentals

Rooms
Warm tones and colorful accents fill the guest rooms at the Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst, along with modern amenities and comfortable beds. The large rooms provide extra living space and full bathrooms. Guests of the Derag Livinghotel enjoy cable TV with pay-per-view movies, mini-bars, phones and city views.

Features
After a day exploring the historical sites of Berlin, guests recharge at Ayurveda Wellness & Spa an der Fischerinsel. Along with a sauna, steam room, solarium and fitness room, the center offers Ayurveda and other massage treatments. 
 

 Our restaurant Cana with its sunny patio, bar and cafe offers selected oriental specialties. During summer time, guests can enjoy dinner right next to Spree in a romantic atmosphere. Sip refreshing drinks and cocktails at the on-site cozy bar.

Transportation
  • Berlin Tempelhof Airport (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Berlin Tegel Airport (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Berlin Schönefeld Airport (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • U-Bahn (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
Attractions
  • Museum Island (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Checkpoint Charlie Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Brandenburg Gate (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Reichstag (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Secretarial services
  • Wireless Internet available throughout the hotel -- free for one hour every day
  • Conference rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst Rooms

Business double room
facing the Spree river or Wallstrasse, bathroom with bathtub / WC and bidet, twin bed (1,10 x 2,10), desk, trouser presser, safe, blow-dryer, minibar, TV and telephone with voice-box
Business single room
facing the inner courtyard or Wallstrasse, bathroom with bathtub / WC and bidet, single bed (1.80 x 2,10 m), desk, trouser presser, safe, blow-dryer, minibar, TV and telephone with voice-box

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Märkisches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.4 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.4 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.5 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Berlinische Galerie: 0.7 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.7 mi
  • Deutsches Historisches Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Märkisches Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Hanf Museum Berlin: 0.4 mi
  • Nikolaikirche: 0.4 mi
  • Rotes Rathaus: 0.5 mi
  • Berliner Stadtschloss: 0.5 mi
  • Marx-Engels-Forum: 0.5 mi
  • Friedrichswerder Church: 0.6 mi
  • DDR Museum: 0.6 mi
  • AquaDom: 0.6 mi
  • Berliner Dom: 0.6 mi
  • Marienkirche: 0.6 mi
  • Lustgarten: 0.6 mi
  • Berlinische Galerie: 0.7 mi
  • Fernsehturm: 0.7 mi
  • Deutsches Historisches Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. Hedwigs Kathedrale: 0.7 mi
  • Berliner Congress Center: 0.7 mi
  • Gendarmenmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Neue Kirche: 0.7 mi
  • Staatsoper Unter den Linden: 0.7 mi
  • Deutscher Dom: 0.7 mi
  • Antikensammlung: 0.7 mi
  • New Guard House: 0.7 mi
  • Altes Museum: 0.7 mi
  • German Historical Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Buchstabenmuseum: 0.7 mi
  • Konzerthaus Berlin: 0.7 mi
  • Franzosischer Dom: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Galeria Kaufhof Alexanderplatz : 0.8 mi
  • French Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Currywurst Museum: 0.8 mi
  • James Simon Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Alte Nationalgalerie: 0.8 mi
  • Alexanderplatz: 0.8 mi
  • Museum island: 0.8 mi
  • Humboldt University: 0.8 mi
  • Bethanien: 0.8 mi
  • Deutsche Guggenheim: 0.8 mi
  • Checkpoint Charlie: 0.8 mi
  • Checkpoint Charlie Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pergamon Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Berliner-Mauer-Dokumentationszentrum: 0.8 mi
  • Museum der Dinge: 0.9 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

Cana
Our restaurant "Cana" with its sunny patio, bar and caf will indulge you with selected oriental specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johanna Pat
Business
Pontypridd, UK
Dec 7, 2014

