$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 17, 2015

Berlin Mark Hotel

4 stars
View map of Meinekestrasse 18-19, Berlin, 10719

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Berlin Mark Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
satisfiedcustomer33
Business
Temporary Ex-Pat in Germany
Dec 23, 2011

Would Recommend

I really like the hotel, particularly for the low price at which I was able to book it. I was afraid from some bad reviews on Google that it would be small and uncomfortable, but luckily things proved otherwise. German hotels are in general smaller than US ones with a comparable number of stars. But Berlin Mark was still a decent size. The location is great, right in the center of Berlin, near two supermarkets (Liedl and an Asian supermarket) and tons of shops and restaurants. And everything was really clean. For us the drawbacks of the hotel were not all that serious. Internet costs extra (unless, I think, you order a business room). The TV was on the side (I've seen that in some other hotels too) so watching TV is not so comfortable. The shower is also somewhat small, so accidental movements can suddenly turn the water on or off..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnOrchard
Business
Boston, Ma
Sep 1, 2011

Great Location

The hotel is impressive and well situated right off the main shopping street, which has a bunch of restaurants and bars. It is also very close to the Zoo station, so getting around is very easy. We enjoyed walking through the large park to get to all of the sites on the other side, so we didn't even use public transport while we were there. The hotel does not have free wifi and the room looked a bit lived in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks has free internet around the corner! Get some breakfast there, since the hotel's is outrageously priced.

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jul 30, 2011

Decent hotel and a reasonable price

Overall, the Berlin Mark Hotel is a good location, fair price hotel in Berin. It's only a walking distance to the Zoologischer Garten S+U Bahn station. It was clean and convenient for us to stay in and enjoy the city. The hotel, like many others in Berin do not offer Wi-Fi in the room, which is a reason for me to remove one star. Luckily Starbucks, where free Wi-Fi is offered, is just a short distance away. Another star is removed as we had two twin beds rather than one queen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citywoman
Business
Jarretaderas, Mexico
Jul 2, 2011

Heart of Germany's luxury capital

We did the ultimate 'get to know Berlin' trip and so being located at this hotel was a huge contributing factor in being able to have so many different experiences. If there is a 'heart' to Berlin, it has to be the area around the Berlin Mark Hotel. Everything is a short walk, train, bicycle, bus or train trip away (car not needed at all). The hotel is extremely quiet even allowing for the fact that a couple of doors down in an all night club. Everything is in the hotel, the only deficiency is that internet is expensive (3 Euros an hour) but there is a Starbucks 2 blocks away. Also, there is no tea/coffee making gear but we always travel with an immersion heater for those late night cuppas. You get the bare minimum of towels. However, it is very clean, brightly lit, comfy enough beds but a bit hot. I would definitely go back again as it is value for money without appearing 'cheap and nasty' in any detail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Immersion heater for your own cuppa making. (Helps stretch the budget). Washing own clothes in the room (roll in towel to dry and everything will dry overnight) saves big bucks. No laundromats within walking distance and hotel prices prohibitive.

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 17, 2011

Good location, clean room.

We had a great time in Berlin, and enjoyed our stay at the Mark Hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. The shower was a little leaky on the bottom and the breakfast buffet, though convenient, was too expensive for us to consider buying (16 euro per person, per day). Instead, we ate breakfast at one of the nearby cafes. The location of this hotel is excellent, with two U-bahn lines in close proximity (3 minute walk), and the Zoolischer S-bahn station only a 7 minute walk away. There is also several bus lines that run to Potsdamer Platz and Alexanderplatz that are very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Berlin Zoo is only a few minutes from the hotel, and is relatively inexpensive compared to some of the United State's premier zoos (13/adult, 10/students & seniors, ??/kids). Its a great zoo! Lots of cool animals, playground, petting zoos, and exhibits!

