$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Axel Hotel Berlin

4 stars
Lietzenburger Strasse 13/15, Berlin, 10789
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
61 reviews
Trip June 2014

Great stay at this hotel, full marks to them. Looking forward to staying there again in the future. See full review

  • Sparky 2
  • Jun 18, 2014
Axel

This is the first time that I stayed at The Axel Berlin. I should say this is the first time I have... See full review

  • nard94
  • Aug 14, 2013
The heterofriendly Axel Hotel Berlin is centrally located in the District of Schoeneberg just a few minutes away from the Kulturforum, the Tiergarten and the world famous KaDeWe department store on the celebrated Kurfuerstendamm Boulevard. Schoeneberg is well-known for its numerous restaurants, bars and boisterous gay scene. The Axel Hotel Berlin, for adults only, is famous for its open-minded atmosphere and avant-garde design. The attractive and friendly staff offer outstanding service and are knowledgeable of the local gay scene. Its unique design, exhumes glamour and elegance with a resolutely avant-garde vibe. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with sleek furniture and equipped with the latest technology. Quench your spirit at at the Urban Bar, a happening venue in the gay scene, and enjoy the creative cuisine of Kitchen restaurant and its relaxing garden. The splendid roof terrace is the perfect place to relax and sun bath in summer. Indulge yourself in the Wellness area, featuring a Jacuzzi, two saunas, a fully-equipped fitness room and a massage room.

Hotel Map

52.4998 13.342
Area served
Berlin- City Center West. Just a short walk to the KADEWE and the famous Ku Damm shopping district.
Nearby airports
Tegel Airport Schonefeld Airport
Area description
Axel Hotel Berlin is located in the heart of Berlin, in the Schoeneberg neighborhood.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Axel Hotel Berlin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Axel Hotel Berlin Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The Axel City Rooms feature one king-size bed two twin beds, a flat-screen television,a bathroom with bath tub or shower, and views of the courtyard garden. The Axel Hotels amenities kit, bath robe and slippers are also included. Room Facilities: Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Slippers
STANDARD - ROOM
The Axel Single rooms feature a double bed, a flat-screen television,a bathroom with bath tub or shower, and views of the courtyard garden. The Axel Hotels amenities kit, bath robe and slippers are also included.Room Facilities: Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Slippers
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Superior Rooms feature one king-size bed or two twin beds, a flat-screen television, a bathroom with a hydromassage shower, and views of the Lietzburger Strasse. The Axel Hotels amenities kit, 2 bath robes and 2 pairs of slippers are also included. Room Facilities: Minibar, Shower, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Slippers
PREMIUM - JR_SUITE
These rooms are located in the cylindrical areas. Axel Hotels amenities kit, 2 bath robes and 2 pairs of slippers are also included. Room Facilities: Minibar, Shower, Bath, Safety Deposit Box, TV, Bathroom Amenities, Bathrobe, Seating Area, Slippers
EXECUTIVE - STUDIO
The exclusivity of the Axel Suites Berlin will make your time in the city a unique experience. They are equipped with a King Size bed with four pillows, a hydro-massage bathtub and hydro-massage shower, LCD TV, PC, iPod On Stage speakers,Wi-Fi, mini-bar, sitting area, dressing room, safety deposit box, Axel Hotels amenities kit, bathrobes, slippers, laundry service and room service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • KaDeWe: 0.1 mi
  • Kaufhaus de Westens: 0.1 mi
  • Europa Center: 0.3 mi
  • Gedaechtniskirche: 0.4 mi
  • Kurfürstendamm: 0.5 mi
  • Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church: 0.5 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoological Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Zoological Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Kathe Kollwitz Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bahnhof Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Bauhaus Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Theater des Westens: 0.7 mi
  • Helmut Newton Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • KaDeWe: 0.1 mi
  • Kaufhaus de Westens: 0.1 mi
  • Europa Center: 0.3 mi
  • Gedaechtniskirche: 0.4 mi
  • Kurfürstendamm: 0.5 mi
  • Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church: 0.5 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Berlin Zoological Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Zoological Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Kathe Kollwitz Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bahnhof Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Bauhaus Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Theater des Westens: 0.7 mi
  • Helmut Newton Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Photography: 0.7 mi
  • Galerie Nierendorf: 0.7 mi
  • Theater und Komodie am Kurfurstendamm: 0.8 mi
  • Wintergarten Variete: 1 mi
  • Straße des 17. Juni: 1.1 mi
  • SIegessaeule: 1.1 mi
  • Rathaus Schöneberg: 1.1 mi
  • Schoeneberg: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Unheard Things: 1.1 mi
  • Gemaldegalerie: 1.2 mi
  • Wilmersdorf: 1.2 mi
  • Neue Nationalgalerie: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Prints and Drawings : 1.2 mi
  • Ernst-Reuter-Platz: 1.2 mi
  • Tiergarten: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Applied Art: 1.3 mi
  • Grips Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Schiller Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Schloss Bellevue: 1.3 mi
  • Kammermusiksaal: 1.3 mi
  • Berliner Philharmonie: 1.4 mi
  • Musikinstrumenten Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Marlene Dietrich Platz: 1.4 mi
  • Potsdamer Arkaden: 1.4 mi
  • Legoland Discovery Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Deutsche Kinemathek: 1.5 mi
  • German Museum of Technology: 1.5 mi
  • DaimlerChrysler Contemporary : 1.5 mi
  • Panoramapunkt: 1.5 mi
  • Berliner Gruselkabinett: 1.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from Urban Bar, Kitchen, Sky Bar or the exclusive 40-person meeting room, Axel Meetings

