$171 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
185 reviews
Convenient hotel in Paris centre

It is so convenient to go to any tourist-interested venues around the center Paris. To take a... See full review

  • Functionally
  • Mar 20, 2014
Fantastic value for the price charged - perfect location

I arrived after midnight and there was a receptionist and a concierge to help out. Location is just... See full review

  • Geoff Brisbane
  • Dec 27, 2013

Looking for a stylish hotel that sits right in the middle of all that Paris has to offer? The distinguished Normandy Hotel, built in 1877, perfectly fits the bill. It exudes traditional Parisian luxury with fine fabrics, opulent antiques and deep wood tones. Rooms at the Normandy Hotel offer views of the city or a beautiful inner courtyard. French doors open onto balconies that offer views of the Louvre, outdoor cafes, and the bustling streets and scenery of the City of Light. Writing desks, dressing tables and 19th-century period furnishings make the Normandy Hotel a memorable experience for all types of travelers. If fitness is a part of your daily routine, start your day with a morning walk or run through the Tuileries Garden, before heading out to explore the rest of Paris.

Key facts
  • 117 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood

Located right next to the Louvre and Palais Royale, the Normandy Hotel sits amongst a multitude of attractions and sites that include the Champs-Elysees, the Tuileries Gardens and the high-end boutiques of St. Honore. The Metro is about a five-minute walk away, and there are nearby bicycle rentals, to make getting around town easy.

Hints and tips
Tour and ticket assistance is offered at the Normandy Hotel, and the multilingual staff can assist travelers with city directions, currency exchange and many other needs.The Normandy Hotel offers a daily breakfast buffet and an English-style bar that serves cocktails and light fare in the evening.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Normandy Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
This room consists of one twin bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Standard double
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.
Superior
This room consists of one double bed. All rooms have air-conditioned and mini-bar. They are decorated in the Belle Epoque Style with magnificent old furniture.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
Dining
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Normandy Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.8639 2.3343
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Orly Airport, Roissy CDG Airport
Area description
The hotel is well-located in the quarter of the Louvre Museum, Palais Royal, the Comedie Francaise, the Opera Garnier and the Place Vendome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 0.1 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 0.1 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 0.2 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.2 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 0.2 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 0.3 mi
  • Place Vendôme: 0.3 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.3 mi
  • Le Jardin des Tuileries: 0.4 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.5 mi
  • Institut de France: 0.5 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 0.5 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.5 mi
  • Samaritaine: 0.5 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.5 mi
  • Olympia: 0.5 mi
  • Opera: 0.5 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.6 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.6 mi
  • Eglise de la Madeleine: 0.6 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.6 mi
  • National Assembly: 0.6 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.7 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.7 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 0.7 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 0.7 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.7 mi
  • Sciences Po: 0.7 mi
  • Palais Bourbon: 0.7 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.7 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.7 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.7 mi
  • Printemps : 0.8 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.8 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.8 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 0.8 mi
  • Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré: 0.8 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K. Jo.
California
Aug 25, 2012

Would not stay here again...

Two rooms out of our 3 room party were without air, and it was HOT . We happened to get a room with air, after complaining. The refrigerator in the rooms did not work, the carpet is old and the tv did not work for the last two days....Internet is only down stairs in the lobby in a certain area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zelda0309
OC, California
Aug 22, 2012

Great location, not a four star hotel

This is definitely not a four star hotel, having said that, the three minute walk to the Louvre makes up for everything else. The whole hotels needs an upgrade, and the (free) wifi only works in the lobby. I found the room to be quite roomy- I stayed in a single room, but it didn't have any sort of air circulation. Luckily, there was a fan. The only times I was in the room was to sleep, and nap in the middle of the day. The staff was friendly- just make sure you know a few basic words in French, and they'll be your best friend ("bonjour" and "comment ca va?") I was a single woman traveling alone, and felt safe returning and leaving hotel after sun-down. This wouldn't be my top choice when I return to Paris, but I also paid pretty low prices when grouped with the flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two metro stops very close by!

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Red Wine Sipper
Waxhaw, NC
Aug 19, 2012

Perfect mix of historical setting and cleanliness.

