Les Jardins Du Roy

3 stars
5 Rue Buffon, Paris, 75005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
31 reviews
8Excellent location, close to the metro.

We visited all the famous travel spots with ease. See full review

  • Savy ones.
  • Aug 3, 2010
Spring Break in Paris

This was our first time in Europe so with nothing to compare the hotel to other than rumors about... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 16, 2010
Well-equipped studios and apartments in the heart of Paris

Whether for the first time or 30th, visitors long for their own piece of real estate in the City of Light. Les Jardins Du Roy offers just that. The collection of 30 studios and apartments treat guests to an ideal location near the Botanical Gardens, Museum of Natural History and Austerlitz train station, plus conveniences such as kitchenettes, TV, cookware and dishware. For an iconic photograph in front of the quays at the Seine, travelers only have to walk five minutes.

Highlights
  • Intimate studios and apartments near the Botanical Gardens and Austerlitz train station
  • Kitchenettes equipped with microwave, refrigerator, dishware and cookware
  • Internet access (fees apply)
Rooms

Les Jardins Du Roy speaks to travelers wanting a taste of the Parisian lifestyle right from their own apartment. The 30 studios and apartments sit in the heart of Paris, steps from the Austerlitz train station, the Botanical Gardens and the Museum of Natural History. Each residence accommodates one to four guests. Expect amenities like cable TV, cookware, dishware, ensuite private bathroom and kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator. Petite-sized rooms still make space for eating and lounging with tables and chairs. Fees apply for Internet access. If available, a hairdryer, iron and ironing board come at no extra cost.

Features

Les Jardins Du Roy guests enjoy easy access to the Museum of Natural History, the Botanical Gardens and the Austerlitz train station. For a romantic trip on the Seine, simply walk five minutes to the quays.

Transportation
  • Paris-Orly Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • The Louvre (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Tuileries Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Champs-Elysées (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees

Guests can check in from 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. Monday to Saturday. Check in is 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. on Sundays and holidays. Contact the property for arrival procedures outside those hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Les Jardins Du Roy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Les Jardins Du Roy Rooms

Studio Room
The Room offers a double sofa bed or 2 single beds with lift/elevator, lobby, pets allowed, reception.
One Bedroom Apartment
The Room offers double sofa bed and one double bed with lift/elevator, lobby, pets allowed, reception.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gare d'Austerlitz train station: 0.1 mi
  • Jardin des Plantes: 0.2 mi
  • Mosquee de Paris: 0.4 mi
  • Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University: 0.4 mi
  • Arènes de Lutèce: 0.5 mi
  • Arab World Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Canal de l'Ourcq: 0.5 mi
  • Gare de Lyon train station: 0.6 mi
  • Promenade Plantée: 0.6 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 0.6 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 0.6 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.7 mi
  • Opéra Bastille: 0.7 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Bastille: 0.8 mi
  • Gare d'Austerlitz train station: 0.1 mi
  • Jardin des Plantes: 0.2 mi
  • Mosquee de Paris: 0.4 mi
  • Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University: 0.4 mi
  • Arènes de Lutèce: 0.5 mi
  • Arab World Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Canal de l'Ourcq: 0.5 mi
  • Gare de Lyon train station: 0.6 mi
  • Promenade Plantée: 0.6 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 0.6 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 0.6 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.7 mi
  • Opéra Bastille: 0.7 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Bastille: 0.8 mi
  • Marché d’Aligre: 0.8 mi
  • Panthéon: 0.8 mi
  • Maison de Victor Hugo: 0.8 mi
  • National Library of France: 0.9 mi
  • Memorial de la Shoah: 0.9 mi
  • Place des Vosges: 0.9 mi
  • Lycée Louis-le-Grand: 0.9 mi
  • Notre Dame de Paris : 0.9 mi
  • Notre Dame Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Collège de Sorbonne: 1 mi
  • Rue des Rosiers : 1 mi
  • Cinémathèque Française: 1 mi
  • Carnavalet Museum: 1 mi
  • University of Paris-Sorbonne: 1 mi
  • Jewish quarter: 1 mi
  • Musée national du Moyen Âge: 1 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 1.1 mi
  • Latin Quarter of Paris: 1.1 mi
  • Mines ParisTech: 1.1 mi
  • Hotel de Ville: 1.1 mi
  • Musée Picasso: 1.2 mi
  • Paris Descartes University: 1.2 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 1.2 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 1.2 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 1.2 mi
  • Luxembourg Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Conciergerie: 1.2 mi
  • Palais du Luxembourg: 1.2 mi
  • Saint Michel - Saint Germain des Pres: 1.2 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Les Jardins Du Roy

