$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Normandy Hotel

4 stars
View map of 7 Rue De L'Echelle, Paris, 75001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Normandy Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Oct 15, 2009

well situated

At check out we were charged for 4 days breakfast, which was supposed to be included, plus additional city tax that [...] did not disclose.While we were charged $200.00 US$ x night, their published tariff is 103.00 Euros x night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColoradoKila
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 6, 2009

Location, Location!

Great location. Our room was sort of odd, and the carpet was interesting. But it was clean, and quite lovely for an old European hotel. Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1 street away from the shopping along Rue de Rivoli. 2 streets away from the Louvre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Sep 25, 2009

Location, but this is it

While checking in I submitted my documents and got left standing for about twenty minutes, while the staff decided to take care of other business. No attempts to apologize for ignoring me where made either. Over all the staff was not overly friendly. We got the room at the top floor and given that it was a very hot day, had no air conditioning. We got quoted for the breakfast buffet, but the staff did not mention, that the price did not include taxes; something which should have been done, especially since it made a big difference at the end. Really the only good thing to say about this hotel is the super location. But this is just about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 3, 2009

Friendly staff and comfortable rooms

I was in Paris for a personal vacation, my first-time abroad and by myself. The hotel staff was patient with my elementary french and spoke good English. The room was a great size and had a beautiful location near the Louvre. The most restful, relaxed vacation I've ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from the Louvre and close to 2 metro stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents with teenage son
Business
New York ,NY
Aug 31, 2009

Nice quaint charm. Great Location.

We really enjoyed this old style hotel. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. It held the charm of yesteryear. My 6'2" son was not so enchanted with the daybed and tiny 18th century furniture in the sitting room, but the main bedroom had a king bed with lots of cupboard type closets. Bath was large. I would recommend. The Younger generation looking for internet and such would be happier elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked all over town looking for late night crepes only to return to the hotel and find the perfect restaurant literally across the street. Also found a nice light lunch spot 3 blocks away on a circle and bakery with lines out the door for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GoWhiteStripes
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 24, 2009

Normandy Hotel... Great Location!

Everyone was friendly and helpful, Great, Great Location... 1-2 blocks from the Lourve ... many tours leave from this area as well... Definitely don't hesitate to book this hotel in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Aux Trois Mailletz after midnight and go see the show downstairs. Although its 25 to get in and the beers are expensive, you will have a good time. Its located at 56, Rue Galande, 75005 Paris, tel, 01 43 54 00 79 , M°Saint-Michel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marblehead, MA
Aug 20, 2009

Epicenter of Paris

The room was large and kept clean by the maids, the price reasonable, and the service efficient. From the Normandy you could reach a number of the most famous and beautiful sights by foot, such as the Musee d'Orsay,the Louvre, Champs-Elysees, Notre Dame,the Latin Quarter, and the Opera; or use the nearby MET and RER to carry you in every direction from the Charles de Gaulle Airport to the Palace of Versailles or the Loire Valley. We highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep a good map on hand. Parisian streets never go in the direction assumed and getting lost is easy. Learn a few French words on directions and dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maountain View, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Location, location, location

The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The location is about 1 block from the Louvre and very close to the Metro. The rooms are small and old, but comfortable. The shower was inconvenient for people with bad knees and the shower head did not mount on the wall anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for the Tour de France watcher.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Aug 4, 2009

Great Hotel!

We had a great stay at the Hotel Normandy. From one of our 6th floor balconies (we had 2 of them), we could see Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower and of course, the Louvre. The hotel is obviously old, but that is what makes it so special. Our room was perfect, chipped paint and all...it had wonderful character and charm. We lucked up by asking the desk attendant to check out the available rooms first. She showed us three rooms and we picked the one with the most space and best views. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pay for the Hop on/Hop Off bus tour...it was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Normandy Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville
Jul 29, 2009

Great location but room needs help

I stayed in this hotel in 2003 and had two very large room air conditioned room with a window overlooking the street. The location was within walking distance of many attractions.For instance, it is two blocks from Louvre entrance. In July, 2009 I booked two rooms due to it's location. Due to the comments listed by Orbitz customers, I chose the upgraded option. One room had a street view, small room, and a fan...no air conditioning. In order to recharge the camera either the fan or lamp needed to be unpluged. The second room was larger, faced and interior courtyard (alley), and had a floor unit air conditioner. Neither of the rooms was anything like the room I had on the earlier visit. I commented to the staff on the difference in rooms from my previous visit and the explanation was that they had only a few room like the one I had stayed in before. I also asked whether the rooms were an upgraded version and was told that all the room were superior, etc. I also viewed several other rooms that were worse than the ones we settled on. Stay here only for the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top