$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
186 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacques Brel
New York
May 22, 2012

Solo Trip

As I was traveling by myself, I wanted to book my hotel in a very central location that was close to the metro. In this respect, this hotel was a perfect choice. However, on my first full day there, I had an issue using my credit card, and when trying to call out of the hotel to fix the situation, I ran into a slew of difficulties. The concierge was most unhelpful I explaining the phone situation. I was told I needed a phone card to call collect out of the hotel, sent on a wild goose chase to purchase a phone card, only to get back and be told you could not use a phone card with the hotel calling service. Very frustrating to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NewLeaf1000
IL
May 14, 2012

Less than 1 star

Do NOT stay here. Extremely scary place, but in a great location. I had brown water coming out of my sink, a broken shower, a mirror in the bathroom that had no reflection left.... the hotel is in such a state of disrepair it makes you think twice about staying even though you've already paid the money. Not to mention, street noise.... ALL night. Please stay somewhere else, I am now questioning the 4 and 5 star reviews people gave it, and thinking those could be staff members, because there is absolutely no way anyone could rate this hotel as adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bertrand
Montreal
Nov 16, 2011

average stay

I have stayed in this hotel fifteen years ago, and i have noticed that no ameliorations has been done concerning the sanitary condition of the hotel facilities in general. I have not been able to control the room temperature; heating was on all the time and had to leave windows open day and night. Old windows prevented from a good night sleep, very noisy. Wake up call NOT respected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ASZh
город Москва, Россия
Nov 10, 2011

Fantastic location

Quiet, reasonable breakfast. Good for the tourists

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location for the first time visiyors

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts lady
mass, USA
Oct 26, 2011

location

the room was fine by French standards. The hotel upgraded us to a large room. We were just fine, but many Americans would not be happy. The hotel is one block from the Louvre, as central as you can get. I would recommend to someone who was well traveled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParisTrip
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Normandy "average" Hotel

Let me start off by saying that the location is prime and that is probably why the price is so much for what you get. I have lived and often travel to Paris but for the price and amenities I was not impressed and would choose elsewhere if the price was + or - 100$ or so. My first room was very sub par and I requested a change of room and the second room was much better if nothing but standard. I have stayed at other 4 star hotels and all but 1 (not including this one) had free wifi included. The rooms where also not equipped very well and had the bare minimum of towels, cups, toilet products, etc. The staff was just average...all other hotels I have stayed at (Hotel Castiglione for example) had much better service and better staff attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
drklobz
Denver
Apr 25, 2011

Misleading

The exterior and the lobby were up to national 4-star standards. However, the rooms haven't been 4-star quality since the 1960's. We booked a "superior" room and were offered a small room. After notifying them we were given the wrong room, we were moved to the "superior" room. The bed did not have a mattress (we slept on a box spring base), the sheets had cigarette burns, the curtains did not close, the bathroom was FILTHY, the walls are paper thin, when someone showered in the room above us-our bathroom ceiling leaked, the shower had mold and other stains. POSITIVE...the staff was very friendly and the location was amazing. Beware of the additional "tax" fees that don't get included in your online booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
drklobz
Denver
Apr 25, 2011

Misleading

The exterior and the lobby were up to national 4-star standards. However, the rooms haven't been 4-star quality since the 1960's. We booked a "superior" room and were offered a small room. After notifying them we were given the wrong room, we were moved to the "superior" room. The bed did not have a mattress (we slept on a box spring base), the sheets had cigarette burns, the curtains did not close, the bathroom was FILTHY, the walls are paper thin, when someone showered in the room above us-our bathroom ceiling leaked, the shower had mold and other stains. POSITIVE...the staff was very friendly and the location was amazing. Beware of the additional "tax" fees that don't get included in your online booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 5, 2011

Paris

It was small but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping is really close

Back to menu Return to top