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loves Foreign Travel
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 24, 2010

Experienced, self-reliant guests only

This small, do-it-yourself hotel is situated near Gare d Austerlitz, which is a convenient location. However, the hotel offers no ammenities. The instant I walked through the door, the hotel clerk slapped an envelope in my hand which contained the card key and one sheet of paper with the hotel's address, phone and fax numbers. She stated that reception was closed for the day and would reopen at 8:00 Monday morning. My request for use of a hair dryer was met, but the bathroom did not have an electrical outlet. By mistake I selected the incorrect floor when returning to my room and to my complete shock, my card key worked in another guest's room! This hotel is more like an extended residence than a guest hotel. Clean towels were only provided once during my three-night stay. The handle for the bathtub faucet fell off when trying to adjust the water temperature. Retaurants, bakeries, groceries and fast food restaurants were nearby, but there was nothing to eat or drink within the hotel - not even a vending machine. I do not recommend this hotel unless you are very familiar with Paris, you have strong French language skills, and do not need any pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was close to Metro and a major train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Dec 2, 2009

an okay place to stay

This hotel is kinda blah. Really feels like a 2 star hotel, but it's Paris, so I guess I can't ask for much for the price I paid. But it is about 15 mins to the Eifel Tower, so that's a plus. There is a Carefour about 2-3 blocks away, so definitely go there to pick up snack and beverages. The prices there are very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking is really a much better option than driving around Paris. The hotel is about 15 mins from the Tower and 30 mins from the Louvre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Northwest, USA
Jul 16, 2009

No frills inexpensive lodging

The accommodations are bare bones, but do include a small kitchenette. There is a coin operated laundry machine but it was initially not working and the unhelpful young woman at the front desk was unwilling to assist. The same young woman did not speak or understand much English, which was not a problem for our French-speaking family, but could be an issue with others. It was difficult to persuade the skeleton staff to make reservations or look up information on attractions. The most serious drawback is that the front desk is manned only part-time. If you arrive in Paris while there is no one there, you will not be able to check in or obtain your room key. You will not even be able to wait in the lobby, since the front door is locked. So, you will need to call ahead and try to coordinate your arrival for a time when they are open. These arrangements will need to be done by phone; the hotel did not respond to my pre-arrival e-mails. The room is cleaned only once per week, and you can obtain clean towels free of charge only during this once-weekly cleaning. Having said all of this, the price was great for our one-bedroom unit, and the location can't be beat. The Jardin des Plantes is literally just across the street; the Gare d'Austerlitz is across the street in another direction, providing easy transportation to anywhere you might want to go; the Seine shuttle boat stop is one block away; a small grocery store is a few steps away and a large grocery store is quite close. Recommended for the budget-conscious self-sufficient traveler or traveling family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small Monoprix grocery is 5 minutes walk away and is open from 9 to 2300.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeany Junketer
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 29, 2009