Dining

Hamburguer Mary's
The taste of one of the best American restaurants, Hamburguer Mary's, now is available at Axel Hotel Berlin. Since this spring, our customers can enjoy the best gourmet burgers of America. To make your experience even more appealing, Hamburger Mary's Drag Shows brings the most unusual presentation to your evenings. The more adventurous can also enjoy the funniest version of Karaoke, the "Mary-Oke" and, for those who are not yet ready to sing, Hamburger Mary's Bingo nights surrounded by the best atmosphere. Hamburger Mary's Berlin is decorated in true American style, chic and Axel. Now you have another reason to come visit us at Axel Hotel Berlin, you will not be able to resist. From now on Axel Hotel Berlin nights will taste more appetizing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Axel Hotel Berlin

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaeduBE
Aarau, Switzerland
Feb 19, 2013

Weekend

Nice Weekend Hotel, well furnished, stylish. Friendly Staff. Perfect location to go out for gays or straight couples. Close to many metro lines. Will go there again next time :) Very Good Value / Price relation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIAfranco
MIAMI
Feb 18, 2013

gay friendly hotel

Really is very comfortable, the staff is super friendly, but if you want to exercise the gym is only five machines, we gays look good and this gym is not for nothing, but the location of the hotel is great, the security is good and best of all is that everything is close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

all is near

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
btmcgee
Copenhagen, Denmark
Feb 16, 2013

stylish, comfortable hotel!

We arrived at Axel which is a hotel that caters to the gay community as a straight couple. We were greeted right away with the concierge knowing our names! (we were the only hetero couple to check in that day, but still!) The rooms were beautiful and sleek. We opted for the room upgrade our second night so we could have a spa bathtub which was so relaxing. My husband and I very much enjoyed the fact that there are no walls in the bathrooms, just dark red tinted glass so you are able to see your partner. It was very sexy but may not be for everyone. Morning breakfast was tasty with a nice selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a 2 minute walk to the wittenburg s-bahn station which makes it very easy to get around the city

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparky 2
Dublin
Feb 3, 2013

best city in Europe

Completely satisfied with my stay in the Axel Hotel Berlin. Very happy with the facilities. The top floor gym is a highlight. Hotel located close to some great amenities including the largest Department store on mainland Europe. A shout out to the restaurant called "Cafe Des Artistes". Will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a "Tageskarte"

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Year Reveller
Brighton, Brighton & Hove, UK
Jan 6, 2013

New Year's Eve

We attended the gala dinner on New Year's Eve. The food was fine, the service was good but the entertainment was disappointing. The evening didn't really provide value for money. Which was a pity, as apart from this our stay was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Traveler From CA
Pasadena, CA
Aug 27, 2012

Stylish, Centrally Located, Generous size

I got a terrific price on a single room, but decided to upgrade to a suite upon my arrival. The suite was a very large room with great views, king-sized bed, and a bathroom that was worth the upgrade: huge glass-wall shower with rain-shower head, multi-body jets (& more), a jacuzzi tub, double sinks in a very generous room. The staff were always very helpful & friendly. Centrally located in the Schoneberg area, I found it the perfect place to keep as a home-base for travel around the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wreck from Hells Kitchen
New York, NY
Jul 25, 2012

Best hotel experience ever!

From check in to check out the Axel Berlin did not disappoint. A friendly staff great room and excellent location the Axel could not have been better. The staff was very helpful, pointing out great places to eat near by, sights that might go unseen and very professional and friendly. The rooms were well kept and clean every day. I will go back to Berlin and and I will stay at the Axel, largely in par to the service I received at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey T
Ireland
Jun 25, 2012

Great location with lovely staff

We both really enjoyed our 4 night stay in this hotel.. top marks except for the lack of privacy in the bathroom and the noisy air-con.. apart from those two small items, its a great hotel in an idea area with very helpful and pleasant staff.. a huge choice of good places to eat with a 5 min walk and only 2 mins from Ka De We etc.. will come again........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doced
New York City
Jun 21, 2012

Nice Getaway in Berlin

Hotel was really quite nice. The staff was amazing and the location was fairly close to a Ubahn station and a square with nice restaurants and shopping. Hotel is close to a shopping district but also quant little shops. Everything was nice, but room was a little small. I expected European style, but there was not even room for me to put my suitcase comfortably in the room. I would definitely stay again though. Not recommended for Children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great shopping just a few blocks away including the department store and other clothing and speciality shops. Easy walk and very English friendly.

Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crispinh
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

The hotel and especially the staff were great!

I stayed here for 5 nights during my first trip to Berlin. The staff were attentive to all my inquiries from internet access to calling cabs to printing google maps to help me get to sites I wanted to visit. Staff were always gracious. Really nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top