$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Axel Hotel Berlin

4 stars
View map of Lietzenburger Strasse 13/15, Berlin, 10789

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Berlin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey T
Business
Ireland
Jun 25, 2012

Great location with lovely staff

We both really enjoyed our 4 night stay in this hotel.. top marks except for the lack of privacy in the bathroom and the noisy air-con.. apart from those two small items, its a great hotel in an idea area with very helpful and pleasant staff.. a huge choice of good places to eat with a 5 min walk and only 2 mins from Ka De We etc.. will come again........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doced
Business
New York City
Jun 21, 2012

Nice Getaway in Berlin

Hotel was really quite nice. The staff was amazing and the location was fairly close to a Ubahn station and a square with nice restaurants and shopping. Hotel is close to a shopping district but also quant little shops. Everything was nice, but room was a little small. I expected European style, but there was not even room for me to put my suitcase comfortably in the room. I would definitely stay again though. Not recommended for Children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great shopping just a few blocks away including the department store and other clothing and speciality shops. Easy walk and very English friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crispinh
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

The hotel and especially the staff were great!

I stayed here for 5 nights during my first trip to Berlin. The staff were attentive to all my inquiries from internet access to calling cabs to printing google maps to help me get to sites I wanted to visit. Staff were always gracious. Really nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prophet
Business
San Jose
Oct 20, 2011

Fantastic for Gay people

The hotel was fantastic, but preferrable to gay men. It this does not bother you it is heavenly for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Museum Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thom mc
Business
Florida, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great location

This hotel was close to the CadeWe which is a huge dept store as well as a metro stop & many cafes so it is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

THe sky bar is closed and the 1st floor bar is for early in the evening only.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Owlly
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Great Location

Nice concept and location in the main gay area. Staff and amenities are nice. Rooms look great but the daily cleaning time is very quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Berio for breakfast, More restaurant for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Great idea, bad followthrough

The Axel has a great location, too bad it has a staff that should be moved out as soon as possible. Unfriendly, uninterested, unapproachable, they go out of their way not to be of help. The hotel boasts WiFi in the rooms; well, that's true in room 112 if you stand in the door with one foot in the hallway. Forget hanging a Clean the room sign on the door; they'll do that when the rulebook says it will happen, not before. I was here when it first opened and wanted very much to come back. Now that I have, I am sorry I did and most certainly never will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe des Artistes is just a short block away and a good choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Constant Traveler 45
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Great idea, bad followthrough

The Axel has a great location, too bad it has a staff that should be moved out as soon as possible. Unfriendly, uninterested, unapproachable, they go out of their way not to be of help. The hotel boasts WiFi in the rooms; well, that's true in room 112 if you stand in the door with one foot in the hallway. Forget hanging a Clean the room sign on the door; they'll do that when the rulebook says it will happen, not before. I was here when it first opened and wanted very much to come back. Now that I have, I am sorry I did and most certainly never will again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe des Artistes is just a short block away and a good choice for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 28, 2011

Great place

Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice room. Quiet at night. Great Price. Good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul, MN
Jun 29, 2011

Excellent choice

Great location for taking in many of Berlin's great sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasant stroll up to the Tiergarten

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top