Normandy Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$140
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Mar 11, 2016 Check-out: Mar 14, 2016

Great location but small rundown rooms!

Would not recommend Mon, Jan 10, 2011
The lobby is very nice. The room was small and had massive cracks in the walls and ceiling! The bed was very old and not comfortable. There is no room service and the tv only gets one channel in English. The wifi Internet access is limited to the ground floor only, there is no access in the rooms. I do not recommend this hotel.

Dining

The dining area at the Louvre is excellent for all kinds of international and French food.

| Calgary, AB Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Normandy Hotel

Would recommend Wed, Jan 5, 2011
Friendly,welcoming staff that could help translate and give directions. [...] greeted each person warmly as they came through the door as if it was his home. The staff taking care of the room asked if we were satisfied. The bar was homey with a real fire every night. Great staff! It would be nice to have the breakfast and lunch service extended to each day. The location couldn't have been more convenient to the Louvre Museum, 6 cafes just across the street, many other attractions within walking distance. The Metro/RER 1/2 block away, ATM less than 1/2 block... they arranged our shuttle for the C.D. airport,very reasonable... can you tell we had a great time?!? Being guests of a well run, clean establishment when you are in a foreign country means a lot to a traveler.

Dining

Le Secrets, a restaurant easily accessible via Metro/RER Charles de Gaulle Etoile on 16 avenue De Friedland, Paris. The lamb and the tuna served New Year's evening was indescribable.

| Broomfield,Colorado Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Friendly and centered hotel

Would recommend Tue, Jan 4, 2011
The hotel is a great place to crash in.Not very fancy or luxurious, but has the necessary facilities.Breakfast was pretty good [...].Hotel is located a block away from a merto station.

Shopping hint

Take the M1 line to "La Defanse" and go to the 4 seasons shopping mall.

| Haifa, Israel Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Not 4 Star, but Charming

Would not recommend Mon, Nov 29, 2010
Hotel is situated in an amazing area. Great food, next the the Louvre, etc. However, the rooms are quite dated, as are the accommodations. If you enjoy sleeping on the floor you may find the bed more than adequate (ie it was hard as a rock) the rooms have a charming floor to ceiling rose pink wallpaper. The staff is very accommodating and knowledgable thought. If you enjoy staying in a Pre-WW2 hotel this is the one.. If not, stay in a hotel that posts accurate photos on their website, and check travel review websites before staying here

Dining

Eating escargot on sea salt across the street is amazing!

| New York, NY Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Normandy Hotel

Would not recommend Tue, Nov 16, 2010
This was once a grand hotel, but we found our accomidations challenging. Uncontrollable excessive room temperatures, requiring open windows to sleep, provided you could sleep through the traffic noise. Bed was poor. Room did not contain the amenities that were advertised.

Attractions

Many attractions in Paris

| Yakima, WA Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Our Third Stay at the Normandy Hotel

Would not recommend Thu, Nov 11, 2010
Paris is our city of choice to introduce our seven grandkids to art, history,architecture, culture, food and fun. In planning our future trips we will no longer consider the Normandy Hotel. Given that the hotel location cannot be beat,the decrepit atmosphere of the guest rooms(we were in room 210 and there was actually a hole in the wall near the toilet) coupled with the poor quality of the conceirge the total atmosphere negates the value of the location. My husband and I are seasoned travelers. We have never experienced such indifference by a conceirge in any hotel in any country. Imagine, before retiring to our room for the night asking a conceriege the anticipated weather for the following day and receiving a reply "What, how can I tell you that?" Does he not have access to a newspaper, radio or internet?

Money saver

Around the corner there are one or two opportunities to purchase bagettes or baguette with cheese etc. for breakfast without having to go the brasseries across the street where you will have to pay considerably more for the same.

| Florida Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Location, Tired Facilities

Would recommend Mon, Oct 25, 2010
This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Attractions

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

| Princeton, NJ Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

location,location,location

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 11, 2010
[...] We were sent to a very small awful room and treated as if we were lucky to get that. We went up to the room and found it did NOT have two beds. We spoke to a friendlier desk person and got a room with two beds. The room was clean but small and very shabby. We were told to come back Sunday morning to see if we could move to a better room. I went to Paris to see the sights not to fuss with changing rooms. This mixup was entirely the hotel's fault. [...] The Normandy Hotel does not know which end is up. Also, there was never anyone at the front desk or consierge desk when we returned at night. ANYONE could walk in and up to any room without being noticed. Great for a week when the terror alert was RED. There were a couple friendly staff but most were rude and incompetent. Certainly NOT 4 star maybe 2 and those stars are for the location alone.

| Buffalo, NY Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Variable experience

Would not recommend Thu, Sep 23, 2010
1. I arrived and was given my room. It was in the back of hotel, up 3 separate flights of steep stairs ( w/ no ascenseur option!). I heard other people dragging their luggage up and down during my 4-day stay! It was VERY logistically difficult. They had nobody to offer to help I later noticed guests going up and down an ascenseur in the front of the hotel, so they obviously have "normal rooms" to which you may get your luggage up and down. 2. They kindly booked me a Navette, 36 hrs in advance, to get to CDG airport ( took an 8E deposit, and rest to driver). In the morning,I waited 5,10,15,20,30 mins for it to show up! The Concierge just shrugged and got exasperated: "Madame I cannot control them". Then I tried Plan B for a taxi (I was desperate and would pay anything!). The Concierge told me they were all busy... I tried to get him to refund my Navette deposit, and it took about 15 mins!! He claimed that he had called a taxi, but 15 mins later, nothing. At this point I was in serious jeopardy of missing my flight. I was saved by a French/Turkish chauffeur.... he obs. this, talked w/ me, and finally hailed me a cab and said "Just get into it, and take it!" Since I hadn't counted on a 60E trip to CDG, I only had 58E. My Normandy Hotel Concierge ( above-mentioned) refused to exchange a 10 USD bill for Euros. So, I prayed that my cab didn't exceed my E. (I just made it, and just made my flight as well). High stress ending to the great city of Paris. Stay somewhere else while you're there - it really is a wonderful place, with wonderful people. And thanks to my blessed Turkish/French chauffeur!

| Boulder,CO Singles

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Steps from the Louvre!

Would recommend Wed, Sep 15, 2010
The location couldn't have been better! We were steps from the Louvre, and a short walk to the Tuilleries, the Seine, Place de la Concorde, Opera House, etc. The daily maid service did a pretty good job. The room itself was clearly in need of refurbishing. The bed was comfortable. Requested wake up calls came at the wrong time or not at all. Carlos, the Concierge, was fabulous and saved us time on all we did. Although the staff were very friendly, they did seem understaffed. We did not get into the room on time. They were running late.

Money saver

Stay away from Paris Shuttle (parishuttle.com)! We had paid in advance for a shared with other travelers trip from CDG Airport and a private return trip. The initial trip from the airport took over 3 hours because the driver didn't know how to get to certain addresses. For the private return trip (for which we'd paid twice as much to ensure we got to the airport on time), the driver never showed up. We had to flag down a taxi. Although Paris Shuttle told me on the phone that they would refund our money, they haven't done it.

| Hartford, CT Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5