Les Jardins Du Roy

3 stars
5 Rue Buffon, Paris, 75005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
57 reviews
8Excellent location, close to the metro.

We visited all the famous travel spots with ease. See full review

  • Savy ones.
  • Aug 3, 2010
8Excellent location, close to the metro.

We visited all the famous travel spots with ease. See full review

  • Savy ones.
  • Aug 3, 2010
Well-equipped studios and apartments in the heart of Paris

Whether for the first time or 30th, visitors long for their own piece of real estate in the City of Light. Les Jardins Du Roy offers just that. The collection of 30 studios and apartments treat guests to an ideal location near the Botanical Gardens, Museum of Natural History and Austerlitz train station, plus conveniences such as kitchenettes, TV, cookware and dishware. For an iconic photograph in front of the quays at the Seine, travelers only have to walk five minutes.

Highlights
  • Intimate studios and apartments near the Botanical Gardens and Austerlitz train station
  • Kitchenettes equipped with microwave, refrigerator, dishware and cookware
  • Internet access (fees apply)
Rooms

Les Jardins Du Roy speaks to travelers wanting a taste of the Parisian lifestyle right from their own apartment. The 30 studios and apartments sit in the heart of Paris, steps from the Austerlitz train station, the Botanical Gardens and the Museum of Natural History. Each residence accommodates one to four guests. Expect amenities like cable TV, cookware, dishware, ensuite private bathroom and kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator. Petite-sized rooms still make space for eating and lounging with tables and chairs. Fees apply for Internet access. If available, a hairdryer, iron and ironing board come at no extra cost.

Features

Les Jardins Du Roy guests enjoy easy access to the Museum of Natural History, the Botanical Gardens and the Austerlitz train station. For a romantic trip on the Seine, simply walk five minutes to the quays.

Transportation
  • Paris-Orly Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Attractions
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • The Louvre (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Tuileries Gardens (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Champs-Elysées (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees

Guests can check in from 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. Monday to Saturday. Check in is 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. on Sundays and holidays. Contact the property for arrival procedures outside those hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Les Jardins Du Roy Rooms

Studio Room
The Room offers a double sofa bed or 2 single beds with lift/elevator, lobby, pets allowed, reception.
One Bedroom Apartment
The Room offers double sofa bed and one double bed with lift/elevator, lobby, pets allowed, reception.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Les Jardins Du Roy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

48.843 2.363
Area served
Paris.
Nearby airports
Charles De Gaulle 40kms
Area description
Hotel is near by Notre Dame, Bastille, and the Latin Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gare d'Austerlitz train station: 0.1 mi
  • Jardin des Plantes: 0.2 mi
  • Mosquee de Paris: 0.4 mi
  • Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University: 0.4 mi
  • Arènes de Lutèce: 0.5 mi
  • Arab World Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Canal de l'Ourcq: 0.5 mi
  • Gare de Lyon train station: 0.6 mi
  • Promenade Plantée: 0.6 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 0.6 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 0.6 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.7 mi
  • Opéra Bastille: 0.7 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Bastille: 0.8 mi
  • Gare d'Austerlitz train station: 0.1 mi
  • Jardin des Plantes: 0.2 mi
  • Mosquee de Paris: 0.4 mi
  • Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University: 0.4 mi
  • Arènes de Lutèce: 0.5 mi
  • Arab World Institute: 0.5 mi
  • Canal de l'Ourcq: 0.5 mi
  • Gare de Lyon train station: 0.6 mi
  • Promenade Plantée: 0.6 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 0.6 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 0.6 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.7 mi
  • Opéra Bastille: 0.7 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 0.7 mi
  • Place de la Bastille: 0.8 mi
  • Bastille and République: 0.8 mi
  • Marché d’Aligre: 0.8 mi
  • Panthéon: 0.8 mi
  • Maison de Victor Hugo: 0.8 mi
  • National Library of France: 0.9 mi
  • Memorial de la Shoah: 0.9 mi
  • Place des Vosges: 0.9 mi
  • Lycée Louis-le-Grand: 0.9 mi
  • Notre Dame de Paris : 0.9 mi
  • Notre Dame Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Gare de Bercy: 1 mi
  • Collège de Sorbonne: 1 mi
  • Rue des Rosiers : 1 mi
  • Cinémathèque Française: 1 mi
  • Carnavalet Museum: 1 mi
  • University of Paris-Sorbonne: 1 mi
  • Jewish quarter: 1 mi
  • Musée national du Moyen Âge: 1 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 1.1 mi
  • Latin Quarter of Paris: 1.1 mi
  • Mines ParisTech: 1.1 mi
  • Hotel de Ville: 1.1 mi
  • Musée Picasso: 1.2 mi
  • Paris Descartes University: 1.2 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 1.2 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 1.2 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 1.2 mi
  • Luxembourg Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Conciergerie: 1.2 mi
  • Luxembourg Palace: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Les Jardins Du Roy

