$177 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
119 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenny and Derek
Kansas
Jul 24, 2012

Great Location - Great Staff - Poor Facilities

Location was excellent to Louvre. Staff was very helpful, courteous and spoke English well. Room was "dingy" with stale odor. Opened windows to try to clear the air. Bathtub shower leaked (could not be shut off all the way). Very outdated and in need of painting, new carpet and linens. Beds were not comfortable. Mattress felt very old and overused. Linens were scratchy at best. If you want location this is the hotel but don't expect much. I am accustomed to European standards but this hotel was very dissapointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, AB
Jan 10, 2011

Great location but small rundown rooms!

The lobby is very nice. The room was small and had massive cracks in the walls and ceiling! The bed was very old and not comfortable. There is no room service and the tv only gets one channel in English. The wifi Internet access is limited to the ground floor only, there is no access in the rooms. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining area at the Louvre is excellent for all kinds of international and French food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antvic
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 27, 2010

Tourist trap

All what they say, may have been true, when the hotel was built in the early 1900's, certainly not now. A tourist trap. this hotel is falling apart and is not well kept. During our whole stay the a/c in our room did not worked. Staff hang up the phone everytime we called to complaint and bad mouth in french, when we spoke to them in person. With our little comprehension of french, it didn't take a french national to know what they were saying. We met wonderful french nationals in Paris which were very helpful with directions, etc. Regrettably since we had prepaid our stay, they did not want to give us our money back. Will not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Our only bad experience in our trip to Spain and France.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 5, 2010

Try somewhere else

The room I had at this hotel had a HUGE MAJOR problem. The bathroom (alright in itself) was not ventilated to the outside. The result was that both the bathroom AND the room smelled dreadfully of mold and mildew. The problem could be somewhat alleviated by closing the door between the bathroom and the bedroom (which was quite small) and by opening the French doors to the small balcony (a definite plus). The room was Spartan in decoration and small, but it was clean and the maid service was adequate. The location of the hotel is, of course, FANTASTIC, a stone's throw from the Louvre, the Palais Royal, the Tuileries, the Comedie Francaise, and the shoping on the Rue St. Honore. However, I know that, for the price, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since this hotel is a very short walk (like 100 yards) from the Louvre, you can have breakfast or lunch at the Cafe Marly which you can get to by going into the Louvre at the Porte Richelieu and turning into the long corridor overlooking the Cour Napoleon and the Pei Pyramide. It's not cheap, but it's cheaper than the hotel breakfast and you can't beat the view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yakima, WA
Nov 16, 2010

Normandy Hotel

This was once a grand hotel, but we found our accomidations challenging. Uncontrollable excessive room temperatures, requiring open windows to sleep, provided you could sleep through the traffic noise. Bed was poor. Room did not contain the amenities that were advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions in Paris

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ad
Dublin
May 26, 2010

below average hotel in good location

This was a 4 star hotel that would only achieve a 1 star rating in Ireland. Its rates did not reflect the standard of the rooms or the lack of facilites available to guests.The hotel did have a good location and the staff were friendly.The rooms were outdated and in severe need of updating. The bathrooms need to be completely gutted and replaced.If I stayed in this hotel with my wife and children I would have been extremely disappointed and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two minutes walk from the Lourve

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paris Tourist
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2010

Location and that's all

Unfotunately, this is not a very likable hotel. The location wins big, but the staff is marginal baring on rude (the desk staff); connoisseur was nice depending on who you got! One was still wreaking of alcohol at 0800. They hotel is in great need of a heavy duty cleaning, we bot got bug bites from the room. It is VERY noisey! BUT, it is convenient and especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room. Also, note there is NOT in room internet service as they purport! Only free non-secure service in the lobby. The food was not very good either. Sorry, I travel a lot and have stayed in this hotel years ago - it's not as nice as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2010

Not so good stay in the Normandy Motel

I took my little family to Paris and it's the first time for my 11 year old boy in the City of light. Being french, i studied in this city and i thought i would show them where I grew up. I have been to this Hotel Normandy in the past (in '96 and '99) it WAS great stay. BUT this time, it would compare only to Motel 6 (no disrespect for M6), i guess it is under 'new management', all North african, from the concierge to bell boy to the owner/manager to the service lady who thought that it would be OK to help herself on the food we left in the room. I am surprised that we didn't washing down with the bottle of wine sitting there too. The windows that doesn't lock, the drain plug that get doesn't work and get stuck, the leaking shower, the uncomfortable full size beds, the outdated worn furniture and plumbing(and carpeting) , a loose air conditioning unit in the room are nothing compare to the nice prostitute standing in front of the front of the hotel and coming checking her e-mail and 'calls" in the lobby/business center (only place to get wi-fi and connected).I was basically embarrassed that my family had to witness . Everything was missing in my stay in the Normandy Hotel from quietness to privacy. Besides the location, i Do NOT recommend this place to any traveller who want visit and rest in Paris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alylou
Business
Wisconsin
May 31, 2010

Don't book here

How in the world did [...] rate this hotel a four star? That rating caused us to book, and what a sad surprise when we arrived: filthy room, shabby furniture, broken air conditioner, no iron, coffee maker, glasses, etc. etc. We complained and did get an upgrade which was merely adequate; but it would be foolish to count on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Location is the ONLY good thing

The ONLY good reason to stay at this hotel is the location which is superb. There are literally NO ammenities at the hotel such as coffee in the morning, vending machines, or ice machines. You CAN get breakfast for 12 euros but I just wanted coffee and was charged for breakfast. The hotel staff seemed annoyed when we asked for help with directions. The rooms seemed clean but badly in need of rennovation with peeling paint and wallpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search