$138 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
122 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
Business
mass, USA
Oct 26, 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
drklobz
Business
Denver
Apr 25, 2011

Misleading

The exterior and the lobby were up to national 4-star standards. However, the rooms haven't been 4-star quality since the 1960's. We booked a "superior" room and were offered a small room. After notifying them we were given the wrong room, we were moved to the "superior" room. The bed did not have a mattress (we slept on a box spring base), the sheets had cigarette burns, the curtains did not close, the bathroom was FILTHY, the walls are paper thin, when someone showered in the room above us-our bathroom ceiling leaked, the shower had mold and other stains. POSITIVE...the staff was very friendly and the location was amazing. Beware of the additional "tax" fees that don't get included in your online booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 5, 2011

Paris

It was small but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping is really close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2011

Location is the ONLY good thing

The ONLY good reason to stay at this hotel is the location which is superb. There are literally NO ammenities at the hotel such as coffee in the morning, vending machines, or ice machines. You CAN get breakfast for 12 euros but I just wanted coffee and was charged for breakfast. The hotel staff seemed annoyed when we asked for help with directions. The rooms seemed clean but badly in need of rennovation with peeling paint and wallpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJP
Business
Orland Park IL.
Mar 20, 2011

Old World Paris

The Hotel is very close to everything , The Louvre is a five minute walk , the metro is a 2 minute walk. There is great dining everywhere and all open late !! If you want to expirence "OLD WORLD" Paris then this hotel is for you , the staff is very friendly , helpful , I struggled with my French and the staff speaks very good english !! We checked in early with no problems and they kept our bags after check out until our taxi ride ride back to the train hours later. The rooms are huge . now the bad stuff !! The hotel does have an "old Musty" smell there was air in our room , they are working on the hotel and have scaffolding set up outside the windows and they go to work anywhere from 7am-8am so you will be woken up. Skip the breakfast at the hotel and journey out to the streets for some amazing food. all in all I enjoyed my stay , I think with some work this could be an amazing hotel . The price is right , but the old grandma's attic smell in the hall ways has got to go ,,maybe some updated ventilation !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic dining everywhere , we met so many fun people , pratice your French with the wait staffs at these Brasserie's !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 19, 2011

Fantastic Location - Wonderful Staff!

This is an old old building with great charm. Expect old and smaller rooms, but the location is a 2-minute walk to the Louvre! All kinds of places to eat immediately around hotel. If you want to waste no time seeing the sights, this is the place to be. Price is good for such a location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WESTON
Feb 15, 2011

NORMANDY

Nice location,clean,really bad carpet on the stairs and only few channels working on the TV

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary, AB
Jan 10, 2011

Great location but small rundown rooms!

The lobby is very nice. The room was small and had massive cracks in the walls and ceiling! The bed was very old and not comfortable. There is no room service and the tv only gets one channel in English. The wifi Internet access is limited to the ground floor only, there is no access in the rooms. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The dining area at the Louvre is excellent for all kinds of international and French food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broomfield,Colorado
Jan 5, 2011

Normandy Hotel

Friendly,welcoming staff that could help translate and give directions. [...] greeted each person warmly as they came through the door as if it was his home. The staff taking care of the room asked if we were satisfied. The bar was homey with a real fire every night. Great staff! It would be nice to have the breakfast and lunch service extended to each day. The location couldn't have been more convenient to the Louvre Museum, 6 cafes just across the street, many other attractions within walking distance. The Metro/RER 1/2 block away, ATM less than 1/2 block... they arranged our shuttle for the C.D. airport,very reasonable... can you tell we had a great time?!? Being guests of a well run, clean establishment when you are in a foreign country means a lot to a traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Secrets, a restaurant easily accessible via Metro/RER Charles de Gaulle Etoile on 16 avenue De Friedland, Paris. The lamb and the tuna served New Year's evening was indescribable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top