$177 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
119 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 119
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K. Jo.
California
Aug 25, 2012

Would not stay here again...

Two rooms out of our 3 room party were without air, and it was HOT . We happened to get a room with air, after complaining. The refrigerator in the rooms did not work, the carpet is old and the tv did not work for the last two days....Internet is only down stairs in the lobby in a certain area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex well traveled
texas
Jul 31, 2012

terrible.

no wifi in the rooms like they claimed, bed was hard as a brick, bathroom door didn't close, rude and unhelpful staff, walls paper thin, claim to be non smoking but the whole hotel smelt of smoke, extremely hot, overall absolutely terrible. They had a "fan" in the room but all it did was circulate the hot air throughout the room. This room would have been nice 100 years ago, they need to update their hotel, the lobby is very nice, but then you get to the room and you are like "really?". Even the wall paper was peeling off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Location is the ONLY good thing

The ONLY good reason to stay at this hotel is the location which is superb. There are literally NO ammenities at the hotel such as coffee in the morning, vending machines, or ice machines. You CAN get breakfast for 12 euros but I just wanted coffee and was charged for breakfast. The hotel staff seemed annoyed when we asked for help with directions. The rooms seemed clean but badly in need of rennovation with peeling paint and wallpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat E
Buffalo, NY
Oct 11, 2010

location,location,location

[...] We were sent to a very small awful room and treated as if we were lucky to get that. We went up to the room and found it did NOT have two beds. We spoke to a friendlier desk person and got a room with two beds. The room was clean but small and very shabby. We were told to come back Sunday morning to see if we could move to a better room. I went to Paris to see the sights not to fuss with changing rooms. This mixup was entirely the hotel's fault. [...] The Normandy Hotel does not know which end is up. Also, there was never anyone at the front desk or consierge desk when we returned at night. ANYONE could walk in and up to any room without being noticed. Great for a week when the terror alert was RED. There were a couple friendly staff but most were rude and incompetent. Certainly NOT 4 star maybe 2 and those stars are for the location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francophile friends
New York NY
Jun 21, 2010

A Jewel of a location

The room was old world charming and the bathroom was totally modern and luxurious. The location was terrific and the front desk and concierge were helpful though they did not give us a wake up call as asked one of the days. All in all it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ad
Dublin
May 26, 2010

below average hotel in good location

This was a 4 star hotel that would only achieve a 1 star rating in Ireland. Its rates did not reflect the standard of the rooms or the lack of facilites available to guests.The hotel did have a good location and the staff were friendly.The rooms were outdated and in severe need of updating. The bathrooms need to be completely gutted and replaced.If I stayed in this hotel with my wife and children I would have been extremely disappointed and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two minutes walk from the Lourve

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGehring
Los Angeles California USA
Oct 28, 2009

Great Location and Great Staff!

Hotel Normandy has a charm about it because I don't think it has changed much in 50 odd years, aside from the television sitting on the mini fridge. The lobby has two grand pianos but no one ever played them and that would have been cool. I was fortunate to have a shower head that was mounted on the wall but my friend had a handheld shower head and no curtain. The paint, on the walls and ceiling showed it's age and was cracked. The dbl bed was hard but I am spoiled with a pillow top at home. The front desk and concierge staff were very helpful and respectful that I spoke little to no French. Breakfast is not worth the price in my opinion. I think they are trying to serve a american style breakfast but fall short. What I would have done for an omelette bar... The hotel needs a renovation. Keep the charm but update everything with a level of class a building with this heritage deserves. Overall it was good but I hate when I see a place that could be so so so much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColoradoKila
Denver, CO
Oct 6, 2009

Location, Location!

Great location. Our room was sort of odd, and the carpet was interesting. But it was clean, and quite lovely for an old European hotel. Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1 street away from the shopping along Rue de Rivoli. 2 streets away from the Louvre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 22, 2009

Paris Trip

Absolutely wonderful. Despite hotel rooms being somewhat outdated, the staff was very friendly, kind, and understanding for a non-French speaking visitor. I will stay at this hotel when I come back to Paris. Hotel was very clean, fabulous location, safe. Walking distance to Louvre, Ponte Neuf and metro (RER). Lots of shopping and dining nearby. Couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

try to speak French, once the locals know your are trying, they are very willing to help in English if they can. go to louvre either early in am or later in afternoon. Use the metro and RER...intimidating at first, but well worth learning curve

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search