$270 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2014 Check-out: May 20, 2014

Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

4 stars
BP 6 Nunue, Bora Bora, VAITAPE,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
4 reviews
Sofitel Motu

A Cyclone damaged Marara so we were taken to the Sofitel Motu- private Island. We had room 129-... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Feb 15, 2010
A very nice hotel with some room for improvement

I stayed at the Sofitel in December 2011 with my husband. We spent four days on Bora Bora, and... See full review

  • TahitiLover
  • Jan 16, 2012
Nestled on a private white sand beach on the edge of one of the most beautiful lagoons in the world, Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is surrounded by an exceptional environment. With a total of 55 bungalows this address offers an intimate atmosphere. The decorator was greatly inspired by the colors and the activities of the lagoon, revealing a modern and refined hotel in a traditional Polynesian decor.

Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort Rooms

Bgw 1 Kg bed Sup Garden S
LUXURY BUNGALOW, 1 King Size Bed, Garden View. 32sqm, 341 sqf, Terrace, sunloungers - twin available on request; airconditioning, fan, TV, bathroom with separate WC, direct phone, no rollaway bed but existing sofa bed.
Bgw 1 Kg bed Sup Lagoon V
LUXURY BUNGALOW, 1 King Size Bed, Lagoon Front. 355 sq. ft. (33 sq. m), half overwater, half above ground, direct lagoon access, 215 sq. ft. (20 sq. m) terrace, air conditioning, plasma TV, direct phone, rain shower bathroom, separate WC, no rollaway be
Bgw 1 Kg bed Sup On Beach
LUXURY BEACH BUNGALOW, 1 King Size Bed. 341 sq. ft. (32 sq. m), unobstructed lagoon view, direct beach access, terrace, sun loungers, air conditioning, plasma TV, Sofitel MyBed, rain shower bathroom, separate WC, direct phone, no rollaway bed but existi
Bgw 1 Kg bed Sup Overwater
LUXURY BUNGALOW - Overwater, 1 King Size Bed. 538 sq. ft. (50 sq. m), overwater lagoon view, 215 sq. ft.(20 sq. m) terrace, sun loungers, external shower, lagoon access, air conditioning, plasma TV, rain shower bathroom, separate WC, direct phone, no ro

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Solarium
Boating
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

-16.5322 -151.7328
Nearby airports
PPT, (PPT), 250.00, KM, N; BOB, (BOB), 12.00, KM, N;
Area description
Resort

Dining

LATITUDE 16º
Restaurant featuring show cooking at lunch and dinner. Overlooking the lagoon with a terrace. Local specialties as well as international cuisine, theme nights and a Tahitian oven.
HURRICANE
Bar with terrace facing the lagoon. Open from 10 am to 11 pm with entertainment in the evening, theme nights and also poolside snacks during the day (from 12 noon to 5 pm).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (4)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
4 out of 4
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
2.3
Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Dallas, Tx
Feb 15, 2010

Sofitel Motu

A Cyclone damaged Marara so we were taken to the Sofitel Motu- private Island. We had room 129- beautiful overwater bungalow with the best view of Bora Bora... we loved our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
TahitiLover
New York, NY, USA
Jan 16, 2012