A Subpar Sojourn in Paris

I arrived at the hotel at about 12:30 am. It was dark inside - isolated - no sign of life whatsoever. I knock on the door, then I notice a keypad on the right side of the door - I press 0 (for operator) hoping someone will answer but secretly thinking no one will. Minutes pass as I continue to press 0 and knock on the door. Suddenly, the lights come on and someone emerges from the elevator. "Thank God!!!" He walks out the door, informs me he's just a patron and this hotel does not have late check-ins - I'll have to wait til morning. He closes the door and goes on his merry way with me still standing outside. Since I booked my reservation through Orbitz I'm thinking there's no way on God's creation Orbitz would send me to a hotel with no late check-in especially when I checked the "late check-in" box. Then I notice a note on the door to call a number for late check-ins. I call the #, they give me the code to open the door, then the code to the safe inside which contains my room # and key. "Whew!!!" Quite an ordeal to go through being a female all alone in a strange country in the middle of the night. I read the rules and regulations of the hotel. Okay, so they only clean your room, change sheets and towels and empty the garbage once a week - I can live with that. But, when I needed an iron I had to go downstairs to get it myself AND take it back - no ironing board. When I went to get the iron I figured I'd take my garbage down with me. I inquired about a trash can in which to put my garbage - outside - across the street. So, I took it outside and across the street as I didn't need it smelling up my room. Aside from these items, the hotel was fine - it was actually an efficiency - it had a sink, stove, mini fridge and microwave. It was clean and in a decent area - trust me as the shuttle dropped off others I was praying it wasn't my stop. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful in providing instructions on how to take the metro to my destinations - which was right at the corner. All things considered, it wasn't a bad place to stay, but in this day and age an iron and board is pretty standard and if it's not in the room, someone should bring it to you. If you don't collect trash but once a week, there should be somewhere inside the building to put it so one doesn't have to run outside in their pajamas. I don't think that's too much to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Key West, FL
Sep 29, 2009

Le Jardin du Roy

Staff has short hours. Arrival is better timed to when staff is there. Once we had the code exit and entry was easy. Nice little kitchenette for breakfast or light meals taken in. Spartan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Metro and Train station, also short walk to busy boulevard with lots of restaurants, park, museum, stores etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashdem
Business
New Jersey
May 21, 2009

The Hotel was good.

The Hotel is very basic. It is right around the corner from the metro.The are places to eat right around the corner also. The people the ran the hotel where very nice. I really liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nikki. travel lover
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 9, 2009

"Good Place, Avoid the Sofa Bed"

The hotel is in a good location for traveling on the Metro (1 and 10 or "C" on the RER)- all of Paris is extremely accessible. However, it's not really in the Latin Quarter- it's just outside of it. Make sure you get a room with the twin beds, not the sofa beds as it will definitely cause you some major back pain in the morning. There is a tiny kitchen which is very useful if you plan on eating at home while in Paris. The people that work there are very helpful, but they make you pay 5 euros an hour for wifi, which we later found was NOT the norm, it's usually free. All that said, if you want a clean 3 star place close to Metro, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking for upscale dining it's not here. Head into the heart of the Latin Quarter and you will be surrounded by choices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivanovich
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 1, 2009

Les Jardins du Roy

I stayed at the Jardins du Roy for three days in June, 2009. The hotel is located conveniently to the Gare Austerlitz metro station and is easily accessed from CDG airport by transit. It is next to a botanical garden and quiet. Location is convenient to most central Paris attractions. The hotel provides a small kitchen. On the down side, the hotel lobby is staffed only 4 hours daily on weekends and 8-12 and 4-7 weekdays. If you need help (as I did)making a telephone call or finding a cyber cafe, there's no one there to provide it. Rooms have only ceiling fixtures with low wattage. The rooms are also quite hot and stuffy when the sun shines. There's no air conditioning. The mosquitoes attack too because there are no screens in the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Opera of the Bastille is just a 20 minute walk from the Jardins du Roy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Jun 13, 2009

Good value and pleasant stay

We enjoyed our stay. The location was good; staff was friendly and helpful. The kitchenette was sufficient and helped us save on food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First-timers
Business
Wales
Jul 11, 2010

Highly Recommended

- Excellent and convenient location. - Walking distance to central sights. - Easy to collect room key even though other reviews may state otherwise. Prior arrangement with the hotel is necessary. - Very close to Mouffetard district which has fantastic and extremely reasonable restaurants (c. €13 pp for trad. French 3 course meal.) - Cutlery, kettle etc, even corkscrew provided. - No air con but a very adequate fan provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top