$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Red Wine Sipper
Couples
Waxhaw, NC
Aug 19, 2012

Perfect mix of historical setting and cleanliness.

We loved our room. While it wasn't as perfect as you might would find in a U.S. hotel chain, it had great character with aged furnishings and a twelve foot ceiling. To our surprise, the room included a mobile air conditioner unit which only produced results equal to a fan. But, it didn't matter because we could open our balcony window/doors for ventilation and it was all perfect. We spent some evenings just sitting by the open window sipping glasses of wine. Wonderful! Also, our bed linens were changed everyday! We didn't ask for this, but we were so pampered to crawl into crisp, fresh white linens each night. The bathroom was complete with tub and granite counter top and shower surround. Fortunately, we learned before our trip that washcloths aren't used/provided in France, so we packed our own and were prepared for this. Staying at this hotel totally completed our Paris experience! (It's location is right in the middle of everything too.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buy a metro pass to use during your stay. As long as you can walk, you can get everywhere. Learn some basic French before you go and use it when appropriate. An attempt at kindness on the traveller's part goes a long way for a postive trip experience.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paris Tourist
Family
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2010

Location and that's all

Unfotunately, this is not a very likable hotel. The location wins big, but the staff is marginal baring on rude (the desk staff); connoisseur was nice depending on who you got! One was still wreaking of alcohol at 0800. They hotel is in great need of a heavy duty cleaning, we bot got bug bites from the room. It is VERY noisey! BUT, it is convenient and especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room. Also, note there is NOT in room internet service as they purport! Only free non-secure service in the lobby. The food was not very good either. Sorry, I travel a lot and have stayed in this hotel years ago - it's not as nice as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alylou
Business
Wisconsin
May 31, 2010

Don't book here

How in the world did [...] rate this hotel a four star? That rating caused us to book, and what a sad surprise when we arrived: filthy room, shabby furniture, broken air conditioner, no iron, coffee maker, glasses, etc. etc. We complained and did get an upgrade which was merely adequate; but it would be foolish to count on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ad
Friends
Dublin
May 26, 2010

below average hotel in good location

This was a 4 star hotel that would only achieve a 1 star rating in Ireland. Its rates did not reflect the standard of the rooms or the lack of facilites available to guests.The hotel did have a good location and the staff were friendly.The rooms were outdated and in severe need of updating. The bathrooms need to be completely gutted and replaced.If I stayed in this hotel with my wife and children I would have been extremely disappointed and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two minutes walk from the Lourve

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ad
Friends
Dublin
May 26, 2010

below average hotel in good location

This was a 4 star hotel that would only achieve a 1 star rating in Ireland. Its rates did not reflect the standard of the rooms or the lack of facilites available to guests.The hotel did have a good location and the staff were friendly.The rooms were outdated and in severe need of updating. The bathrooms need to be completely gutted and replaced.If I stayed in this hotel with my wife and children I would have been extremely disappointed and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two minutes walk from the Lourve

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Oostende, Belgium
May 20, 2010

Great location, poor accommodations

The room was a great size, but there was nothing in the room (i.e. cups for tea, glasses for water, etc.). Compared to another hotel that we stayed at in Paris, this one was far more expensive but lacked all the details. Being an American, I am used to ammenities, but having lived over in Europe for two years now I am used to the size and comforts of rooms in Europe...and this one fell short!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the sights of Paris are just out the front door.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Us
Couples
Birmingham
May 3, 2010

Typical tradional french hotel

Wonderful location, pleasant staff, large room (superior). A bit down at heal, but nice and clean. You have to hunt hard for reasonably priced lunch/dinner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket and bakers along rue saint honare for picnic food. Nearby cafe (royal?) for breakfast

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Us
Couples
Birmingham
May 3, 2010

Typical tradional french hotel

Wonderful location, pleasant staff, large room (superior). A bit down at heal, but nice and clean. You have to hunt hard for reasonably priced lunch/dinner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket and bakers along rue saint honare for picnic food. Nearby cafe (royal?) for breakfast

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ARP
Couples
Narberth, Pa
May 1, 2010

Charming and Great Location

This hotel was old European Charm. It is in a great location...walking distance to the Louvres, Tuilleiries Gardens, La Place De Madeleine and St. Honore which has wonderful restaurants and upscale shopping. There was a full breakfast available for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Restaurants near the St. Honore

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danish Traveler
Couples
Copenhagen, Denmark
Apr 9, 2010

Perfect location

The location is perfect. 200 meters from the Louvre. Big rooms and big bathrooms. Nice bed. Rooms have the typical flavor of Paris. Very romantic but also incl. a few cracks in the walls and loose tapestry. But make no mistake. Nice hotel with a perfect location. Can recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tucson
Apr 6, 2010

great location, great views

wonderful area, easy access to shopping,attractions, eating, metros, ...fabulous views of Paris rooftops from our room and balcony ..wish there was wi fi and coffee maker in rooms, our tv had sound problems the entire week of our visit and was not repaired although we reported it on day one, wi fi in lobby also had problems for our last few days and i had to go across the street to Starbucks( quelle horreur!) to use the internet ... noisy workers strike in lobby one morning,bar closed for 2 days as a result... rooms and bathrooms although very clean were worn and could use a facelift...most staff was friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful cafe across the street from hotel..the BEST salade nicoise ever!

Back to menu Return to top