$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 28, 2010

Unwelcome at the Normandy

Upon arrival at the hotel we were given a very small, shabby room with no air-conditioning. We immediately asked for a room with a/c but were told it was not working throughout the hotel. We explained that a/c was one of the reasons we chose the hotel and were met with blank stares -- there was nothing they could do. I asked a gentleman who was standing nearby if he was staying there - yes - and if he had a/c in his room - yes! The staff were lying to us, our room never had a/c to begin with. [...] After much discussion, we were grudgingly told a room change might be possible the next day if we came to the desk early in the morning to inquire if anyone checked out. We did and were given a slightly better room the next day which at least had a/c. This room had peeling paint, threadbare sheets and broken furniture. To add insult to injury, when we checked out we were told we owed 1.8 euro per person, per night for city taxes. We have done extensive traveling and are familiar with European accommodations and this was by far the worst we have encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond va
Jul 20, 2010

hotel normandy

The staff was freindly. the location was great. the room was spacious. But...The hot tub didn't work and there was mildew in the bathroom. Overall, not bad but not four star by any stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to another part of town to eat. the restraunts here are expensive, low quality, and touristy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SunnyNYC
Business
NYC
Jul 17, 2010

Great location but...

What a Great hotel! This hotel is so good that it will make you just dieing to explore the City. However, please make sure you come back to your single room ( if you booked a single room) dead tired so you can just pass out without an air-condition. This hotel is a green environment hotel its so green they do not use a shower curtain well at least in my bathroom there was none… This hotel wants you to feel like home or at least own a home… too bad I did not travel with my tool box so I could not fix the bathroom door handel… This hotel remind me my childhood when I was growing up in the 3rd world country where I learned how to endure and overcome the difficulty times… This hotel educated me on hotels reating system. I have been worked in many different hotels in different countries… Overall, the hotel has a nice location. That I truly mean it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If walking is not a problem for u ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackii M
Business
Leesburg, FL
Jul 16, 2010

NORMANDY HOTEL

The Hotel is very close to the Louve and the Seine, but I arrived in the heat of summer and there was no a/c. The bed had a dip in it and was hard, and the concierge was not particularly friendly. So it's good for convenience sake, I got a good rate, but I have to ask whether it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great little brasseries around the hotel. The food was good and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2010

Great Location Terrible Hotel

Terrible stay. AC did not work, AC control panel was hanging on its wires and separated from the unit, was told an AC technician would service the unit but AC was never fixed. Complained late in the evening after returning to hotel and was moved to a stuffy room with poor AC. Had to move the portable bed myself (for daughter) to the new room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2010

Normandy Hotel

We arrived in 90 degree heat on July 2 and I assumed there would be air conditioning as this was a "4 star" property. There is no AC. Our room was on the 6th floor. It was so hot we slept on top of the sheets and took multi showers. Opening the windows gave us air - but the drone of motorcycles and police sirens as well as the 3 am garbage trucks left us in zombie mode.The bed was very low in height as it was supported by a box spring 6 inch high that was on the floor. Closet was a small old style wood wardrobe. Business center was one old computer which seemed to be on dial up mode - I gave up on trying to send an email home - it took too long. Its desk drawer was filled with used scrap paper and old candy bar wrappers apparently never emptied by the staff. The bathroom was old tile and the paint was peeling off. This place barely gets a 2 star for location. It was a let down. Breakfast was not included. I found several alternative B & B not far from here in the 1st A that were on quieter streets. Clearly this hotel survives by the influx of travelers by tour bus operators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
scottsdale,az
Jul 9, 2010

Hotel Normandy

great location close to the louvre, all kinds of eating place, convenient to metro and very helpful concierge. ventilation was the biggest problem. no working fan and if you open the windows very noisy. i wish they can update a littele because it has the potential to be a four star but not there yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

all kinds within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
York, PA
Jul 8, 2010

Great Location but....

Very disappointing after the Grand Kras in Amsterdam. Location very good however with the Louvre nearby. Beautiful gardens and Seine River nearly also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2forParis
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jun 29, 2010

Normandy Hotel

Overall: 2 star hotel in a 4 star location if you stay in the "regular" rooms We travelled to Paris in June 2010 for a 9 day vacation. It was my wife and I with no children. We were welcomed to the hotel efficiently, English was spoken adequetly by the staff, and the concierge offered to take our bags to our room. Upon entering the room we found a rather small room with an attached toilet, shower and sink bathroom. The floor in the room squeaked and was slightly unlevel, sloping from the head of the rock hard bed towards the feet. There were several burned out bulbs in the room as well as a crooked painting on the wall. The wall was covered with peeling wallpaper, and the television had 12 total chanels, one of which was Paris 24. This is their news channel, and the only one in English. The Bathroom had all required utilities except for washclothes. If you regularly use a wash cloth, I recommend bringing your own. The shower leaked and the drains were a little slow, but the mold in the grout around the tiles wasn't too bad, and there was only one chip in the porcelain covering the cast iron tub. The paint in the overhead was peeling due to no ventilation system for the shower. We did not request an upgraded room as we were fine with the situation for sleeping, but I did see one of the suites, and they appeared very nice. There was quite a bit of street noise, and the rooms did tend to bleed noise into eachother, so if you are looking to party every night. your neighbors may not appreciate it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bath
Jun 28, 2010

Lovely and great location

Absolutely cracking location, decent service, well equipped room, but our room wasn't quite as the brochure. Lovely proper smart hotel which completed the holiday for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top