$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Axel Hotel Berlin

4 stars
View map of Lietzenburger Strasse 13/15, Berlin, 10789

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
57 reviews
my experience in gay Hotel as Heterosexual !

The whole Experience was very interesting and excellent ! I was met by a helpful staff who manage... See full review

  • Ruth K.
  • Jul 10, 2015
Weekend Getaway

Great hotel right in Schöneberg area of Berlin. Perfect place next to KaDeWe shopping during the... See full review

  • Chris
  • Jan 22, 2015
  • Checkpoint Charlie Museum (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Jewish Museum Berlin (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Potsdamer Platz (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Berlin Cathedral (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Tiergarten (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
<
General
The Axel Hotel Berlin is dedicated to the body and spirit of guests. A wellness area offers a "water circuit" with a Jacuzzi and two saunas, a cutting-edge fitness area and a "relaxation area." After toning up for the evening, guests head up to the Sky Ba
Location
Located in Schoneberg -- known for its numerous restaurants, bars and boisterous gay scene -- the Axel Hotel Berlin is making a cosmopolitan mark on the city's hotel scene. With design and comfort serving as top priorities to a diverse range of clients, t
Dining
  • Berlin Tegel Airport (10.1 mi/17.5 km)
  • Berlin Schoenefeld Airport (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • U-Bahn train station (13 mi/22 km)

Rooms
Axel Hotel Berlin offers 87 rooms, six suites and 10 junior suites -- all of which feature standard amenities such as flat-screen TVs, iPod speakers, Wi-Fi, soundproof walls, and bathrobes and slippers. Elegant and modern with unique floor plans, the room
Nearby attractions
  • Flat-screen TVs, iPod speakers and Wi-Fi
  • Suites with Jacuzzi bathtubs and showers, dressing rooms, and bathrobes and slippers
  • Open-air lounge on the top floor of the hotel
  • Near Checkpoint Charlie Museum and other attraction
    Transportation
    Boutique hotel in Berlin friendly to gay scene

Top hotels

Axel Hotel Berlin Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The Axel City Rooms feature one king-size bed two twin beds, a flat-screen television,a bathroom with bath tub or shower, and views of the courtyard garden. The Axel Hotels amenities kit, bath robe and slippers are also included. Room Facilities: Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Slippers
STANDARD - ROOM
The Axel Single rooms feature a double bed, a flat-screen television,a bathroom with bath tub or shower, and views of the courtyard garden. The Axel Hotels amenities kit, bath robe and slippers are also included.Room Facilities: Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Slippers
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Superior Rooms feature one king-size bed or two twin beds, a flat-screen television, a bathroom with a hydromassage shower, and views of the Lietzburger Strasse. The Axel Hotels amenities kit, 2 bath robes and 2 pairs of slippers are also included. Room Facilities: Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Slippers
PREMIUM - JR_SUITE
These rooms are located in the cylindrical areas. Axel Hotels amenities kit, 2 bath robes and 2 pairs of slippers are also included. Room Facilities: Minibar, Shower, Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Seating Area, Slippers
EXECUTIVE - STUDIO
The exclusivity of the Axel Suites Berlin will make your time in the city a unique experience. They are equipped with a King Size bed with four pillows, a hydro-massage bathtub and hydro-massage shower, LCD TV, PC, iPod On Stage speakers,Wi-Fi, mini-bar, sitting area, dressing room, safety deposit box, Axel Hotels amenities kit, bathrobes, slippers, laundry service and room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • KaDeWe: 0.1 mi
  • Kaufhaus de Westens: 0.1 mi
  • Europa Center: 0.3 mi
  • Gedaechtniskirche: 0.4 mi
  • Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church: 0.5 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoological Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Zoological Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Kathe Kollwitz Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bahnhof Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Bauhaus Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Theater des Westens: 0.7 mi
  • Helmut Newton Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • KaDeWe: 0.1 mi
  • Kaufhaus de Westens: 0.1 mi
  • Europa Center: 0.3 mi
  • Gedaechtniskirche: 0.4 mi
  • Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church: 0.5 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoological Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Zoological Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Kathe Kollwitz Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bahnhof Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Bauhaus Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Theater des Westens: 0.7 mi
  • Helmut Newton Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • Galerie Nierendorf: 0.7 mi
  • Theater und Komodie am Kurfurstendamm: 0.8 mi
  • Wintergarten Variete: 1 mi
  • Straße des 17. Juni: 1.1 mi
  • SIegessaeule: 1.1 mi
  • Rathaus Schöneberg: 1.1 mi
  • Schoeneberg: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Unheard Things: 1.1 mi
  • Gemaldegalerie: 1.2 mi
  • Wilmersdorf: 1.2 mi
  • Neue Nationalgalerie: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Prints and Drawings : 1.2 mi
  • Ernst-Reuter-Platz: 1.2 mi
  • Tiergarten: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Applied Art: 1.3 mi
  • Grips Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Schiller Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Schloss Bellevue: 1.3 mi
  • Kammermusiksaal: 1.3 mi
  • Berliner Philharmonie: 1.4 mi
  • Musikinstrumenten Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Marlene Dietrich Platz: 1.4 mi
  • Potsdamer Arkaden: 1.4 mi
  • Legoland Discovery Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Deutsche Kinemathek: 1.5 mi
  • German Museum of Technology: 1.5 mi
  • DaimlerChrysler Contemporary : 1.5 mi
  • Panoramapunkt: 1.5 mi
  • Berliner Gruselkabinett: 1.6 mi
  • Deutsche Oper: 1.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from Urban Bar, Kitchen, Sky Bar or the exclusive 40-person meeting room, Axel Meetings

