$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
York, PA
Jul 8, 2010

Great Location but....

Very disappointing after the Grand Kras in Amsterdam. Location very good however with the Louvre nearby. Beautiful gardens and Seine River nearly also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2forParis
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jun 29, 2010

Normandy Hotel

Overall: 2 star hotel in a 4 star location if you stay in the "regular" rooms We travelled to Paris in June 2010 for a 9 day vacation. It was my wife and I with no children. We were welcomed to the hotel efficiently, English was spoken adequetly by the staff, and the concierge offered to take our bags to our room. Upon entering the room we found a rather small room with an attached toilet, shower and sink bathroom. The floor in the room squeaked and was slightly unlevel, sloping from the head of the rock hard bed towards the feet. There were several burned out bulbs in the room as well as a crooked painting on the wall. The wall was covered with peeling wallpaper, and the television had 12 total chanels, one of which was Paris 24. This is their news channel, and the only one in English. The Bathroom had all required utilities except for washclothes. If you regularly use a wash cloth, I recommend bringing your own. The shower leaked and the drains were a little slow, but the mold in the grout around the tiles wasn't too bad, and there was only one chip in the porcelain covering the cast iron tub. The paint in the overhead was peeling due to no ventilation system for the shower. We did not request an upgraded room as we were fine with the situation for sleeping, but I did see one of the suites, and they appeared very nice. There was quite a bit of street noise, and the rooms did tend to bleed noise into eachother, so if you are looking to party every night. your neighbors may not appreciate it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bath
Jun 28, 2010

Lovely and great location

Absolutely cracking location, decent service, well equipped room, but our room wasn't quite as the brochure. Lovely proper smart hotel which completed the holiday for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bath
Jun 28, 2010

Lovely and great location

Absolutely cracking location, decent service, well equipped room, but our room wasn't quite as the brochure. Lovely proper smart hotel which completed the holiday for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jun 23, 2010

Good location, depending on the price

We know this hotel for many years. It is at this point 4-star by the skin of its teeth. Excellent location, spacious rooms that are worn out looking -- our floor was totally uneven. Good bathroom. Staff just can't be bothered, which is OK if you know Paris already and are independent. The E12 Euro breakfast buffet is a good deal. Survey question on 'value' depends on room cost at time time. At $250, as this time, a good deal. Value and dining options -- answer is N/A. Survey needs to add N/A as option !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 14, 2010

Skip this hotel - really 1 star

Correct rating would be -4 star. Nothing good about this hotel. I want my money back. Really old hotel and really bad bad BAD staff. Do not pick this hotel just because of the location. You could sleep right outside the hotel for free if location is really important. Internet is free only in lobby (requires credit card in room). Internet connection is really bad. Bed was as hard as wooden board. One morning went down and informing the front desk at 7 AM that there is no hot water in room. At 9:30 they were still working on it and had no idea when it will be fixed. I checkout without taking the shower. No fan, No A/C, room can get very hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money. Skip this hotel if you really want 4 star quality. Do not book this hotel just for the location.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jakesnake
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jun 5, 2010

Location, location, location

The location is absolutely perfect.Very close to subway, taxi and bus stops. Within reasonable walking distance of virtually every major Paris attraction except Montmartre. Within 50 feet of several cafes, bistros and Brassiere's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Evening dining starts extremely late by US standards. Most Parisians don't sit down until 8:30 or 9:00 PM on weeknights and even later on weekends.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 2, 2010

Not so good stay in the Normandy Motel

I took my little family to Paris and it's the first time for my 11 year old boy in the City of light. Being french, i studied in this city and i thought i would show them where I grew up. I have been to this Hotel Normandy in the past (in '96 and '99) it WAS great stay. BUT this time, it would compare only to Motel 6 (no disrespect for M6), i guess it is under 'new management', all North african, from the concierge to bell boy to the owner/manager to the service lady who thought that it would be OK to help herself on the food we left in the room. I am surprised that we didn't washing down with the bottle of wine sitting there too. The windows that doesn't lock, the drain plug that get doesn't work and get stuck, the leaking shower, the uncomfortable full size beds, the outdated worn furniture and plumbing(and carpeting) , a loose air conditioning unit in the room are nothing compare to the nice prostitute standing in front of the front of the hotel and coming checking her e-mail and 'calls" in the lobby/business center (only place to get wi-fi and connected).I was basically embarrassed that my family had to witness . Everything was missing in my stay in the Normandy Hotel from quietness to privacy. Besides the location, i Do NOT recommend this place to any traveller who want visit and rest in Paris

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warsaw, Poland
Jun 2, 2010

Standard - a big disappointment !

We have travelled with my wife for a romantic weekend. It was romantic, but outside the hotel. I have never stayed in a 4 stars hotel with such low room standard! Old equippment, needs renovation. The bathroom door won't close so I had to put the chair to stop them opening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le First - a great gourmet restaurant. Recommended for a romantic dinner.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paris Tourist
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2010

Location and that's all

Unfotunately, this is not a very likable hotel. The location wins big, but the staff is marginal baring on rude (the desk staff); connoisseur was nice depending on who you got! One was still wreaking of alcohol at 0800. They hotel is in great need of a heavy duty cleaning, we bot got bug bites from the room. It is VERY noisey! BUT, it is convenient and especially if you don't plan to spend much time in the room. Also, note there is NOT in room internet service as they purport! Only free non-secure service in the lobby. The food was not very good either. Sorry, I travel a lot and have stayed in this hotel years ago - it's not as nice as before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top