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris
Not Provided
Sep 7, 2010

We stayed here for just one night

We stayed here for just one night and wished it could have been longer. The apartment was nicely furnished and very clean. It was good having a little kitchenette to make tea or coffee and to do your own breakfast rather than going down to a hotel dining room. There's a little supermarket around the corner to get basic provisions. The location is a bit out of the 'heart of the action' but very close to the station. The restaurant next door was closed but the cafe at the Mosque was very reasonably priced and did good veggie food. Being near the Park was pleasant too for walking through to the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeany Junketer
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 29, 2009

A Subpar Sojourn in Paris

I arrived at the hotel at about 12:30 am. It was dark inside - isolated - no sign of life whatsoever. I knock on the door, then I notice a keypad on the right side of the door - I press 0 (for operator) hoping someone will answer but secretly thinking no one will. Minutes pass as I continue to press 0 and knock on the door. Suddenly, the lights come on and someone emerges from the elevator. "Thank God!!!" He walks out the door, informs me he's just a patron and this hotel does not have late check-ins - I'll have to wait til morning. He closes the door and goes on his merry way with me still standing outside. Since I booked my reservation through Orbitz I'm thinking there's no way on God's creation Orbitz would send me to a hotel with no late check-in especially when I checked the "late check-in" box. Then I notice a note on the door to call a number for late check-ins. I call the #, they give me the code to open the door, then the code to the safe inside which contains my room # and key. "Whew!!!" Quite an ordeal to go through being a female all alone in a strange country in the middle of the night. I read the rules and regulations of the hotel. Okay, so they only clean your room, change sheets and towels and empty the garbage once a week - I can live with that. But, when I needed an iron I had to go downstairs to get it myself AND take it back - no ironing board. When I went to get the iron I figured I'd take my garbage down with me. I inquired about a trash can in which to put my garbage - outside - across the street. So, I took it outside and across the street as I didn't need it smelling up my room. Aside from these items, the hotel was fine - it was actually an efficiency - it had a sink, stove, mini fridge and microwave. It was clean and in a decent area - trust me as the shuttle dropped off others I was praying it wasn't my stop. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful in providing instructions on how to take the metro to my destinations - which was right at the corner. All things considered, it wasn't a bad place to stay, but in this day and age an iron and board is pretty standard and if it's not in the room, someone should bring it to you. If you don't collect trash but once a week, there should be somewhere inside the building to put it so one doesn't have to run outside in their pajamas. I don't think that's too much to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeany Junketer
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 29, 2009

