$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
186 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2010

Normandy Hotel

We arrived in 90 degree heat on July 2 and I assumed there would be air conditioning as this was a "4 star" property. There is no AC. Our room was on the 6th floor. It was so hot we slept on top of the sheets and took multi showers. Opening the windows gave us air - but the drone of motorcycles and police sirens as well as the 3 am garbage trucks left us in zombie mode.The bed was very low in height as it was supported by a box spring 6 inch high that was on the floor. Closet was a small old style wood wardrobe. Business center was one old computer which seemed to be on dial up mode - I gave up on trying to send an email home - it took too long. Its desk drawer was filled with used scrap paper and old candy bar wrappers apparently never emptied by the staff. The bathroom was old tile and the paint was peeling off. This place barely gets a 2 star for location. It was a let down. Breakfast was not included. I found several alternative B & B not far from here in the 1st A that were on quieter streets. Clearly this hotel survives by the influx of travelers by tour bus operators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenny and Derek
Kansas
Jul 24, 2012

Great Location - Great Staff - Poor Facilities

Location was excellent to Louvre. Staff was very helpful, courteous and spoke English well. Room was "dingy" with stale odor. Opened windows to try to clear the air. Bathtub shower leaked (could not be shut off all the way). Very outdated and in need of painting, new carpet and linens. Beds were not comfortable. Mattress felt very old and overused. Linens were scratchy at best. If you want location this is the hotel but don't expect much. I am accustomed to European standards but this hotel was very dissapointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, AB
Jan 10, 2011

Great location but small rundown rooms!

The lobby is very nice. The room was small and had massive cracks in the walls and ceiling! The bed was very old and not comfortable. There is no room service and the tv only gets one channel in English. The wifi Internet access is limited to the ground floor only, there is no access in the rooms. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining area at the Louvre is excellent for all kinds of international and French food.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antvic
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 27, 2010

Tourist trap

All what they say, may have been true, when the hotel was built in the early 1900's, certainly not now. A tourist trap. this hotel is falling apart and is not well kept. During our whole stay the a/c in our room did not worked. Staff hang up the phone everytime we called to complaint and bad mouth in french, when we spoke to them in person. With our little comprehension of french, it didn't take a french national to know what they were saying. We met wonderful french nationals in Paris which were very helpful with directions, etc. Regrettably since we had prepaid our stay, they did not want to give us our money back. Will not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Our only bad experience in our trip to Spain and France.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2010

Try somewhere else

The room I had at this hotel had a HUGE MAJOR problem. The bathroom (alright in itself) was not ventilated to the outside. The result was that both the bathroom AND the room smelled dreadfully of mold and mildew. The problem could be somewhat alleviated by closing the door between the bathroom and the bedroom (which was quite small) and by opening the French doors to the small balcony (a definite plus). The room was Spartan in decoration and small, but it was clean and the maid service was adequate. The location of the hotel is, of course, FANTASTIC, a stone's throw from the Louvre, the Palais Royal, the Tuileries, the Comedie Francaise, and the shoping on the Rue St. Honore. However, I know that, for the price, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since this hotel is a very short walk (like 100 yards) from the Louvre, you can have breakfast or lunch at the Cafe Marly which you can get to by going into the Louvre at the Porte Richelieu and turning into the long corridor overlooking the Cour Napoleon and the Pei Pyramide. It's not cheap, but it's cheaper than the hotel breakfast and you can't beat the view!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2010

Try somewhere else

The room I had at this hotel had a HUGE MAJOR problem. The bathroom (alright in itself) was not ventilated to the outside. The result was that both the bathroom AND the room smelled dreadfully of mold and mildew. The problem could be somewhat alleviated by closing the door between the bathroom and the bedroom (which was quite small) and by opening the French doors to the small balcony (a definite plus). The room was Spartan in decoration and small, but it was clean and the maid service was adequate. The location of the hotel is, of course, FANTASTIC, a stone's throw from the Louvre, the Palais Royal, the Tuileries, the Comedie Francaise, and the shoping on the Rue St. Honore. However, I know that, for the price, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since this hotel is a very short walk (like 100 yards) from the Louvre, you can have breakfast or lunch at the Cafe Marly which you can get to by going into the Louvre at the Porte Richelieu and turning into the long corridor overlooking the Cour Napoleon and the Pei Pyramide. It's not cheap, but it's cheaper than the hotel breakfast and you can't beat the view!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yakima, WA
Nov 16, 2010

Normandy Hotel

This was once a grand hotel, but we found our accomidations challenging. Uncontrollable excessive room temperatures, requiring open windows to sleep, provided you could sleep through the traffic noise. Bed was poor. Room did not contain the amenities that were advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions in Paris

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yakima, WA
Nov 16, 2010

Normandy Hotel

This was once a grand hotel, but we found our accomidations challenging. Uncontrollable excessive room temperatures, requiring open windows to sleep, provided you could sleep through the traffic noise. Bed was poor. Room did not contain the amenities that were advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions in Paris

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ad
Dublin
May 26, 2010

below average hotel in good location

This was a 4 star hotel that would only achieve a 1 star rating in Ireland. Its rates did not reflect the standard of the rooms or the lack of facilites available to guests.The hotel did have a good location and the staff were friendly.The rooms were outdated and in severe need of updating. The bathrooms need to be completely gutted and replaced.If I stayed in this hotel with my wife and children I would have been extremely disappointed and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two minutes walk from the Lourve

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paris Tourist
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2010

Location and that's all

Unfotunately, this is not a very likable hotel. The location wins big, but the staff is marginal baring on rude (the desk staff); connoisseur was nice depending on who you got! One was still wreaking of alcohol at 0800. They hotel is in great need of a heavy duty cleaning, we bot got bug bites from the room. It is VERY noisey! BUT, it is convenient and especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room. Also, note there is NOT in room internet service as they purport! Only free non-secure service in the lobby. The food was not very good either. Sorry, I travel a lot and have stayed in this hotel years ago - it's not as nice as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top