$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Axel Hotel Berlin

4 stars
View map of Lietzenburger Strasse 13/15, Berlin, 10789

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Berlin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T. travell
Business
Tel-Aviv
Jun 8, 2011

Axel Hotel.

The hotel is very nice and comfort. The room was a little small but well equipped. Note, the hotel is 'gay friendly'. It's OK if you know it in advanced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CapHiller
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 24, 2010

Axel Hotel Berlin

Although it took a few minutes to get someone at the reception desk (it was after 9pm when we checked in), the entire experience at the Axel Hotel was fantastic. The hotel is just a block away from the Wittenbergplatz U-bahn station which gets you to all the great sights. The rooms were large for Europe and very stylishly laid out. 6th floor had a fitness center, steam room, dry sauna, and outdoor whirlpool (not hot though and only one section had air bubbles -- weird). There is also an outdoor lounge area on the roof and a bar, but we never saw this bar operating. I can only imagine how much fun this place would have been if there had been more travelers staying there and we had been there on a weekend. I would not recommend this hotel for families with children or for anyone offended by advertisements and art featuring some nudity. This is an adult oriented hotel with a fantastic restaurant (2-for-1 3 course menu dinners on Thursdays!) and in a great area. Would love to stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Two for one "menu" dinners -- a three-course daily special -- on Thursdays. Saved us a bundle and the food was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TLV, israel
Oct 24, 2009

good location, very updated hotel

good location, small SPA, good breakfast (if it incluse in your room room rate !) greate bads, but very small rooms please note, clear red glass wall between bath room to the room !.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ke De We is near by, short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snarf
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 14, 2011

Sehr schön

Very clean hotel with extremely pleasant and helpful staff. I had never visited Berlin before so I was a bit apprehensive about where to find the nightlife, good restaurants, etc. The front desk staff were so helpful that I was truly able to enjoy myself with no stress about being in a strange city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heterofriend in a meeting
Business
Pennsylavania, USA
Nov 23, 2009

Excellent room and location

Phenomenal location. In the middle of everything. I barely had to take a taxi or subway. Everything you need is on a walking distance. Very safe area plenty of restaurants, fine class shopping, design and antique stores. The rooms, although tiny as a typical European boutique style hotel, are fabulous with nice design and details like phones Bang & Olufsen, Villeroy & Boch bathroom ceramics and cotton robes and sandals. The beautiful Flat Screen TV on wall need more channels. The first image that comes up on TV when you turn it on is very cheesy [...] with two naked guys ready to go for it! They looked at so many details and certainly they can find something more elegant to match with the rest of the room. The room lacks a frigo bar and there is not a way to get ice other than in the bar in ground floor. Like every hotel in world, they say that want to protect the environment asking you to drop in the floor the towels that you want to be replaced. So I did with my robe that I used for 2 days at the sauna not before putting a mark in the robe with a pen ( I learned with my mom!)and was not my surprise that when I came back late afternoon my marked robe was nicely arranged in the hanger in my bathroom? I complained with the reception and they said that they don't know why this happened, it is against their policies, blablabla, and gave me an apology. So far never happened again. They have only 2 computers with free internet access. One in the 2nd and another in the 3rd floor. If you want to use your laptop in any place of the hotel you have to pay a daily fee.In the 6th floor there is a fitness room with the essentials, very nice sauna (dry and wet), outdoor jacuzzi, chaise-longs for relax and reading, a beautiful view of the city with its total glass walls. During happy hour and late evening there is the place where people get more relaxed and prone for hunting if you now what I mean. What I loved most was the cleanliness of the area and the unlimited amount of soft bath towels.Staff are very courteous but still need more training. They are not prepared to give you simple information like points of interest or where to exchange money but at least they know how to access Google!In summary, with those minor pitfalls it was a pleasant experience and an unbeatable location for the price. However be aware that, although they call themselves a heterofriendly hotel, it is mainly gay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from DeKeWee and many other stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kyoto
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 31, 2010

Axel Hotel, Berlin, Germany

The location was great; staff were helpful in German and English. Coat hooks and towel hooks would have been very nice and an easy fix. The "business center" was basically a computer in a hallway and often busy. The hotel is in the heart of one of the LGBT areas of the city. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a "tageskarte" or day-ticket at the U-bahn station a block away. It's 6 euro 50 cents for the ABC zones (all zones) and can be used for any form of transportation all day (until 3 a.m.). If you don't have coins for the machine, buy them at the ticket box from a live person. Don't forget to validate the ticket at the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
worldofpeterpan
Business
duesseldorf
Jul 2, 2009

GOOD BUT DIFFERENT ! not for everybody.

the hotel looks superb and is full of friendly staff. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackybull
Business
London
Dec 21, 2014

Good value

Fab location and very friendly hotel with the roof top spa an awesome experience. Rooms small but fantastic walk in shower altho I didn't like glass walls surrounding it. I like my showers in private!!! Breakfast was excellent. Entertainment could be better. All in all tho, great value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thomas
Business
APO
Jan 20, 2015

Ok but Service Could Be Better

The hotel staff were generally nice, and one went so far as to upgrade us to a suite when the shower in our initial room did not function. We really appreciated the upgrade, and the suite was nice and much larger than the standard room. However, some hotel staff seemed disinterested - even annoyed - at queries. The Hamburger Marys restaurant staff next door were friendly, but the restaurant seemed badly understaffed, making the wait-time for food long even when there were only a few customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steff G.
Business
Tuscaloosa
Jan 6, 2015

Relaxing and Entertaining New Year's Trip

This was the second time we stayed at the hotel, and we liked it even more than the first time. Staff is super-friendly and the atmosphere is simultaneously calming and electric, where you can relax and recharge with positive energy. The wellness center is a great place to recharge as well. If one wants to have coffee then unfortunately you have to walk to one of quite a few bakery shops in the vicinity since the hotel does (but should) offer a breakfast corner where travelers can get some snacks and brew some coffee from a coffee automat as they can be found in some other hotels. Such corner would also allow for hotel guests to mingle throughout the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you feel like having Indian food, the Maharadscha on Fuggerstrasse has exquisite cuisine with a personal touch. We enjoyed the four-course dinners we selected and the conversations with the owners and staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top