$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
186 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
risto
HGelsinki Finland
Nov 5, 2012

old traditonal hotel

The hotel is well located and radiate old traditions. Unfortunately during our stay 20-27.10.2012 there was a major streetwork in front of the hotel ja outside wall reparations in the court side. Also our room needed some refreshing work. Otherwise a pleasant experience, which we are ready to try again next time in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
scottsdale,az
Jul 9, 2010

Hotel Normandy

great location close to the louvre, all kinds of eating place, convenient to metro and very helpful concierge. ventilation was the biggest problem. no working fan and if you open the windows very noisy. i wish they can update a littele because it has the potential to be a four star but not there yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all kinds within walking distance

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
scottsdale,az
Jul 9, 2010

Hotel Normandy

great location close to the louvre, all kinds of eating place, convenient to metro and very helpful concierge. ventilation was the biggest problem. no working fan and if you open the windows very noisy. i wish they can update a littele because it has the potential to be a four star but not there yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all kinds within walking distance

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jul 8, 2010

Great Location but....

Very disappointing after the Grand Kras in Amsterdam. Location very good however with the Louvre nearby. Beautiful gardens and Seine River nearly also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Jul 8, 2010

Great Location but....

Very disappointing after the Grand Kras in Amsterdam. Location very good however with the Louvre nearby. Beautiful gardens and Seine River nearly also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2forParis
San Diego, Ca
Jun 29, 2010

Normandy Hotel

Overall: 2 star hotel in a 4 star location if you stay in the "regular" rooms We travelled to Paris in June 2010 for a 9 day vacation. It was my wife and I with no children. We were welcomed to the hotel efficiently, English was spoken adequetly by the staff, and the concierge offered to take our bags to our room. Upon entering the room we found a rather small room with an attached toilet, shower and sink bathroom. The floor in the room squeaked and was slightly unlevel, sloping from the head of the rock hard bed towards the feet. There were several burned out bulbs in the room as well as a crooked painting on the wall. The wall was covered with peeling wallpaper, and the television had 12 total chanels, one of which was Paris 24. This is their news channel, and the only one in English. The Bathroom had all required utilities except for washclothes. If you regularly use a wash cloth, I recommend bringing your own. The shower leaked and the drains were a little slow, but the mold in the grout around the tiles wasn't too bad, and there was only one chip in the porcelain covering the cast iron tub. The paint in the overhead was peeling due to no ventilation system for the shower. We did not request an upgraded room as we were fine with the situation for sleeping, but I did see one of the suites, and they appeared very nice. There was quite a bit of street noise, and the rooms did tend to bleed noise into eachother, so if you are looking to party every night. your neighbors may not appreciate it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2forParis
San Diego, Ca
Jun 29, 2010

Normandy Hotel

Overall: 2 star hotel in a 4 star location if you stay in the "regular" rooms We travelled to Paris in June 2010 for a 9 day vacation. It was my wife and I with no children. We were welcomed to the hotel efficiently, English was spoken adequetly by the staff, and the concierge offered to take our bags to our room. Upon entering the room we found a rather small room with an attached toilet, shower and sink bathroom. The floor in the room squeaked and was slightly unlevel, sloping from the head of the rock hard bed towards the feet. There were several burned out bulbs in the room as well as a crooked painting on the wall. The wall was covered with peeling wallpaper, and the television had 12 total chanels, one of which was Paris 24. This is their news channel, and the only one in English. The Bathroom had all required utilities except for washclothes. If you regularly use a wash cloth, I recommend bringing your own. The shower leaked and the drains were a little slow, but the mold in the grout around the tiles wasn't too bad, and there was only one chip in the porcelain covering the cast iron tub. The paint in the overhead was peeling due to no ventilation system for the shower. We did not request an upgraded room as we were fine with the situation for sleeping, but I did see one of the suites, and they appeared very nice. There was quite a bit of street noise, and the rooms did tend to bleed noise into eachother, so if you are looking to party every night. your neighbors may not appreciate it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bath
Jun 28, 2010

Lovely and great location

Absolutely cracking location, decent service, well equipped room, but our room wasn't quite as the brochure. Lovely proper smart hotel which completed the holiday for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Jun 25, 2010

Mes vacances a Paris

The staff in general (always one or two not so nice persons but this happens anywhere)super nice and helpful.I speak some french but when I needed to verify very important information (such as addresses and train stations to travel at certain specific hours to other cities) I could speak to some employees of the hotel in English and even in Spanish, which is my first language (a very nice concierge that works there spoke perfectly in Spanish). The hotel is a very old building (part of Paris' enchantment, which I love) pretty well conserved and specially (and super more important to me)the room was very well mantained,cleaned everyday and with everything we needed available.I asked for some not tipical things such as a coffee when the restaurant wasn't open yet and very late one night for some salt and the staff always solved my needs in a gentle and timely manner. The price I paid for what I got was very reasonable and the location of the hotel is superb. If I go to Paris again I'll stay again in the Hotel Normandy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Le Musset just across the street for example and other good restaurants or cafes in Rue Rivoli

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Good location, depending on the price

We know this hotel for many years. It is at this point 4-star by the skin of its teeth. Excellent location, spacious rooms that are worn out looking -- our floor was totally uneven. Good bathroom. Staff just can't be bothered, which is OK if you know Paris already and are independent. The E12 Euro breakfast buffet is a good deal. Survey question on 'value' depends on room cost at time time. At $250, as this time, a good deal. Value and dining options -- answer is N/A. Survey needs to add N/A as option !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Good location, depending on the price

We know this hotel for many years. It is at this point 4-star by the skin of its teeth. Excellent location, spacious rooms that are worn out looking -- our floor was totally uneven. Good bathroom. Staff just can't be bothered, which is OK if you know Paris already and are independent. The E12 Euro breakfast buffet is a good deal. Survey question on 'value' depends on room cost at time time. At $250, as this time, a good deal. Value and dining options -- answer is N/A. Survey needs to add N/A as option !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top