$156 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
risto
Couples
HGelsinki Finland
Nov 5, 2012

old traditonal hotel

The hotel is well located and radiate old traditions. Unfortunately during our stay 20-27.10.2012 there was a major streetwork in front of the hotel ja outside wall reparations in the court side. Also our room needed some refreshing work. Otherwise a pleasant experience, which we are ready to try again next time in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Atlanta, GA
Feb 19, 2011

Fantastic Location - Wonderful Staff!

This is an old old building with great charm. Expect old and smaller rooms, but the location is a 2-minute walk to the Louvre! All kinds of places to eat immediately around hotel. If you want to waste no time seeing the sights, this is the place to be. Price is good for such a location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WESTON
Feb 15, 2011

NORMANDY

Nice location,clean,really bad carpet on the stairs and only few channels working on the TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Calgary, AB
Jan 10, 2011

Great location but small rundown rooms!

The lobby is very nice. The room was small and had massive cracks in the walls and ceiling! The bed was very old and not comfortable. There is no room service and the tv only gets one channel in English. The wifi Internet access is limited to the ground floor only, there is no access in the rooms. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining area at the Louvre is excellent for all kinds of international and French food.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Broomfield,Colorado
Jan 5, 2011

Normandy Hotel

Friendly,welcoming staff that could help translate and give directions. [...] greeted each person warmly as they came through the door as if it was his home. The staff taking care of the room asked if we were satisfied. The bar was homey with a real fire every night. Great staff! It would be nice to have the breakfast and lunch service extended to each day. The location couldn't have been more convenient to the Louvre Museum, 6 cafes just across the street, many other attractions within walking distance. The Metro/RER 1/2 block away, ATM less than 1/2 block... they arranged our shuttle for the C.D. airport,very reasonable... can you tell we had a great time?!? Being guests of a well run, clean establishment when you are in a foreign country means a lot to a traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Secrets, a restaurant easily accessible via Metro/RER Charles de Gaulle Etoile on 16 avenue De Friedland, Paris. The lamb and the tuna served New Year's evening was indescribable.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buchman
Couples
Haifa, Israel
Jan 4, 2011

Friendly and centered hotel

The hotel is a great place to crash in.Not very fancy or luxurious, but has the necessary facilities.Breakfast was pretty good [...].Hotel is located a block away from a merto station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the M1 line to "La Defanse" and go to the 4 seasons shopping mall.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trumpedaces
Couples
New York, NY
Nov 29, 2010

Not 4 Star, but Charming

Hotel is situated in an amazing area. Great food, next the the Louvre, etc. However, the rooms are quite dated, as are the accommodations. If you enjoy sleeping on the floor you may find the bed more than adequate (ie it was hard as a rock) the rooms have a charming floor to ceiling rose pink wallpaper. The staff is very accommodating and knowledgable thought. If you enjoy staying in a Pre-WW2 hotel this is the one.. If not, stay in a hotel that posts accurate photos on their website, and check travel review websites before staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating escargot on sea salt across the street is amazing!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Yakima, WA
Nov 16, 2010

Normandy Hotel

This was once a grand hotel, but we found our accomidations challenging. Uncontrollable excessive room temperatures, requiring open windows to sleep, provided you could sleep through the traffic noise. Bed was poor. Room did not contain the amenities that were advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions in Paris

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Florida
Nov 11, 2010

Our Third Stay at the Normandy Hotel

Paris is our city of choice to introduce our seven grandkids to art, history,architecture, culture, food and fun. In planning our future trips we will no longer consider the Normandy Hotel. Given that the hotel location cannot be beat,the decrepit atmosphere of the guest rooms(we were in room 210 and there was actually a hole in the wall near the toilet) coupled with the poor quality of the conceirge the total atmosphere negates the value of the location. My husband and I are seasoned travelers. We have never experienced such indifference by a conceirge in any hotel in any country. Imagine, before retiring to our room for the night asking a conceriege the anticipated weather for the following day and receiving a reply "What, how can I tell you that?" Does he not have access to a newspaper, radio or internet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner there are one or two opportunities to purchase bagettes or baguette with cheese etc. for breakfast without having to go the brasseries across the street where you will have to pay considerably more for the same.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Travel Guy
Family
Princeton, NJ
Oct 25, 2010

Great Location, Tired Facilities

This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat E
Friends
Buffalo, NY
Oct 11, 2010

location,location,location

[...] We were sent to a very small awful room and treated as if we were lucky to get that. We went up to the room and found it did NOT have two beds. We spoke to a friendlier desk person and got a room with two beds. The room was clean but small and very shabby. We were told to come back Sunday morning to see if we could move to a better room. I went to Paris to see the sights not to fuss with changing rooms. This mixup was entirely the hotel's fault. [...] The Normandy Hotel does not know which end is up. Also, there was never anyone at the front desk or consierge desk when we returned at night. ANYONE could walk in and up to any room without being noticed. Great for a week when the terror alert was RED. There were a couple friendly staff but most were rude and incompetent. Certainly NOT 4 star maybe 2 and those stars are for the location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top