$164 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
119 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Yakima, WA
Nov 16, 2010

Normandy Hotel

This was once a grand hotel, but we found our accomidations challenging. Uncontrollable excessive room temperatures, requiring open windows to sleep, provided you could sleep through the traffic noise. Bed was poor. Room did not contain the amenities that were advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many attractions in Paris

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Nov 11, 2010

Our Third Stay at the Normandy Hotel

Paris is our city of choice to introduce our seven grandkids to art, history,architecture, culture, food and fun. In planning our future trips we will no longer consider the Normandy Hotel. Given that the hotel location cannot be beat,the decrepit atmosphere of the guest rooms(we were in room 210 and there was actually a hole in the wall near the toilet) coupled with the poor quality of the conceirge the total atmosphere negates the value of the location. My husband and I are seasoned travelers. We have never experienced such indifference by a conceirge in any hotel in any country. Imagine, before retiring to our room for the night asking a conceriege the anticipated weather for the following day and receiving a reply "What, how can I tell you that?" Does he not have access to a newspaper, radio or internet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner there are one or two opportunities to purchase bagettes or baguette with cheese etc. for breakfast without having to go the brasseries across the street where you will have to pay considerably more for the same.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Travel Guy
Princeton, NJ
Oct 25, 2010

Great Location, Tired Facilities

This hotel was a good value, especially considering its fantastic location (about 1 block from the Louvre). The size of the room was great, and it was clean. However, the entire facility needs a major "pick-me-up" to restore it to its former granduer. The potential is there for 4+ stars, but not yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very central location in Paris. A very short walk to the Louvre, and within walking distance to other major attractions. Convenient to the Metro as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monet
Rochester, Michigan
Oct 17, 2010

Great location, hotel not so much!

I felt that this Normandy hotel was probably once a very grand place to stay in it's hay day, however, it's time to update the complete hotel from the entrance, foyer and more importantly the rooms themselves. I found it all very tired and not the best in cleanliness. It was in an excellent location central to the louvre, so that was the upside to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat E
Buffalo, NY
Oct 11, 2010

location,location,location

[...] We were sent to a very small awful room and treated as if we were lucky to get that. We went up to the room and found it did NOT have two beds. We spoke to a friendlier desk person and got a room with two beds. The room was clean but small and very shabby. We were told to come back Sunday morning to see if we could move to a better room. I went to Paris to see the sights not to fuss with changing rooms. This mixup was entirely the hotel's fault. [...] The Normandy Hotel does not know which end is up. Also, there was never anyone at the front desk or consierge desk when we returned at night. ANYONE could walk in and up to any room without being noticed. Great for a week when the terror alert was RED. There were a couple friendly staff but most were rude and incompetent. Certainly NOT 4 star maybe 2 and those stars are for the location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
coloradofarmer
Boulder,CO
Sep 23, 2010

Variable experience

1. I arrived and was given my room. It was in the back of hotel, up 3 separate flights of steep stairs ( w/ no ascenseur option!). I heard other people dragging their luggage up and down during my 4-day stay! It was VERY logistically difficult. They had nobody to offer to help I later noticed guests going up and down an ascenseur in the front of the hotel, so they obviously have "normal rooms" to which you may get your luggage up and down. 2. They kindly booked me a Navette, 36 hrs in advance, to get to CDG airport ( took an 8E deposit, and rest to driver). In the morning,I waited 5,10,15,20,30 mins for it to show up! The Concierge just shrugged and got exasperated: "Madame I cannot control them". Then I tried Plan B for a taxi (I was desperate and would pay anything!). The Concierge told me they were all busy... I tried to get him to refund my Navette deposit, and it took about 15 mins!! He claimed that he had called a taxi, but 15 mins later, nothing. At this point I was in serious jeopardy of missing my flight. I was saved by a French/Turkish chauffeur.... he obs. this, talked w/ me, and finally hailed me a cab and said "Just get into it, and take it!" Since I hadn't counted on a 60E trip to CDG, I only had 58E. My Normandy Hotel Concierge ( above-mentioned) refused to exchange a 10 USD bill for Euros. So, I prayed that my cab didn't exceed my E. (I just made it, and just made my flight as well). High stress ending to the great city of Paris. Stay somewhere else while you're there - it really is a wonderful place, with wonderful people. And thanks to my blessed Turkish/French chauffeur!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Sep 15, 2010

Steps from the Louvre!

The location couldn't have been better! We were steps from the Louvre, and a short walk to the Tuilleries, the Seine, Place de la Concorde, Opera House, etc. The daily maid service did a pretty good job. The room itself was clearly in need of refurbishing. The bed was comfortable. Requested wake up calls came at the wrong time or not at all. Carlos, the Concierge, was fabulous and saved us time on all we did. Although the staff were very friendly, they did seem understaffed. We did not get into the room on time. They were running late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from Paris Shuttle (parishuttle.com)! We had paid in advance for a shared with other travelers trip from CDG Airport and a private return trip. The initial trip from the airport took over 3 hours because the driver didn't know how to get to certain addresses. For the private return trip (for which we'd paid twice as much to ensure we got to the airport on time), the driver never showed up. We had to flag down a taxi. Although Paris Shuttle told me on the phone that they would refund our money, they haven't done it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
antvic
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 27, 2010

Tourist trap

All what they say, may have been true, when the hotel was built in the early 1900's, certainly not now. A tourist trap. this hotel is falling apart and is not well kept. During our whole stay the a/c in our room did not worked. Staff hang up the phone everytime we called to complaint and bad mouth in french, when we spoke to them in person. With our little comprehension of french, it didn't take a french national to know what they were saying. We met wonderful french nationals in Paris which were very helpful with directions, etc. Regrettably since we had prepaid our stay, they did not want to give us our money back. Will not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Our only bad experience in our trip to Spain and France.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Aug 26, 2010

Hotel Service? None, Ignored,

Arrived in room to find out that the Air Conditioner wasn't working. Showed signs of not working for a while, broken grills, controls damaged and hanging by wires, water/or other fluid leaking from the bottom (had to put garbage pail under to collect).Calls to front desk, to repair and or change our room were IGNORED. [...]Room windows had to be left open to make room comfortable, Not so - outside temperature was hotter and the noise leave keep us up most of the night (extremely noise).Room was reserved for 3 adults - you would think that with 3 beds in the room that the house keeping staff would leave towels for 3. Not so, 2 days without enough towels for 3 and even after calling front desk - NO towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Patchogue , NY
Aug 17, 2010

Charming but tattered

The location was perfect, one block from the Louvre and Metro station. As an American I appreciated a Starbucks acrooss the street with american style coffee. There also was a cash machine across the street. The room was charming but a little tattered, very French. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search