$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis,MN
Mar 20, 2010

Fantastic location

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. You could not ask for a better location although it is somewhat noisy. The hotel is dated but charming. The Italian restaurant across the street is fantastic! I am very happy we did'nt listen to the reviews on this hotel. I would definately recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weston Fl
Feb 23, 2010

VERY NICE

It was really nice and cosy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Louvre,Opera,Tullieries

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SendMeAnywhere
Business
New York
Feb 23, 2010

OK, for an OK price

Bathroom was small; rugs and drapes were a bit worn, but a very good location and the Sunday rate is quite fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right along the shopping strip next to the Louvre.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coylepeninsula
Business
houston, texas
Feb 18, 2010

The Invasion of Normandy (Hotel)

This hotel had an amazing location, about two blocks from the Louvre. The lobby was nice enough, as was the front desk help. The concierge was particularly helpful and patience with my terrible French. The room itself was on the small side, but the windows opened to a nice side street and there was a balcony of sorts from which I could view the Palais Royale. No cups in the bathroom; no bedframe (mattresses on the floor); the bed had no bedspread. Breakfast buffet (12 euros) was decent, but not great. I paid $150USD a night, and still think it was worth it even though the hotel has seen some better days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vin & Maree Restaurant was great. Don't let the decor put you off....lighting is too bright, looks like a former chinese restaurant inside. The food was amazing...I had the escargot and the scallops, each of which was great. And the side of mashed potatoes was simple but out of this world (butter and cream can work wonders).

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Feb 11, 2010

Perfect for our needs

The hotel's location was a definite plus for us, as it was on a convenient metro line with buses nearby. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size and clean. While it's true that the hotel is aging, that was not as important as the other features that made our stay a positive one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Finland
Feb 8, 2010

Central location

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. Nice clean rooms (quite large also) Location very near to Louvre and Garnier Opera.. Staff was very friendly. Few metro lines close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Think twice if to plan to go "Cafe Ruc" restaurant. Food was very good, but specially female staff was very rude.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Finland
Feb 8, 2010

Central location

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. Nice clean rooms (quite large also) Location very near to Louvre and Garnier Opera.. Staff was very friendly. Few metro lines close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Think twice if to plan to go "Cafe Ruc" restaurant. Food was very good, but specially female staff was very rude.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 6, 2010

Good Deal but a little musty in the room

Great location, very small room, not a place to stay in the summer as there is no airconditioning. The carpet, walls, towels etc are very worn down. Nice staff and front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
American in Venice
Business
Venice, Italy
Jan 20, 2010

Perfect Location

The location does not get any better, absolutely perfect. It is immediately adjacent to the Louvre and Tuilleries, two metro stations (Louvre-Carousel and Pyramides), and a short walk to the Opera and Galeries Lafayette. The staff were very nice and generous, and spoke perfect English with no hesitation. The consierge was also very helpful, knowledgeable and always available, even very late at night. I just had one of the best weekends of my life, and although the hotel was more of a background player, the convenience of it all was priceless and certainly added to the experience. And yet, I got a smokin' deal on the room! Please note: if you are the typical American who hates anything that is not a carbon-copy of the Wichita Courtyard Marriott you last stayed at, save your breath and go elsewhere. But if you appreciate belle-epoque design and find dated French decor as charming as I do, you will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Roissy bus from the airport into the city. It is cheaper than taxi or metro. (9 euros pp one way). The bus picks up in front of all CDG terminals. Tickets available at the bus stop or even on the bus.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Dec 27, 2009

Quiet corner in heart of city

We were a little nervous about booking this hotel after reading some other reviews but the location and price were right, so we thought, why not? Boy are we glad we did. (Note: We got upgraded to a superior room for the same price as a regular room due to low travel season so our stay is based on the superior room). The room was large, with large bath, bedroom and sitting room. We were in Paris during a cold snap and the room was always a warm and toasty respite from hours of walking and sight-seeing. The location could truly not be beat if you want to be in the heart of Paris. The view out of the window was into a small courtyard and nothing to write home about, but it was quiet at night and paired with the comfortable bed-made for good sleeping. It is an older hotel so there was a little peeling paint in the bathroom and the furniture had some nicks, but overall it was a great experience for us. My only concern might be staying when the weather is warm-the A/C unit was a large contraption in the corner that when fired up for curiousity's sake was pretty loud. If you don't want to spend alot of your trip on the Metro and enjoy staying in a historical building-I highly recommend the Normandy Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top