$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacques Brel
Business
New York
May 22, 2012

Solo Trip

As I was traveling by myself, I wanted to book my hotel in a very central location that was close to the metro. In this respect, this hotel was a perfect choice. However, on my first full day there, I had an issue using my credit card, and when trying to call out of the hotel to fix the situation, I ran into a slew of difficulties. The concierge was most unhelpful I explaining the phone situation. I was told I needed a phone card to call collect out of the hotel, sent on a wild goose chase to purchase a phone card, only to get back and be told you could not use a phone card with the hotel calling service. Very frustrating to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NewLeaf1000
Business
IL
May 14, 2012

Less than 1 star

Do NOT stay here. Extremely scary place, but in a great location. I had brown water coming out of my sink, a broken shower, a mirror in the bathroom that had no reflection left.... the hotel is in such a state of disrepair it makes you think twice about staying even though you've already paid the money. Not to mention, street noise.... ALL night. Please stay somewhere else, I am now questioning the 4 and 5 star reviews people gave it, and thinking those could be staff members, because there is absolutely no way anyone could rate this hotel as adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bertrand
Business
Montreal
Nov 16, 2011

average stay

I have stayed in this hotel fifteen years ago, and i have noticed that no ameliorations has been done concerning the sanitary condition of the hotel facilities in general. I have not been able to control the room temperature; heating was on all the time and had to leave windows open day and night. Old windows prevented from a good night sleep, very noisy. Wake up call NOT respected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ASZh
Business
город Москва, Россия
Nov 10, 2011

Fantastic location

Quiet, reasonable breakfast. Good for the tourists

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location for the first time visiyors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
Business
mass, USA
Oct 26, 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
drklobz
Business
Denver
Apr 25, 2011

Misleading

The exterior and the lobby were up to national 4-star standards. However, the rooms haven't been 4-star quality since the 1960's. We booked a "superior" room and were offered a small room. After notifying them we were given the wrong room, we were moved to the "superior" room. The bed did not have a mattress (we slept on a box spring base), the sheets had cigarette burns, the curtains did not close, the bathroom was FILTHY, the walls are paper thin, when someone showered in the room above us-our bathroom ceiling leaked, the shower had mold and other stains. POSITIVE...the staff was very friendly and the location was amazing. Beware of the additional "tax" fees that don't get included in your online booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 5, 2011

Paris

It was small but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping is really close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Location is the ONLY good thing

The ONLY good reason to stay at this hotel is the location which is superb. There are literally NO ammenities at the hotel such as coffee in the morning, vending machines, or ice machines. You CAN get breakfast for 12 euros but I just wanted coffee and was charged for breakfast. The hotel staff seemed annoyed when we asked for help with directions. The rooms seemed clean but badly in need of rennovation with peeling paint and wallpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJP
Business
Orland Park IL.
Mar 20, 2011

Old World Paris

The Hotel is very close to everything , The Louvre is a five minute walk , the metro is a 2 minute walk. There is great dining everywhere and all open late !! If you want to expirence "OLD WORLD" Paris then this hotel is for you , the staff is very friendly , helpful , I struggled with my French and the staff speaks very good english !! We checked in early with no problems and they kept our bags after check out until our taxi ride ride back to the train hours later. The rooms are huge . now the bad stuff !! The hotel does have an "old Musty" smell there was air in our room , they are working on the hotel and have scaffolding set up outside the windows and they go to work anywhere from 7am-8am so you will be woken up. Skip the breakfast at the hotel and journey out to the streets for some amazing food. all in all I enjoyed my stay , I think with some work this could be an amazing hotel . The price is right , but the old grandma's attic smell in the hall ways has got to go ,,maybe some updated ventilation !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic dining everywhere , we met so many fun people , pratice your French with the wait staffs at these Brasserie's !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top