$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Axel Hotel Berlin

4 stars
View map of Lietzenburger Strasse 13/15, Berlin, 10789

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Berlin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Traveler From CA
Business
Pasadena, CA
Aug 27, 2012

Stylish, Centrally Located, Generous size

I got a terrific price on a single room, but decided to upgrade to a suite upon my arrival. The suite was a very large room with great views, king-sized bed, and a bathroom that was worth the upgrade: huge glass-wall shower with rain-shower head, multi-body jets (& more), a jacuzzi tub, double sinks in a very generous room. The staff were always very helpful & friendly. Centrally located in the Schoneberg area, I found it the perfect place to keep as a home-base for travel around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wreck from Hells Kitchen
Business
New York, NY
Jul 25, 2012

Best hotel experience ever!

From check in to check out the Axel Berlin did not disappoint. A friendly staff great room and excellent location the Axel could not have been better. The staff was very helpful, pointing out great places to eat near by, sights that might go unseen and very professional and friendly. The rooms were well kept and clean every day. I will go back to Berlin and and I will stay at the Axel, largely in par to the service I received at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey T
Business
Ireland
Jun 25, 2012

Great location with lovely staff

We both really enjoyed our 4 night stay in this hotel.. top marks except for the lack of privacy in the bathroom and the noisy air-con.. apart from those two small items, its a great hotel in an idea area with very helpful and pleasant staff.. a huge choice of good places to eat with a 5 min walk and only 2 mins from Ka De We etc.. will come again........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doced
Business
New York City
Jun 21, 2012

Nice Getaway in Berlin

Hotel was really quite nice. The staff was amazing and the location was fairly close to a Ubahn station and a square with nice restaurants and shopping. Hotel is close to a shopping district but also quant little shops. Everything was nice, but room was a little small. I expected European style, but there was not even room for me to put my suitcase comfortably in the room. I would definitely stay again though. Not recommended for Children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great shopping just a few blocks away including the department store and other clothing and speciality shops. Easy walk and very English friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crispinh
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

The hotel and especially the staff were great!

I stayed here for 5 nights during my first trip to Berlin. The staff were attentive to all my inquiries from internet access to calling cabs to printing google maps to help me get to sites I wanted to visit. Staff were always gracious. Really nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prophet
Business
San Jose
Oct 20, 2011

Fantastic for Gay people

The hotel was fantastic, but preferrable to gay men. It this does not bother you it is heavenly for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Museum Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thom mc
Business
Florida, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great location

This hotel was close to the CadeWe which is a huge dept store as well as a metro stop & many cafes so it is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

THe sky bar is closed and the 1st floor bar is for early in the evening only.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Owlly
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great Location

Nice concept and location in the main gay area. Staff and amenities are nice. Rooms look great but the daily cleaning time is very quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Berio for breakfast, More restaurant for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Great idea, bad followthrough

The Axel has a great location, too bad it has a staff that should be moved out as soon as possible. Unfriendly, uninterested, unapproachable, they go out of their way not to be of help. The hotel boasts WiFi in the rooms; well, that's true in room 112 if you stand in the door with one foot in the hallway. Forget hanging a Clean the room sign on the door; they'll do that when the rulebook says it will happen, not before. I was here when it first opened and wanted very much to come back. Now that I have, I am sorry I did and most certainly never will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe des Artistes is just a short block away and a good choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Constant Traveler 45
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Great idea, bad followthrough

The Axel has a great location, too bad it has a staff that should be moved out as soon as possible. Unfriendly, uninterested, unapproachable, they go out of their way not to be of help. The hotel boasts WiFi in the rooms; well, that's true in room 112 if you stand in the door with one foot in the hallway. Forget hanging a Clean the room sign on the door; they'll do that when the rulebook says it will happen, not before. I was here when it first opened and wanted very much to come back. Now that I have, I am sorry I did and most certainly never will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe des Artistes is just a short block away and a good choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top