$141 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 8, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
121 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner4travel
Business
Boston
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

Great location on this older hotel, so close to the Louvre. Staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kosh
Business
Dublin
Aug 12, 2013

Old but nice

Even though the hotel is still equipped with old furniture. It's very nice and very clean. Staff is great, friendly, helpfull. And the the Hotel is in the best location for walks around city centre.Perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiwi 2
Business
Paris
May 30, 2013

Tired and snooty

In three weeks in Europe this was the most expensive and worst hotel we stayed at. The room was very very tired: whilst serviced everyday all the furnishings and bedding were overdue for retirement..we asked for a fresh blanket as the one we had was so dirty and worn out and the one they brought was worse. The wifi was hopeless. It of the time: staff totally disinterested and overall would advise people to stay away from it...very expensive. Have moved on to another Paris hotel which is much cheaper and far far better, equally good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John J H
Business
New York, NY
Apr 29, 2013

Look elsewhere

I paid $120 for a night here in late April 2013. The one good thing about this hotel is location, as it is a stone's throw from the Louvre. Other then that, I was pretty disappointed. No a/c, broken fridge (which they pretty much refused to help me out with), not the best English speaking staff, and very, very spartan accommodations to the room. In dire need of new management and a renovation. Look elsewhere unless you can get it for cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Carrefour on St Honore a few blocks away, where you can get a large baguette, pate, cheese, and some beer for under 8 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
risto
Business
HGelsinki Finland
Nov 5, 2012

old traditonal hotel

The hotel is well located and radiate old traditions. Unfortunately during our stay 20-27.10.2012 there was a major streetwork in front of the hotel ja outside wall reparations in the court side. Also our room needed some refreshing work. Otherwise a pleasant experience, which we are ready to try again next time in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
risto
Business
Maija, Helsinki Finland
Nov 5, 2012

Good for visitors who want to see a lot

The location is superb with the Louvre in frount of you, and excellent Metro connections. Satellite TV would help following the news . The breakfast is OK and the staff very freindly. Obviously nobody had taken a look inside the mini bar, it was completely frozen so that opening the door was difficult, and closing it again even more so (and it was empty). A little make over would do no harm! Maija (risto is my husband!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K. Jo.
Business
California
Aug 25, 2012

Would not stay here again...

Two rooms out of our 3 room party were without air, and it was HOT . We happened to get a room with air, after complaining. The refrigerator in the rooms did not work, the carpet is old and the tv did not work for the last two days....Internet is only down stairs in the lobby in a certain area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zelda0309
Business
OC, California
Aug 22, 2012

Great location, not a four star hotel

This is definitely not a four star hotel, having said that, the three minute walk to the Louvre makes up for everything else. The whole hotels needs an upgrade, and the (free) wifi only works in the lobby. I found the room to be quite roomy- I stayed in a single room, but it didn't have any sort of air circulation. Luckily, there was a fan. The only times I was in the room was to sleep, and nap in the middle of the day. The staff was friendly- just make sure you know a few basic words in French, and they'll be your best friend ("bonjour" and "comment ca va?") I was a single woman traveling alone, and felt safe returning and leaving hotel after sun-down. This wouldn't be my top choice when I return to Paris, but I also paid pretty low prices when grouped with the flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stops very close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Red Wine Sipper
Business
Waxhaw, NC
Aug 19, 2012

Perfect mix of historical setting and cleanliness.

We loved our room. While it wasn't as perfect as you might would find in a U.S. hotel chain, it had great character with aged furnishings and a twelve foot ceiling. To our surprise, the room included a mobile air conditioner unit which only produced results equal to a fan. But, it didn't matter because we could open our balcony window/doors for ventilation and it was all perfect. We spent some evenings just sitting by the open window sipping glasses of wine. Wonderful! Also, our bed linens were changed everyday! We didn't ask for this, but we were so pampered to crawl into crisp, fresh white linens each night. The bathroom was complete with tub and granite counter top and shower surround. Fortunately, we learned before our trip that washcloths aren't used/provided in France, so we packed our own and were prepared for this. Staying at this hotel totally completed our Paris experience! (It's location is right in the middle of everything too.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buy a metro pass to use during your stay. As long as you can walk, you can get everywhere. Learn some basic French before you go and use it when appropriate. An attempt at kindness on the traveller's part goes a long way for a postive trip experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rexlore
Business
COlumbus, Ohio
Aug 10, 2012

Normandy Hotel, Paris

First stay in Paris. Was an awesome experience. The hotel was 3-4 star quality, and the fellows working to help were 5 star. Just relay to them what you would like to do and they become great travel agents for you, just leave them a few Euros. Room was good enough. Walking distance (2 blocks) to the Louvre. The Marly was a great place to eat, next to and overlooking the Louvre at night, awesome view at the Marly. Learn to speak at least some French, everyone appreciates it! (I am about 1/2 fluent and did just fine from studying my French class stuff from 20 years ago). Bon Chance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take water with you. There are no water fountains at any of the attractions. Also - go to the bathroom before you leave your room - especially the women. There are very few public toilets outside, and many charge .50 euros for their use.......and are hard to find. Around the corner from the hotel is a market shop. Buy your wine there for $5 Euros. Take a light jacket, cooler than you would think. Leave your kids at home on this trip......the crowds and attractions would be too much work for kids under 8 years of age.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top