$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
122 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 122
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
2.8

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emmerdale20
Business
Birmingham, UK
Aug 11, 2014

Location location location

Although 4 star, this hotel does feel tired. The paintwork is chipped and the wallpaper a bit shabby. BUT, within a few steps of the door you acn see the Louvre or the Palais Garnier (Opera) - which is the reason we go back. This time we had a fridge in our room, little tiny balconies to see out over the rooftops of Paris (we were on the 6th floor), and a very useful electric fan. If you have kids or are feeling unadventurous there's even a McDonalds a couple of doors along and a Starbucks across the way! Not everyone's perect ideal, but for a central location we love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A pilot or a pirate
Business
Detroit
Jul 19, 2014

A good short stay

I think Normandy Hotel is at a perfect location for tourists. It's right next to Louvre and close to many other attractions. We used Big Bus and the hotel is in few minutes away from their office on Pyramid. The room was reasonably spacious compare and better than many space-hungry hotels in Paris. Now for the downsides. The room was noisy as it's adjunct to streets. My wife had to use ear plugs in the night. The air condition in our room was terrible. Even when the light in the air con was "on" the air was not cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evan64
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 23, 2014

Decent Hotel in a Great location

The location is right behind the Louvre, which is great!! The place needs some love. The hotel needs a fresh coat of paint and new carpet, but aside from that is decent. We had 2 safe deposit boxes in our room but neither one worked.... Most of the staff was great. Overall our experience was a good one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Louvre is 2 blocks away! Latin Quarter is not a far walk if you're up for it. Notre Dame is within striking distance...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
Business
mass, USA
Oct 26, 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broomfield,Colorado
Jan 5, 2011

Normandy Hotel

Friendly,welcoming staff that could help translate and give directions. [...] greeted each person warmly as they came through the door as if it was his home. The staff taking care of the room asked if we were satisfied. The bar was homey with a real fire every night. Great staff! It would be nice to have the breakfast and lunch service extended to each day. The location couldn't have been more convenient to the Louvre Museum, 6 cafes just across the street, many other attractions within walking distance. The Metro/RER 1/2 block away, ATM less than 1/2 block... they arranged our shuttle for the C.D. airport,very reasonable... can you tell we had a great time?!? Being guests of a well run, clean establishment when you are in a foreign country means a lot to a traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Secrets, a restaurant easily accessible via Metro/RER Charles de Gaulle Etoile on 16 avenue De Friedland, Paris. The lamb and the tuna served New Year's evening was indescribable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Nov 11, 2010

Our Third Stay at the Normandy Hotel

Paris is our city of choice to introduce our seven grandkids to art, history,architecture, culture, food and fun. In planning our future trips we will no longer consider the Normandy Hotel. Given that the hotel location cannot be beat,the decrepit atmosphere of the guest rooms(we were in room 210 and there was actually a hole in the wall near the toilet) coupled with the poor quality of the conceirge the total atmosphere negates the value of the location. My husband and I are seasoned travelers. We have never experienced such indifference by a conceirge in any hotel in any country. Imagine, before retiring to our room for the night asking a conceriege the anticipated weather for the following day and receiving a reply "What, how can I tell you that?" Does he not have access to a newspaper, radio or internet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner there are one or two opportunities to purchase bagettes or baguette with cheese etc. for breakfast without having to go the brasseries across the street where you will have to pay considerably more for the same.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Travel Guy
Business
Princeton, NJ
Oct 25, 2010

Great Location, Tired Facilities

This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antvic
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 27, 2010

Tourist trap

All what they say, may have been true, when the hotel was built in the early 1900's, certainly not now. A tourist trap. this hotel is falling apart and is not well kept. During our whole stay the a/c in our room did not worked. Staff hang up the phone everytime we called to complaint and bad mouth in french, when we spoke to them in person. With our little comprehension of french, it didn't take a french national to know what they were saying. We met wonderful french nationals in Paris which were very helpful with directions, etc. Regrettably since we had prepaid our stay, they did not want to give us our money back. Will not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Our only bad experience in our trip to Spain and France.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Aug 26, 2010

Hotel Service? None, Ignored,

Arrived in room to find out that the Air Conditioner wasn't working. Showed signs of not working for a while, broken grills, controls damaged and hanging by wires, water/or other fluid leaking from the bottom (had to put garbage pail under to collect).Calls to front desk, to repair and or change our room were IGNORED. [...]Room windows had to be left open to make room comfortable, Not so - outside temperature was hotter and the noise leave keep us up most of the night (extremely noise).Room was reserved for 3 adults - you would think that with 3 beds in the room that the house keeping staff would leave towels for 3. Not so, 2 days without enough towels for 3 and even after calling front desk - NO towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 2, 2010

Decent hotel in a good location

Hotel had the largest rooms out of the 10 or so we stayed at in Europe. Location is very good. Most hotels we stayed at included a free breakfast. We did not have that at this hotel. This hotel also really needs maintenence - the porcelin is chipped, carpet worn through, etc. We lost power in all of the outlets (which the service desk told us happened because we left a camera plugged in, which we did not). It looks like it used to be a really nice hotel, and it COULD be again. Adding a guest laundry room would also really be helpful. The laundry service costs were WAY too high for us to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top