Very comfortable stay

Very good sized room and very clean. Not much in the way of pubs or restaurants in the immediate area, but quite central for the sights. We walked to most of them, though the underground station was just outside if you prefer to use the train. Breakfast was pricey at 16 Euros so we went to café down the street for scrambled eggs. Very pleasant overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pacer79
Business
Singapore
Nov 29, 2014

Once again, but better

The hotel did not disappoint on my first visit in June, and again it did not this time - in fact, it was better. The wireless network has been improved, so now it was working great in the room now. The hotel is not the newest in its layout or appearance and the snack bar has been replaced with a fridge in the room, but still comfortable enough for a visitor. Given its location (just next to the U-bahn and in a safe neighbourhood) and its prices, I'd say it's a wonderful deal. I'd definitely stay at the hotel again if I am back in Berlin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CIint
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 19, 2014

Very nice hotel

I enjoyed my stay here -- the hotel itself is very cool looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip222222
Business
Israel
Nov 18, 2014

Great Hotel, nearby underground

Overall very good value for money, good nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scheijp
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 12, 2014

Great place.

I'm used to tiny European hotels with few amenities, so I was very, very happy with this room. It was larger than a much more expensive "resort" hotel toward the south, and in a much better location. Easy walking distance to real Berlin neighborhoods, Museum Island, and literally across the street from a subway station. Just 4 or 5 stops to the monuments-area of town. I was very, very happy with this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No one ever asks for bus or subway fare. We were there for 10 days, using public transportation every day, and never paid once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stanq
Business
Oxfordshire
Sep 29, 2014

Good location for Cathedral, historic centre and underground

Hotel was good and staff friendly. However there is no air conditioning and the room was hot. We opened the window at night but it was noisy as we were on the first floor. Breakfast expensive at 16€ each but two bottles of beer and two bottles of water a day free was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining in the historical area was excellent and good value. All located near the church with two spires!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kerry and Tim
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 10, 2014

What a Value!

I couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel! I put location above most things when making my reservation, and I got it just right. I could have gotten closer to tourist sites, but the price difference wasn't worth it. Staying at the Grosser Kurfuerst I could still walk to most sites, but when I had a ways to go, all I had to do was walk out the front door and down into the Markisches Museum S-Bahn tunnel. I found the staff to be extremely helpful and accurate when it came to giving directions and recommendations. They steered me to a small grocery store a block away when I asked about inexpensive breakfasts, thereby saving myself several euros a day. Most European hotel rooms seem very small and cramped, but this one was roomy! It had the feeling more of an American sized room. The beds were quite comfortable, and everything about the room (and the hotel overall) was clean. The one slight negative is that this hotel is not air conditioned. We were there the first week of August and the daytime highs were in the 80's. I was nervous because I'm an American accustomed to my AC. But the maids had the windows in our room opened and the breeze made the room comfortable, albeit not cool. I never had a problem falling asleep. I would stay here again without a second's hesitation if I were to go to Berlin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two musuems you shouldn't miss if you're visiting Berlin: the DDR museum and the Germany History Museum. The DDR museum is cleverly arranged, well organized, and very interesting. The Germany History Museum on the other hand is simply the best history museum I've ever been to. I like history, but I can't say I'm a history buff, yet I managed to fill an entire day at this musuem. Oh, but skip The Story of Berlin. It isn't worth it in either time or money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pacer79
Business
Singapore
Jun 24, 2014

Berlin getaway

The hotel was located right next to the Maeckisches Museum and a short walk from the Nikolaiviertel. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The only downside is the non-existent Wi-Fi connection in the room; I had to go to the hotel lobby to get some decent connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary totaly chilled
Business
mayo
Jun 4, 2014

Mother & daugher city break

Friendly & helpful staff, centrally located, clean & affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfuerst

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane stage mom
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
May 31, 2014

Restful Comfort in convenient location

The hotel setting was lovely and quiet, the room was spacious and comfortable, the staff was helpful, the amenities were great., the location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top