A Subpar Sojourn in Paris

I arrived at the hotel at about 12:30 am. It was dark inside - isolated - no sign of life whatsoever. I knock on the door, then I notice a keypad on the right side of the door - I press 0 (for operator) hoping someone will answer but secretly thinking no one will. Minutes pass as I continue to press 0 and knock on the door. Suddenly, the lights come on and someone emerges from the elevator. "Thank God!!!" He walks out the door, informs me he's just a patron and this hotel does not have late check-ins - I'll have to wait til morning. He closes the door and goes on his merry way with me still standing outside. Since I booked my reservation through Orbitz I'm thinking there's no way on God's creation Orbitz would send me to a hotel with no late check-in especially when I checked the "late check-in" box. Then I notice a note on the door to call a number for late check-ins. I call the #, they give me the code to open the door, then the code to the safe inside which contains my room # and key. "Whew!!!" Quite an ordeal to go through being a female all alone in a strange country in the middle of the night. I read the rules and regulations of the hotel. Okay, so they only clean your room, change sheets and towels and empty the garbage once a week - I can live with that. But, when I needed an iron I had to go downstairs to get it myself AND take it back - no ironing board. When I went to get the iron I figured I'd take my garbage down with me. I inquired about a trash can in which to put my garbage - outside - across the street. So, I took it outside and across the street as I didn't need it smelling up my room. Aside from these items, the hotel was fine - it was actually an efficiency - it had a sink, stove, mini fridge and microwave. It was clean and in a decent area - trust me as the shuttle dropped off others I was praying it wasn't my stop. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful in providing instructions on how to take the metro to my destinations - which was right at the corner. All things considered, it wasn't a bad place to stay, but in this day and age an iron and board is pretty standard and if it's not in the room, someone should bring it to you. If you don't collect trash but once a week, there should be somewhere inside the building to put it so one doesn't have to run outside in their pajamas. I don't think that's too much to ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corona, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Simple, Quiet & Clean

We had a great stay at this hotel. For the price we understood exactly what we were getting. This is a clean quiet spartan hotel with a friendly staff and an excellent location. It is located close to the Metro, several reasonably priced restaurants, and two grocery stores. It is a pleasant twenty minute walk to Notre Dam and a five minute walk to the water shuttle. The rooms are simply appointed but they were quiet and clean and they have a small kitchenette and a good shower with plenty of hot water. The only disappointment with the hotel was the bed. It is merely a pull out sofa and although it is fairly comfortable it creaks alot when moving around. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with the understanding of the above points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corona, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Simple, Quiet & Clean

We had a great stay at this hotel. For the price we understood exactly what we were getting. This is a clean quiet spartan hotel with a friendly staff and an excellent location. It is located close to the Metro, several reasonably priced restaurants, and two grocery stores. It is a pleasant twenty minute walk to Notre Dam and a five minute walk to the water shuttle. The rooms are simply appointed but they were quiet and clean and they have a small kitchenette and a good shower with plenty of hot water. The only disappointment with the hotel was the bed. It is merely a pull out sofa and although it is fairly comfortable it creaks alot when moving around. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with the understanding of the above points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Sep 14, 2009

Not bad at all

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. This place is not really a hotel. It is an apartment building. The room was cozy, with a pull-out bed, full kitchen, and a bathroom. And yes, the bed is squeaky, but only if you..."make it squeak." ;) Pros: - It felt very homey. We completely unloaded our suitcases in the bathroom and closet. -It is literally right around the corner from a main metro stop and walking distance to the riverfront and Notre Dame. There is also a bike rental station just in front of the entrance. - The front desk lady was very helpful and uses perfect English. Cons: - The area dies down at night. I thought the building was in the Latin Quarter, but it is actually just outside. Also, the train stops running just before 1am. So if you want to party late at night, you will have to walk back or take a taxi. Walking did feel pretty safe. - The rooms were spotless, but there was a strange, but faint odor in the room. It may have been an old cleaning product or a bad mop. We had to open a window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Sep 14, 2009

