$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
126 reviews
Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in... See full review

  • Bianca constant traveler
  • Dec 29, 2014
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kosh
Business
Dublin
Aug 12, 2013

Old but nice

Even though the hotel is still equipped with old furniture. It's very nice and very clean. Staff is great, friendly, helpfull. And the the Hotel is in the best location for walks around city centre.Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geoff Brisbane
Business
Brisbane, Australia
Dec 27, 2013

Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just perfect for being steps away from The Louvre, souvenir shops, dining options, transportation. The airport shuttle they offer us is a great budget option to go home. Old hotel and I thought my allergies would be affected (very allergic person) but I had a good night sleep).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Functionally
Business
Eindhoven, Neitherlands
Mar 20, 2014

Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a morning walk around would be a very impressing experience in visiting such a cultured city, if you live in Normandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broomfield,Colorado
Jan 5, 2011

Normandy Hotel

Friendly,welcoming staff that could help translate and give directions. [...] greeted each person warmly as they came through the door as if it was his home. The staff taking care of the room asked if we were satisfied. The bar was homey with a real fire every night. Great staff! It would be nice to have the breakfast and lunch service extended to each day. The location couldn't have been more convenient to the Louvre Museum, 6 cafes just across the street, many other attractions within walking distance. The Metro/RER 1/2 block away, ATM less than 1/2 block... they arranged our shuttle for the C.D. airport,very reasonable... can you tell we had a great time?!? Being guests of a well run, clean establishment when you are in a foreign country means a lot to a traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Secrets, a restaurant easily accessible via Metro/RER Charles de Gaulle Etoile on 16 avenue De Friedland, Paris. The lamb and the tuna served New Year's evening was indescribable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GoWhiteStripes
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 24, 2009

Normandy Hotel... Great Location!

Everyone was friendly and helpful, Great, Great Location... 1-2 blocks from the Lourve ... many tours leave from this area as well... Definitely don't hesitate to book this hotel in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Aux Trois Mailletz after midnight and go see the show downstairs. Although its 25 to get in and the beers are expensive, you will have a good time. Its located at 56, Rue Galande, 75005 Paris, tel, 01 43 54 00 79 , M°Saint-Michel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
American in Venice
Business
Venice, Italy
Jan 20, 2010

Perfect Location

The location does not get any better, absolutely perfect. It is immediately adjacent to the Louvre and Tuilleries, two metro stations (Louvre-Carousel and Pyramides), and a short walk to the Opera and Galeries Lafayette. The staff were very nice and generous, and spoke perfect English with no hesitation. The consierge was also very helpful, knowledgeable and always available, even very late at night. I just had one of the best weekends of my life, and although the hotel was more of a background player, the convenience of it all was priceless and certainly added to the experience. And yet, I got a smokin' deal on the room! Please note: if you are the typical American who hates anything that is not a carbon-copy of the Wichita Courtyard Marriott you last stayed at, save your breath and go elsewhere. But if you appreciate belle-epoque design and find dated French decor as charming as I do, you will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Roissy bus from the airport into the city. It is cheaper than taxi or metro. (9 euros pp one way). The bus picks up in front of all CDG terminals. Tickets available at the bus stop or even on the bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Business
MT ELIZA
Dec 17, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bianca constant traveler
Business
MT ELIZA
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in the centre of Paris. Step outside the door and you are looking at the Louvre. The Metro, the stores, the restaurants are all within a few seconds walk. The staff are just fabulous and helpful! But as a constant traveler, (I live in 3 different countries) and stay in many different hotels, this hotel is without doubt the best value I have ever experienced. Some travelers review that it is tired and needs TLC.............Ok, I understand that if you are concerned about chipped skirting boards or dated tiles and paint, you may need to stay somewhere modern. But personally, I adore the old style. I felt I was staying in a hotel from an Agatha Christie novel, or a pre WW2 hotel. It is FULL of character, namely the old bar with its wooden paneling, the great winding staircase, like in Gone with the Wind, and the classic wall papers. Perfect for romantic Paris! BUT.............the things that impressed me the most as a frequent traveler were the amenities that are really important in modern times! I have stayed in 5* hotels with rotten WiFi.........The Normandy Hotel WiFi is fast and excellent. Anywhere.... I tried it in various places. The rooms are warm - with excellent cosy heating. The bathrooms have a bath tub and the hot water is hot and strong! The beds are firm and comfortable and most of all, the hotel is CLEAN!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's great value in a prime position in the centre of Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Louvre is a 2 minute walk. The Tuilleries are a 2 minute walk. The famous cafe tea-room Angelina is a 2 minute walk on Rue De Rivoli. Excellent stores and cafes surround the hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Nov 4, 2009

Paris hotel Normandy

I didn't realize that using the hotel phone is VERY expensive, had a bill of 70E. Eeeeek!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colin van uit Engeland
Business
Amsterdam
Dec 16, 2009

short stay ok long stay nae

Thos hotel is ideally located for a short stay in Paris. The rooms are too small for a long stay.Maybe the paint work needs to be updated but i think that adds to it"old world" feel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top