We loved our room. While it wasn't as perfect as you might would find in a U.S. hotel chain, it had great character with aged furnishings and a twelve foot ceiling. To our surprise, the room included a mobile air conditioner unit which only produced results equal to a fan. But, it didn't matter because we could open our balcony window/doors for ventilation and it was all perfect. We spent some evenings just sitting by the open window sipping glasses of wine. Wonderful! Also, our bed linens were changed everyday! We didn't ask for this, but we were so pampered to crawl into crisp, fresh white linens each night. The bathroom was complete with tub and granite counter top and shower surround. Fortunately, we learned before our trip that washcloths aren't used/provided in France, so we packed our own and were prepared for this. Staying at this hotel totally completed our Paris experience! (It's location is right in the middle of everything too.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buy a metro pass to use during your stay. As long as you can walk, you can get everywhere. Learn some basic French before you go and use it when appropriate. An attempt at kindness on the traveller's part goes a long way for a postive trip experience.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rexlore
COlumbus, Ohio
Aug 10, 2012

Normandy Hotel, Paris

First stay in Paris. Was an awesome experience. The hotel was 3-4 star quality, and the fellows working to help were 5 star. Just relay to them what you would like to do and they become great travel agents for you, just leave them a few Euros. Room was good enough. Walking distance (2 blocks) to the Louvre. The Marly was a great place to eat, next to and overlooking the Louvre at night, awesome view at the Marly. Learn to speak at least some French, everyone appreciates it! (I am about 1/2 fluent and did just fine from studying my French class stuff from 20 years ago). Bon Chance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take water with you. There are no water fountains at any of the attractions. Also - go to the bathroom before you leave your room - especially the women. There are very few public toilets outside, and many charge .50 euros for their use.......and are hard to find. Around the corner from the hotel is a market shop. Buy your wine there for $5 Euros. Take a light jacket, cooler than you would think. Leave your kids at home on this trip......the crowds and attractions would be too much work for kids under 8 years of age.

Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex well traveled
texas
Jul 31, 2012

terrible.

no wifi in the rooms like they claimed, bed was hard as a brick, bathroom door didn't close, rude and unhelpful staff, walls paper thin, claim to be non smoking but the whole hotel smelt of smoke, extremely hot, overall absolutely terrible. They had a "fan" in the room but all it did was circulate the hot air throughout the room. This room would have been nice 100 years ago, they need to update their hotel, the lobby is very nice, but then you get to the room and you are like "really?". Even the wall paper was peeling off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenny and Derek
Kansas
Jul 24, 2012

Great Location - Great Staff - Poor Facilities

Location was excellent to Louvre. Staff was very helpful, courteous and spoke English well. Room was "dingy" with stale odor. Opened windows to try to clear the air. Bathtub shower leaked (could not be shut off all the way). Very outdated and in need of painting, new carpet and linens. Beds were not comfortable. Mattress felt very old and overused. Linens were scratchy at best. If you want location this is the hotel but don't expect much. I am accustomed to European standards but this hotel was very dissapointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Valdi
Copenhagen
Jul 15, 2012

standard of the hotel

Hotel needs a renovation and adaptation to the twenty-first century. No aircondition, bathroom from the 60's and decor and furnishings of the hotel with two stars ... unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GRutter
Sacramento, California
Jul 15, 2012

Disappointing

Room small with no dresser for underwear, nightgown, sweats, shirts and socks. Closet was about 36 inches wide with little room for shirts, blouses, and trousers. Bed was not queen size and extremely hard to sleep on. When taking a shower you had to minimize movement to prevent water from spilling over onto bathroom floor. Supplies were not replenished when used such as cups and toilet tissues. Floor not vacuumed unless you were present when room was cleaned. Toilet tissues were a package of folded paper not on a roll. Since this is suppose to be a four star hotel, why was it so cheap with their customers? You should be more honest when discriping what to expect from a hotel. Hotel amenities were extremely disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel to my family, friends, or enemy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Junyan Mao
USA
Jun 17, 2012

About Hotel

This hotel have a wonderful location and nice breakfast. The price is good and the service is very good. If the room 's condition will be better, it's a perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacques Brel
New York
May 22, 2012

Solo Trip

As I was traveling by myself, I wanted to book my hotel in a very central location that was close to the metro. In this respect, this hotel was a perfect choice. However, on my first full day there, I had an issue using my credit card, and when trying to call out of the hotel to fix the situation, I ran into a slew of difficulties. The concierge was most unhelpful I explaining the phone situation. I was told I needed a phone card to call collect out of the hotel, sent on a wild goose chase to purchase a phone card, only to get back and be told you could not use a phone card with the hotel calling service. Very frustrating to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top