Not bad at all

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. This place is not really a hotel. It is an apartment building. The room was cozy, with a pull-out bed, full kitchen, and a bathroom. And yes, the bed is squeaky, but only if you..."make it squeak." ;) Pros: - It felt very homey. We completely unloaded our suitcases in the bathroom and closet. -It is literally right around the corner from a main metro stop and walking distance to the riverfront and Notre Dame. There is also a bike rental station just in front of the entrance. - The front desk lady was very helpful and uses perfect English. Cons: - The area dies down at night. I thought the building was in the Latin Quarter, but it is actually just outside. Also, the train stops running just before 1am. So if you want to party late at night, you will have to walk back or take a taxi. Walking did feel pretty safe. - The rooms were spotless, but there was a strange, but faint odor in the room. It may have been an old cleaning product or a bad mop. We had to open a window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bluewit
San Francisco, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Safe and comfortable

Loved the french windows that open to the fresh air and the large bathtub. Felt safe and the staff was very helpful. Very close to the Metro, the Seine and a large park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy takeout meals and shopping at Monoprix, one block down Avenue de l'Hopital

Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bluewit
San Francisco, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Safe and comfortable

Loved the french windows that open to the fresh air and the large bathtub. Felt safe and the staff was very helpful. Very close to the Metro, the Seine and a large park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy takeout meals and shopping at Monoprix, one block down Avenue de l'Hopital

Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pacific Northwest, USA
Jul 16, 2009

No frills inexpensive lodging

The accommodations are bare bones, but do include a small kitchenette. There is a coin operated laundry machine but it was initially not working and the unhelpful young woman at the front desk was unwilling to assist. The same young woman did not speak or understand much English, which was not a problem for our French-speaking family, but could be an issue with others. It was difficult to persuade the skeleton staff to make reservations or look up information on attractions. The most serious drawback is that the front desk is manned only part-time. If you arrive in Paris while there is no one there, you will not be able to check in or obtain your room key. You will not even be able to wait in the lobby, since the front door is locked. So, you will need to call ahead and try to coordinate your arrival for a time when they are open. These arrangements will need to be done by phone; the hotel did not respond to my pre-arrival e-mails. The room is cleaned only once per week, and you can obtain clean towels free of charge only during this once-weekly cleaning. Having said all of this, the price was great for our one-bedroom unit, and the location can't be beat. The Jardin des Plantes is literally just across the street; the Gare d'Austerlitz is across the street in another direction, providing easy transportation to anywhere you might want to go; the Seine shuttle boat stop is one block away; a small grocery store is a few steps away and a large grocery store is quite close. Recommended for the budget-conscious self-sufficient traveler or traveling family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small Monoprix grocery is 5 minutes walk away and is open from 9 to 2300.

Review of Les Jardins Du Roy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pacific Northwest, USA
Jul 16, 2009

No frills inexpensive lodging

The accommodations are bare bones, but do include a small kitchenette. There is a coin operated laundry machine but it was initially not working and the unhelpful young woman at the front desk was unwilling to assist. The same young woman did not speak or understand much English, which was not a problem for our French-speaking family, but could be an issue with others. It was difficult to persuade the skeleton staff to make reservations or look up information on attractions. The most serious drawback is that the front desk is manned only part-time. If you arrive in Paris while there is no one there, you will not be able to check in or obtain your room key. You will not even be able to wait in the lobby, since the front door is locked. So, you will need to call ahead and try to coordinate your arrival for a time when they are open. These arrangements will need to be done by phone; the hotel did not respond to my pre-arrival e-mails. The room is cleaned only once per week, and you can obtain clean towels free of charge only during this once-weekly cleaning. Having said all of this, the price was great for our one-bedroom unit, and the location can't be beat. The Jardin des Plantes is literally just across the street; the Gare d'Austerlitz is across the street in another direction, providing easy transportation to anywhere you might want to go; the Seine shuttle boat stop is one block away; a small grocery store is a few steps away and a large grocery store is quite close. Recommended for the budget-conscious self-sufficient traveler or traveling family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Small Monoprix grocery is 5 minutes walk away and is open from 9 to 2300.

Back to menu Return to top