$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
124 reviews
Perfect Paris position!!

This hotel deserves a wonderful review!! Built in 1877 I believe, it is a grand old lady right in... See full review

  • Bianca constant traveler
  • Dec 29, 2014
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Byron
Not Provided
Jun 1, 2011

good sized room,great eateries

good sized room,great eateries around.Over road italian restaurant to KILL for.Great meals top service. Hotel 50 mtrs to Louvre &souvenier shops.Would stay here any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
Jan 10, 2011

Great location but small rundown rooms!

The lobby is very nice. The room was small and had massive cracks in the walls and ceiling! The bed was very old and not comfortable. There is no room service and the tv only gets one channel in English. The wifi Internet access is limited to the ground floor only, there is no access in the rooms. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining area at the Louvre is excellent for all kinds of international and French food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broomfield,Colorado
Jan 5, 2011

Normandy Hotel

Friendly,welcoming staff that could help translate and give directions. [...] greeted each person warmly as they came through the door as if it was his home. The staff taking care of the room asked if we were satisfied. The bar was homey with a real fire every night. Great staff! It would be nice to have the breakfast and lunch service extended to each day. The location couldn't have been more convenient to the Louvre Museum, 6 cafes just across the street, many other attractions within walking distance. The Metro/RER 1/2 block away, ATM less than 1/2 block... they arranged our shuttle for the C.D. airport,very reasonable... can you tell we had a great time?!? Being guests of a well run, clean establishment when you are in a foreign country means a lot to a traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Secrets, a restaurant easily accessible via Metro/RER Charles de Gaulle Etoile on 16 avenue De Friedland, Paris. The lamb and the tuna served New Year's evening was indescribable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buchman
Business
Haifa, Israel
Jan 4, 2011

Friendly and centered hotel

The hotel is a great place to crash in.Not very fancy or luxurious, but has the necessary facilities.Breakfast was pretty good [...].Hotel is located a block away from a merto station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Take the M1 line to "La Defanse" and go to the 4 seasons shopping mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trumpedaces
Business
New York, NY
Nov 29, 2010

Not 4 Star, but Charming

Hotel is situated in an amazing area. Great food, next the the Louvre, etc. However, the rooms are quite dated, as are the accommodations. If you enjoy sleeping on the floor you may find the bed more than adequate (ie it was hard as a rock) the rooms have a charming floor to ceiling rose pink wallpaper. The staff is very accommodating and knowledgable thought. If you enjoy staying in a Pre-WW2 hotel this is the one.. If not, stay in a hotel that posts accurate photos on their website, and check travel review websites before staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating escargot on sea salt across the street is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima, WA
Nov 16, 2010

Normandy Hotel

This was once a grand hotel, but we found our accomidations challenging. Uncontrollable excessive room temperatures, requiring open windows to sleep, provided you could sleep through the traffic noise. Bed was poor. Room did not contain the amenities that were advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions in Paris

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Nov 11, 2010

Our Third Stay at the Normandy Hotel

Paris is our city of choice to introduce our seven grandkids to art, history,architecture, culture, food and fun. In planning our future trips we will no longer consider the Normandy Hotel. Given that the hotel location cannot be beat,the decrepit atmosphere of the guest rooms(we were in room 210 and there was actually a hole in the wall near the toilet) coupled with the poor quality of the conceirge the total atmosphere negates the value of the location. My husband and I are seasoned travelers. We have never experienced such indifference by a conceirge in any hotel in any country. Imagine, before retiring to our room for the night asking a conceriege the anticipated weather for the following day and receiving a reply "What, how can I tell you that?" Does he not have access to a newspaper, radio or internet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner there are one or two opportunities to purchase bagettes or baguette with cheese etc. for breakfast without having to go the brasseries across the street where you will have to pay considerably more for the same.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Travel Guy
Business
Princeton, NJ
Oct 25, 2010

Great Location, Tired Facilities

This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monet
Business
Rochester, Michigan
Oct 17, 2010

Great location, hotel not so much!

I felt that this Normandy hotel was probably once a very grand place to stay in it's hay day, however, it's time to update the complete hotel from the entrance, foyer and more importantly the rooms themselves. I found it all very tired and not the best in cleanliness. It was in an excellent location central to the louvre, so that was the upside to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat E
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 11, 2010

location,location,location

[...] We were sent to a very small awful room and treated as if we were lucky to get that. We went up to the room and found it did NOT have two beds. We spoke to a friendlier desk person and got a room with two beds. The room was clean but small and very shabby. We were told to come back Sunday morning to see if we could move to a better room. I went to Paris to see the sights not to fuss with changing rooms. This mixup was entirely the hotel's fault. [...] The Normandy Hotel does not know which end is up. Also, there was never anyone at the front desk or consierge desk when we returned at night. ANYONE could walk in and up to any room without being noticed. Great for a week when the terror alert was RED. There were a couple friendly staff but most were rude and incompetent. Certainly NOT 4 star maybe 2 and those stars are for the location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
coloradofarmer
Business
Boulder,CO
Sep 23, 2010

Variable experience

1. I arrived and was given my room. It was in the back of hotel, up 3 separate flights of steep stairs ( w/ no ascenseur option!). I heard other people dragging their luggage up and down during my 4-day stay! It was VERY logistically difficult. They had nobody to offer to help I later noticed guests going up and down an ascenseur in the front of the hotel, so they obviously have "normal rooms" to which you may get your luggage up and down. 2. They kindly booked me a Navette, 36 hrs in advance, to get to CDG airport ( took an 8E deposit, and rest to driver). In the morning,I waited 5,10,15,20,30 mins for it to show up! The Concierge just shrugged and got exasperated: "Madame I cannot control them". Then I tried Plan B for a taxi (I was desperate and would pay anything!). The Concierge told me they were all busy... I tried to get him to refund my Navette deposit, and it took about 15 mins!! He claimed that he had called a taxi, but 15 mins later, nothing. At this point I was in serious jeopardy of missing my flight. I was saved by a French/Turkish chauffeur.... he obs. this, talked w/ me, and finally hailed me a cab and said "Just get into it, and take it!" Since I hadn't counted on a 60E trip to CDG, I only had 58E. My Normandy Hotel Concierge ( above-mentioned) refused to exchange a 10 USD bill for Euros. So, I prayed that my cab didn't exceed my E. (I just made it, and just made my flight as well). High stress ending to the great city of Paris. Stay somewhere else while you're there - it really is a wonderful place, with wonderful people. And thanks to my blessed Turkish/French chauffeur!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top