$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
120 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ad
Business
Dublin
May 26, 2010

below average hotel in good location

This was a 4 star hotel that would only achieve a 1 star rating in Ireland. Its rates did not reflect the standard of the rooms or the lack of facilites available to guests.The hotel did have a good location and the staff were friendly.The rooms were outdated and in severe need of updating. The bathrooms need to be completely gutted and replaced.If I stayed in this hotel with my wife and children I would have been extremely disappointed and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two minutes walk from the Lourve

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris
Jun 12, 2010

Normandy Hotel

Horrible experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 28, 2010

Unwelcome at the Normandy

Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a very small, shabby room with no air-conditioning. We immediately asked for a room with a/c but were told it was not working throughout the hotel. We explained that a/c was one of the reasons we chose the hotel and were met with blank stares -- there was nothing they could do. I asked a gentleman who was standing nearby if he was staying there - yes - and if he had a/c in his room - yes! The staff were lying to us, our room never had a/c to begin with. [...] After much discussion, we were grudgingly told a room change might be possible the next day if we came to the desk early in the morning to inquire if anyone checked out. We did and were given a slightly better room the next day which at least had a/c. This room had peeling paint, threadbare sheets and broken furniture. To add insult to injury, when we checked out we were told we owed 1.8 euro per person, per night for city taxes. We have done extensive traveling and are familiar with European accommodations and this was by far the worst we have encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Location is the ONLY good thing

The ONLY good reason to stay at this hotel is the location which is superb. There are literally NO ammenities at the hotel such as coffee in the morning, vending machines, or ice machines. You CAN get breakfast for 12 euros but I just wanted coffee and was charged for breakfast. The hotel staff seemed annoyed when we asked for help with directions. The rooms seemed clean but badly in need of rennovation with peeling paint and wallpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NewLeaf1000
Business
IL
May 14, 2012

Less than 1 star

Do NOT stay here. Extremely scary place, but in a great location. I had brown water coming out of my sink, a broken shower, a mirror in the bathroom that had no reflection left.... the hotel is in such a state of disrepair it makes you think twice about staying even though you've already paid the money. Not to mention, street noise.... ALL night. Please stay somewhere else, I am now questioning the 4 and 5 star reviews people gave it, and thinking those could be staff members, because there is absolutely no way anyone could rate this hotel as adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GRutter
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 15, 2012

Disappointing

Room small with no dresser for underwear, nightgown, sweats, shirts and socks. Closet was about 36 inches wide with little room for shirts, blouses, and trousers. Bed was not queen size and extremely hard to sleep on. When taking a shower you had to minimize movement to prevent water from spilling over onto bathroom floor. Supplies were not replenished when used such as cups and toilet tissues. Floor not vacuumed unless you were present when room was cleaned. Toilet tissues were a package of folded paper not on a roll. Since this is suppose to be a four star hotel, why was it so cheap with their customers? You should be more honest when discriping what to expect from a hotel. Hotel amenities were extremely disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel to my family, friends, or enemy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valdi
Business
Copenhagen
Jul 15, 2012

standard of the hotel

Hotel needs a renovation and adaptation to the twenty-first century. No aircondition, bathroom from the 60's and decor and furnishings of the hotel with two stars ... unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenny and Derek
Business
Kansas
Jul 24, 2012

Great Location - Great Staff - Poor Facilities

Location was excellent to Louvre. Staff was very helpful, courteous and spoke English well. Room was "dingy" with stale odor. Opened windows to try to clear the air. Bathtub shower leaked (could not be shut off all the way). Very outdated and in need of painting, new carpet and linens. Beds were not comfortable. Mattress felt very old and overused. Linens were scratchy at best. If you want location this is the hotel but don't expect much. I am accustomed to European standards but this hotel was very dissapointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex well traveled
Business
texas
Jul 31, 2012

terrible.

no wifi in the rooms like they claimed, bed was hard as a brick, bathroom door didn't close, rude and unhelpful staff, walls paper thin, claim to be non smoking but the whole hotel smelt of smoke, extremely hot, overall absolutely terrible. They had a "fan" in the room but all it did was circulate the hot air throughout the room. This room would have been nice 100 years ago, they need to update their hotel, the lobby is very nice, but then you get to the room and you are like "really?". Even the wall paper was peeling off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K. Jo.
Business
California
Aug 25, 2012

Would not stay here again...

Two rooms out of our 3 room party were without air, and it was HOT . We happened to get a room with air, after complaining. The refrigerator in the rooms did not work, the carpet is old and the tv did not work for the last two days....Internet is only down stairs in the lobby in a certain area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top