$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Berlin Mark Hotel

4 stars
View map of Meinekestrasse 18-19, Berlin, 10719

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Berlin Mark Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jun 8, 2010

Good, comfortable hotel, decent location

The location of the hotel is decent, but the center of Berlin has really shifted back to its old heart in the area of Unter den Linden and the Brandenburg Gate. There aren't too many things to see that are really walking distance, but the U-Bahn is on the corner and the S-Bahn is a 10 minute walk. There are a number of restaurants across the street and nearby. The first room we were given had a funny and unpleasant smell, but we were immediately changed to another room that was actually a two room suite. The staff is friendly and helpful. My main complaint was the price, which was quite high over the weekend, apparently because of a holiday. The breakfast is also very expensive but there is a much cheaper cafe across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 17, 2011

Good location, clean room.

We had a great time in Berlin, and enjoyed our stay at the Mark Hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. The shower was a little leaky on the bottom and the breakfast buffet, though convenient, was too expensive for us to consider buying (16 euro per person, per day). Instead, we ate breakfast at one of the nearby cafes. The location of this hotel is excellent, with two U-bahn lines in close proximity (3 minute walk), and the Zoolischer S-bahn station only a 7 minute walk away. There is also several bus lines that run to Potsdamer Platz and Alexanderplatz that are very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Berlin Zoo is only a few minutes from the hotel, and is relatively inexpensive compared to some of the United State's premier zoos (13/adult, 10/students & seniors, ??/kids). Its a great zoo! Lots of cool animals, playground, petting zoos, and exhibits!

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnOrchard
Business
Boston, Ma
Sep 1, 2011

Great Location

The hotel is impressive and well situated right off the main shopping street, which has a bunch of restaurants and bars. It is also very close to the Zoo station, so getting around is very easy. We enjoyed walking through the large park to get to all of the sites on the other side, so we didn't even use public transport while we were there. The hotel does not have free wifi and the room looked a bit lived in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks has free internet around the corner! Get some breakfast there, since the hotel's is outrageously priced.

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guelph, Canada
Dec 28, 2009

excellent price for the location

good place right at Berlin's commercial area, excellent price, helpful persons working, nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack and Penny
Business
Clinton, WA
Aug 26, 2009

Great location--Great Hotel

We stayed at this hotel before and chose it again due to our enjoyable prior stay. It is a very good basic hotel in a terrific location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
delroyf
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jul 4, 2009

Extraordinary Value

The Berlin Mark is conveniently located on a quiet side street in Ku'damm within 5-10 minutes walk of three U-Bahn and S-Bahn public transit stations. There are several restaurants and bars next to the hotel and a plethora of high-end shops within walking distance on Ku'Damm itself. Our room (# 236) was stylish, clean, and large with nice furnishings and a sparkling bathroom. While we spent most of our time in the hipper, more lively Mitte neighborhood in the former East Berlin, we were satisfied with our Ku'Damm location, especially given the easy access to public transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Zoo" S-Bahn stop is a 3-4 minutes longer walk than the nearest U-Bahn station but allows directly access to more lines and avoids transfers in many cases.

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Sep 22, 2009

Great location

Great location easy access to U bahn and S bahn. Rooms are small but adequate for a short stay. The corridors are drab and uninviting. The front desk were very helpful. The breakfast buffet was not good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good german restaurant across the street and Hard rock Cafe next door

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citywoman
Business
Jarretaderas, Mexico
Jul 2, 2011

Heart of Germany's luxury capital

We did the ultimate 'get to know Berlin' trip and so being located at this hotel was a huge contributing factor in being able to have so many different experiences. If there is a 'heart' to Berlin, it has to be the area around the Berlin Mark Hotel. Everything is a short walk, train, bicycle, bus or train trip away (car not needed at all). The hotel is extremely quiet even allowing for the fact that a couple of doors down in an all night club. Everything is in the hotel, the only deficiency is that internet is expensive (3 Euros an hour) but there is a Starbucks 2 blocks away. Also, there is no tea/coffee making gear but we always travel with an immersion heater for those late night cuppas. You get the bare minimum of towels. However, it is very clean, brightly lit, comfy enough beds but a bit hot. I would definitely go back again as it is value for money without appearing 'cheap and nasty' in any detail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Immersion heater for your own cuppa making. (Helps stretch the budget). Washing own clothes in the room (roll in towel to dry and everything will dry overnight) saves big bucks. No laundromats within walking distance and hotel prices prohibitive.

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billie T.
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

Romantic Valentines Break

The hotel was good value for money. The staff were very helpful. The only thing I didn't like about the room was that our bed was two singles pushed together which was a little bit of a pain and a bit uncomfortable. Was also a bit annoying having someone knocking on the door at 10am every morning asking if I had taken anything from the minibar. Also would have been nice to have tea and coffee and a kettle in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Old Geezer, Steve
Business
New Forest, United Kingdom
Oct 18, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We booked the Mark Hotel as it appeared to be a nice looking, well located, reasonably priced hotel, useful as a city break base. On booking we were given the option of trading up to a "Business room" for a few pounds more, and we did this, based on some previous comments by others which suggested some of the rooms were substandard and near a noisy road. On arrival, we were given the keys to our room, and to a "business hospitality room", which included 24hr self serve hot & cold beverages and breakfast facilities (we were under the impression when booking, that breakfast was not included - and would be 15euros each per day). This was the best few extra ££££'s we've ever spent, and the breakfasts were FAB. Our Hotel room was really nice, and well worth trading up to, as it was really spacey and at the quiet end of the hotel. We were there for 4 nights. On the first night we were awoken at 2am by revellers presumably kicking out of the nearby Hard Rock Cafe. But hey we did have the windows open as we'd not sussed out the air conditioning. After that we had the a/c on and the windows closed, and had no further noise issues- don't really know if we were just unlucky on the first night. Must make mention of the young staff at reception who were all friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

not really short drive - but using the Berlin Welcome card unlimited transport tocket, take a day out to Potsdam .......... it's like Berlin's Windsor, also take in a Burlesque show (we went to see "Black Flamingo" ar the famous Wintergarten theatre, and if you still have time, take a day out to Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp - when there, look for the amazing old guy whose dad was a prisoner there.... for 5euros he'll tell you things the official tour guides don't know.Finally (phew) in Berlin, take the "Free" (yes really) walking tours - they're great guides who rely only on your tips. The Mark Hotel and Berlin totally exceeded our expectations.

Back to menu Return to top