A very nice hotel with some room for improvement

I stayed at the Sofitel in December 2011 with my husband. We spent four days on Bora Bora, and wanted to have an experience on the mainland as well as on one of the motus. We therefore stayed at Le Meridien for two days, then transferred to the Sofitel for two days. After coming from Le Meridien, the Sofitel was definitely a step-down, but we anticipated this to an extent given the price difference. The staff at Le Meridien made such an effort with guests and were so pleasant in their manner; this was not the case with the staff at the Sofitel (with the exception of the woman from Switzerland who checked us in and was so friendly and helpful). They weren't unpleasant per se; they were just a tad surly. Our check-in went fine, and we appreciated being allowed to access our room about an hour before official check-in. It did, however, take several calls and about an hour for our bags to arrive, which was frustrating because my husband needed to prepare for a diving trip. We would have taken our bags ourselves had we known it would take so long. At first look, we were pleased with our room, which was a lagoon-front bungalow. It had a large terrace with direct access to the water. There wasn't a lot of privacy and the water directly around the bungalow was quite murky, but being able to climb right into the water from the deck was great. You have to swim for a bit to reach the nicer water with more marine activity. The reason I said we were pleased with the room "at first look" is because once we had gotten settled in the room we noticed that certain areas were dirty, such as around the fridge (this was very dirty) and certain parts of the bathroom. We also noticed that certain things weren't being kept up - toilet tissue used to close a hole in the shower ceiling and so forth. The room has a lot of potential; it just has to be better maintained. The only meal we had at the hotel was for lunch. We each had a sandwich for about $12 apiece, and they were pretty good. They get you on the drinks, like $6 for water and $7 for soda. For one dinner we ate at La Bounty, about a 5 minute walk from the hotel (turn left when coming out of the hotel). The place was atmospheric, there were lots of choices, it was reasonably priced, and the food was very good. I would definitely recommend dinners there. For our other meals, we ate food we had purchased from the grocery store that is very close to La Bounty. $5 buys you about an hour on the Internet using one of two computers in the lobby. The connection was bad, but it was great to have a cheap way to check the most essential things. We took the shuttle boat to the private island to go snorkeling. It's definitely more beautiful on the private island, but the trade-off is having to get on a shuttle boat in order to access the mainland. The boat only takes 5 minutes though, and there is a restaurant on the island to make things more convenient. If you are very into snorkeling, I'd advise you to stay on the island, since the coral gardens can be accessed easily from there. I'd say that the biggest draw of the hotel is its location on the mainland, which makes travel to other places easier and cheaper. It's great to be able to walk out of the hotel to other restaurants (although walking is not easy, since there aren't any sidewalks) and to rent bikes and go around the island. I'd recommend biking (use an electric bike) to the beach at Matira Point and then to the town of Vaitape, where there are art galleries and stores. There is also a cash machine there, which is one of the only places you will find one on the island. It's also great that a cab to the airport only costs $25 from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
DrewH76
Hilo, Hi
Feb 22, 2011

Not worth it.

We booked an over-water bungalow on the private island for 3 nights. Check in was chaotic and unfriendly. Room was clean enough, but not overly so... lizards were running around inside. Meals at the hotel were horribly overpriced and, marginal at best. There are better local restaurants right across the street for 1/4 the price. Although sounding romantic, being on the private island proved to be more of a hassle whenever we wanted to eat/ do anything.[...].Do not stay here. If you're spending all that money to get to Bora Bora (which, although beautiful, we've decided is a bit over-rated... Moorea and Tahiti are just as nice), go ahead and splurge on something like the Four Seasons, where you know, you won't have to deal with all the stupid issues that the Sofitel had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Much better restaurants are right across the street... about a 5 minute walk away. They're also astoundingly less expensive.

Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
bananaman1
Los Angeles. CA
Jan 3, 2011

$500 additional charge for a meal

When we arrived they insisted that we had to pay an additional $500 for a special new year's eve meal. They said it was mandatory. I was shocked because we booked through [...]and there was no mention of this charge. I would advise you not to sell hotel rooms on your site if customers are forced to buy additional items on arrival.I was also forced to pay approx $120 more for airport transfer and city tax. At the airport there was no mention of such a charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

When we arrived they insisted that we had to pay an additional $500 for a special new year's eve meal. They said it was mandatory. I was shocked because we booked through [...]and there was no mention of this charge.

Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Dallas, Tx
Feb 15, 2010

Sofitel Motu

A Cyclone damaged Marara so we were taken to the Sofitel Motu- private Island. We had room 129- beautiful overwater bungalow with the best view of Bora Bora... we loved our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top