Dining

Hamburguer Mary's
The taste of one of the best American restaurants, Hamburguer Mary's, now is available at Axel Hotel Berlin. Since this spring, our customers can enjoy the best gourmet burgers of America. To make your experience even more appealing, Hamburger Mary's Drag Shows brings the most unusual presentation to your evenings. The more adventurous can also enjoy the funniest version of Karaoke, the "Mary-Oke" and, for those who are not yet ready to sing, Hamburger Mary's Bingo nights surrounded by the best atmosphere. Hamburger Mary's Berlin is decorated in true American style, chic and Axel. Now you have another reason to come visit us at Axel Hotel Berlin, you will not be able to resist. From now on Axel Hotel Berlin nights will taste more appetizing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Berlin

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 57
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SoCal Traveler 2013
Business
San Diego, California
May 4, 2013

Rip-off of Gay Community

We prepaid five nights at the Axel Hotel for a discount. Big mistake! The room was about the size of a college dorm room. There were no dresser or drawers -- just a narrow ledge above the bed to put clothes on. There was no closet --just about a foot-long rod above the ledge. 50% of the room was taken up by an all glass shower in the center of the room with a red light in it. The room was painted in an ugly flat black paint. There were no tables and barely enough room to pile luggage on the floor; assuming you stepped over it. The hallway smelled of sweat. This seemed more like a bathhouse than a hotel. We decided immediately to get a room at another hotel and, since we had already checked in and prepaid the Axel room for five nights, keep that as a secondary room to shower, nap, etc when in the gay area of Berlin. When we returned to use the Axel room a couple days later, they had re-rented the room to someone else, refused to either refund our money or give us a replacement room. My complaints that we had pre-paid for the room and that they were unfairly receiving double rent for the same room fell on deaf ears. There are many good hotel options in Shoneburg close to all the gay venues to consider other than the very dissapointing Axel Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Great idea, bad followthrough

The Axel has a great location, too bad it has a staff that should be moved out as soon as possible. Unfriendly, uninterested, unapproachable, they go out of their way not to be of help. The hotel boasts WiFi in the rooms; well, that's true in room 112 if you stand in the door with one foot in the hallway. Forget hanging a Clean the room sign on the door; they'll do that when the rulebook says it will happen, not before. I was here when it first opened and wanted very much to come back. Now that I have, I am sorry I did and most certainly never will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe des Artistes is just a short block away and a good choice for dinner.

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Constant Traveler 45
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Great idea, bad followthrough

The Axel has a great location, too bad it has a staff that should be moved out as soon as possible. Unfriendly, uninterested, unapproachable, they go out of their way not to be of help. The hotel boasts WiFi in the rooms; well, that's true in room 112 if you stand in the door with one foot in the hallway. Forget hanging a Clean the room sign on the door; they'll do that when the rulebook says it will happen, not before. I was here when it first opened and wanted very much to come back. Now that I have, I am sorry I did and most certainly never will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe des Artistes is just a short block away and a good choice for dinner.

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wanderingyank
Business
San Dieg, California
Nov 4, 2014

tiny dark room, unpleasant staff

The room was tiny, the shower did not work, the entire interior of the hotel is painted black (to hide the poor cleanliness or maintenance?) and the staff was rude at best. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to an enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mor El
Business
Tel Aviv
May 7, 2014

Not bad but could be better

Positive: Supreme location. Very nice and helpful staff. they helped with any request. Negative: The room was very small comparing to Berlin standards. You get just 1 wifi code for each guest. so when switching between my iPhone to laptop, I needed to disconnect, wait and put my password in the other device... that's a shame in the year of 2014. The bed was really not comfortable (but maybe that's just me)... the pillows were as thin as a sheet, so I couldn't sleep well. The jacuzzi is great, but the water were cold and it was always occupied by same people... We were two but got just 1 bathrobe in the room. we had to ask for another one. Bottom line: you can get better deal for the same price. just stick to this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bkitalyrican
Business
New York City
Aug 1, 2013

Week in Germany

The axel was average experience the room is small and is only comfortable for one person. The room has little to no storage and an exposed closet . Finishes in the hotel look cheap. The gym is a joke it's one machine. the location is next to kadewe and a major train station but its in the boring West Berlin that is quiet and bars are only good for happy hour and back rooms its an 45+croud . If u are young It's far from the trendy clubs and bars of kreuzberg and friedrichshan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to galleries in mitte and best night life in kreuzberg

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aramis 0811
Business
Puerto Rico
Oct 18, 2013

Average

Is OK , no more. I cant understand why i ternet is avalibale for only one device at the same time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Traveler From CA
Business
Pasadena, CA
Aug 27, 2012

Stylish, Centrally Located, Generous size

I got a terrific price on a single room, but decided to upgrade to a suite upon my arrival. The suite was a very large room with great views, king-sized bed, and a bathroom that was worth the upgrade: huge glass-wall shower with rain-shower head, multi-body jets (& more), a jacuzzi tub, double sinks in a very generous room. The staff were always very helpful & friendly. Centrally located in the Schoneberg area, I found it the perfect place to keep as a home-base for travel around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DutchKarel
Business
Amsterdam
Apr 3, 2013

Great place in Berlin esp in gay area

Loved my stay at the Axel; it is close to the Ku-dam and Kadewe as well as the gay neighborhood. Very friendly staff and good albeit small rooms with not much storage area. They are opening a Hamburger Mary's later this spring. Sounds fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe des Artiste; awesome food!

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffalo Traveler
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 6, 2013

Fantastic getaway to Berlin!

Great location & nice staff! Definitely would recommend and stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top