$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Axel Hotel Berlin

4 stars
View map of Lietzenburger Strasse 13/15, Berlin, 10789

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Berlin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mihalis
Business
Saint Louis County, Missouri
Mar 21, 2010

What a WONDERFUL Surprise!

The hotel room was one of the most beautiful rooms that I had ever stayed in when traveling. The morning clerk at the front desk, [...]was wonderfully warm and helpful. The evening front desk clerk, although efficent, was cold and appeared indifferent. The room had a jacuzzi and the sauna on the 6th floor was beautiful. The only disappointment was that the Internet was not included in the room charge and cost 9 Euros per day. In addition, my bill reflected a charge of 9 Euros for the use of the bar in the room and I never used it at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plot out the bars that you want to visit BEFORE you arrive. Take a taxi from the airport to the hotel because you can take the "Underground" but it is no easy feat and it took me over two hours when I got lost as train route maps are printed on tiny maps glued to the ceiling of the train where it is illegible. No announcements are made in English and unless you speak German, it all starts to sound alike after awhile. There are also STEEP stairs to climb in some stations and you will be exhausted if you have luggage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prague, Czech Republic
Feb 22, 2010

Hotel Axel rocks!

Great staff, great clean room, comfortable, amazing location, worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ka De We is next door practically, go to the top floor for Schnitzel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Dec 9, 2009

DEc in Berlin

Easy to find. clean , friendly staff, close to the shopping district and clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heterofriend in a meeting
Business
Pennsylavania, USA
Nov 23, 2009

Excellent room and location

Phenomenal location. In the middle of everything. I barely had to take a taxi or subway. Everything you need is on a walking distance. Very safe area plenty of restaurants, fine class shopping, design and antique stores. The rooms, although tiny as a typical European boutique style hotel, are fabulous with nice design and details like phones Bang & Olufsen, Villeroy & Boch bathroom ceramics and cotton robes and sandals. The beautiful Flat Screen TV on wall need more channels. The first image that comes up on TV when you turn it on is very cheesy [...] with two naked guys ready to go for it! They looked at so many details and certainly they can find something more elegant to match with the rest of the room. The room lacks a frigo bar and there is not a way to get ice other than in the bar in ground floor. Like every hotel in world, they say that want to protect the environment asking you to drop in the floor the towels that you want to be replaced. So I did with my robe that I used for 2 days at the sauna not before putting a mark in the robe with a pen ( I learned with my mom!)and was not my surprise that when I came back late afternoon my marked robe was nicely arranged in the hanger in my bathroom? I complained with the reception and they said that they don't know why this happened, it is against their policies, blablabla, and gave me an apology. So far never happened again. They have only 2 computers with free internet access. One in the 2nd and another in the 3rd floor. If you want to use your laptop in any place of the hotel you have to pay a daily fee.In the 6th floor there is a fitness room with the essentials, very nice sauna (dry and wet), outdoor jacuzzi, chaise-longs for relax and reading, a beautiful view of the city with its total glass walls. During happy hour and late evening there is the place where people get more relaxed and prone for hunting if you now what I mean. What I loved most was the cleanliness of the area and the unlimited amount of soft bath towels.Staff are very courteous but still need more training. They are not prepared to give you simple information like points of interest or where to exchange money but at least they know how to access Google!In summary, with those minor pitfalls it was a pleasant experience and an unbeatable location for the price. However be aware that, although they call themselves a heterofriendly hotel, it is mainly gay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from DeKeWee and many other stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TLV, israel
Oct 24, 2009

good location, very updated hotel

good location, small SPA, good breakfast (if it incluse in your room room rate !) greate bads, but very small rooms please note, clear red glass wall between bath room to the room !.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ke De We is near by, short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Lady Wrestler Empress Asia
Business
New York City
Oct 22, 2009

[...]

[...] im jacuzzi or spa shared area nude!rather uncomfortable for both parties!rooms were very small!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Finally Out
Business
San Diego
Sep 30, 2009

Great ambiance

The hotel is in a great section of previous West Berlin in Schoeneberg. It's close to the gay bars in the neighborhood and a relatively short distance to the current city center, which is in previous East Berlin (Mitte). The hotel has a great ambiance - fitness center, wet and dry sauna, and whirlpool are located together[...] Some of the other comments are true - the inside ledge along the bathtub needs to be dammed with a towel to redirect water into the tub instead of on the floor; there's no pool (yet?); rooms are on the small side with a few hangers for an open closet - though the room doesn't seem too small with the use of space; and the TV and internet are on the slow side. But I didn't expect, but liked, the image on TV menu screen [...] Overall it's a great place to stay, and if you get a good rate early, it makes it even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Depends on where you go. Very close to nightlife in Schoneberg, but you need a subway ride to either Prenzlauer-Berg or Kreuzberg.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 12, 2009

Berlin Axel Hotel

Newly open Hotel, very clean,staff very helpful.only complaint is they charge for use of the internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the center of Berlins shopping zone

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
worldofpeterpan
Business
duesseldorf
Jul 2, 2009

GOOD BUT DIFFERENT ! not for everybody.

the hotel looks superb and is full of friendly staff. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top