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 19, 2011

Ok hotel, false advertising

Starting with the positive, the hotel was clean and maid service good. However, I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone, ever. Based on another [...]review, I decided to upgrade to a "business room." Perhaps if I had not done that my expectations would have been met and there would have been less issues. When we saw our tiny room I didn't think it was anything special - two twin beds pushed together, small tv, scuffed walls. So I asked reception if this was their business double. Turns out they made a mistake and did not put us in a business double room. They offered to move our room the next day, but said there was no difference between our room and a business double room? So why did I upgrade? The woman at reception actually said, "I don't see what your problem is." I asked if we could just stay in the room and get a refund, and she said this was not possible. After going back and forth for a while, she said she would give us entry to the business lounge, where we could get snacks and drinks throughout the day plus a light breakfast. I still felt duped but accepted. On our last day an employee in the business lounge yelled at us, telling us breakfast was not included, and that she was going to give us a bill for the breakfast (we had taken two rolls and coffee). After going back and forth with reception AGAIN they finally agreed not to charge us. (please note an earlier reviewer stated breakfast was included in the business lounge and it seems so unless you go when a staff person is there, in which case they will insist that you pay. For the most part however no staff seem to be in the lounge and the same dirty cups from morning can be found there at night.) All in all, I felt that every interaction I had with the hotel was fraught with lies and misunderstandings. Not once did they apologize for messing up our reservation, or for any of the misunderstandings.I feel that all of the photographs shown on [...]are LIES - that is not what the hotel looks like. I don't even recognize the restaurant in the photos. Furthermore, the website says it has wifi and internet - but only if you pay an exorbitant price (there is wifi in the business lounge, but you have to get the password from reception, which they begrudgingly give to you).In addition, the location isn't great unless you want to go to the Hard Rock Cafe (down the block) or the zoo (which is great, but hardly a main attraction). At least the zoo stop is a major public transportation hub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 200 bus from the aiport goes to the Zoo station, which is about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the hotel and saves you at least 20 euros.

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler - T.J.
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 16, 2011

Pretty Good Experience Overall

I was there on vacation and found the room was clean and relatively quiet. TV channels were typical meaning there were alot of channels but all were voiced over in German with the exception of CNN and BBC. Hotel wifi if not staying in a business room was $10E for the day. The front desk seemed extremely helpful and really went out of their way to accommodate. The only real drawback I experienced was the hotel itself did not have any food available after 1 P.M. nor vending machines onsite. However, there are some great places to grab a quick bite right down the street. The Berlin Hauptbahnhof was only a $15E cab ride from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of sightseeing tours that have kiosks and pickup points literally on same block as the hotel

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs CA (USA)
Jun 10, 2010

great side street location near Kurfurst

we liked this hotel very much. it offers a convenient location on a relatively quiet side street near the activity of Kurfurstendamn, a major blvd lined with shops, department stores, restuarants, and nightclubs. easy access to hop-on-and-off city tour busses, a must for general orientation to this large city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a half block away on Meinekestrasse is Lidl, buy your water there (1.5 litre for .44), and eat a decent breakfast or lunch for much less money than most other options in the area.

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jun 8, 2010

Good, comfortable hotel, decent location

The location of the hotel is decent, but the center of Berlin has really shifted back to its old heart in the area of Unter den Linden and the Brandenburg Gate. There aren't too many things to see that are really walking distance, but the U-Bahn is on the corner and the S-Bahn is a 10 minute walk. There are a number of restaurants across the street and nearby. The first room we were given had a funny and unpleasant smell, but we were immediately changed to another room that was actually a two room suite. The staff is friendly and helpful. My main complaint was the price, which was quite high over the weekend, apparently because of a holiday. The breakfast is also very expensive but there is a much cheaper cafe across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Berlin Mark Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rm
Business
Leesburg, VA, USA
Feb 12, 2010

Good place

Great location for weekend Berlin tour. Clean and quiet room, frendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Not far from Zoo and Aquarium

Back to menu Return to top