$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

3 stars
View map of 55 rue de Plaisance, --, Paris, 75014

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
13 reviews
Great room really bad wifi

The room was great for the price, clean and right off of the metro line for access to all of the... See full review

  • Sx3 Wandering Traveler
  • May 29, 2014
A Really Good Stay

We stayed at Hotel Ville du Maine on the first 3 days of our visit. We were pleasantly surprised... See full review

  • treeUNOME
  • Apr 29, 2014
Located in the lively 14th district, 55 Htel Montparnasse is only 100 metres from Pernety Metro Station which connects to Champs Elysees, and 650 metres from Montparnasse Train Station. Fresh pastries are served with the buffet breakfast. These contemporary rooms have a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, air conditionning, double glazing and free Wi-Fi access. Free toiletries and a hairdryer are supplied in the private bathrooms. A buffet breakfast is served in the dining room and you can enjoy snacks and a variety of drinks from the all-day bar. This hotel also features a rooftop terrace with views of the city. Amount is 11 euros. Porte de Versailles is accessible by public transport in 20 minutes.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Room offers one double bed with cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, heating, free access Wifi, non-smoking rooms, shared bathroom and telephone. The area of room is 160X200.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Superior Room offers one double bed or two twin beds with cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, heating, free access Wifi, non-smoking rooms, shared bathroom and telephone. The area of room is 180X200.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Place de Catalogne: 0.2 mi
  • Gare Montparnasse train station: 0.4 mi
  • Théâtre de la Gaîté-Montparnasse: 0.5 mi
  • Denfert-Rochereau: 0.7 mi
  • Catacombs of Paris: 0.7 mi
  • Musée du Montparnasse: 0.7 mi
  • Porte d'Orleans: 0.8 mi
  • Le Cordon Bleu Paris Culinary Art School: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre du Lucernaire: 0.9 mi
  • École normale supérieure: 1 mi
  • Parc Montsouris: 1.2 mi
  • Mines ParisTech: 1.3 mi
  • Luxembourg Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Michel - Saint Germain des Pres: 1.3 mi
  • Bibliothèque de Sainte-Geneviève: 1.3 mi
  • Place de Catalogne: 0.2 mi
  • Gare Montparnasse train station: 0.4 mi
  • Théâtre de la Gaîté-Montparnasse: 0.5 mi
  • Denfert-Rochereau: 0.7 mi
  • Catacombs of Paris: 0.7 mi
  • Musée du Montparnasse: 0.7 mi
  • Porte d'Orleans: 0.8 mi
  • Le Cordon Bleu Paris Culinary Art School: 0.8 mi
  • Théâtre du Lucernaire: 0.9 mi
  • École normale supérieure: 1 mi
  • Parc Montsouris: 1.2 mi
  • Mines ParisTech: 1.3 mi
  • Luxembourg Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Saint Michel - Saint Germain des Pres: 1.3 mi
  • Bibliothèque de Sainte-Geneviève: 1.3 mi
  • Palais du Luxembourg: 1.3 mi
  • Musée Auguste Rodin: 1.5 mi
  • Sciences Po: 1.5 mi
  • University of Paris-Sorbonne: 1.5 mi
  • Panthéon: 1.5 mi
  • Collège de Sorbonne: 1.5 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 1.6 mi
  • Lycée Louis-le-Grand: 1.6 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 1.6 mi
  • Musée des Plans-Reliefs: 1.6 mi
  • Abbey of St-Germain-des-Prés: 1.6 mi
  • Exhibition Center Porte de Versailles: 1.6 mi
  • Musée d'Histoire Contemporaine: 1.6 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 1.6 mi
  • Paris Descartes University: 1.6 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 1.6 mi
  • Army Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 1.6 mi
  • Musée national du Moyen Âge: 1.6 mi
  • Stade Sébastien Charléty: 1.7 mi
  • Latin Quarter of Paris: 1.7 mi
  • Les Invalides: 1.8 mi
  • Arènes de Lutèce: 1.8 mi
  • Champ de Mars: 1.8 mi
  • Mosquee de Paris: 1.8 mi
  • Bibliothèque Mazarine: 1.8 mi
  • Institut de France: 1.8 mi
  • Orsay Museum: 1.9 mi
  • National Assembly: 1.9 mi
  • The American Library in Paris: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristmasTwink
Dublin
Jan 4, 2013

Perfect location

This hotel was perfect for us, a couple, right beside a metro station that ran straight to the Champs Elysees. The staff were very helpful and super friendly. The room was lovely, clean and quiet with really comfy beds.. perfect!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Head 2 stops on the metro to Gare Montraparnasse and visit the Hippopotamus resuraunt.. yummy food and cocktails for a great price.

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
U travel
Business
Russia
Sep 11, 2014

solo business traveler

All was good, a nice value for the price, compared to other similar places. Right next to subway station. Walking to Montparnasse train station. Breakfast is good. Room is clean. Got to hotel from airport on bus (Gare Montparnass station), cost 17.5 euro one way, 30 euros both ways, compared to taxi 60-80 euros).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

breakfast is good

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fahed
Business
London
Aug 13, 2014

Noisy

It was a bad expérience , staff not friendly , very noisy , nô coffee or te a. Make in the room . They wanted tô be paid for à second Time. , fortunatly i had with me m'y vaucher confirming my booking paid .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sx3 Wandering Traveler
Business
St .Paul
May 29, 2014

Great room really bad wifi

The room was great for the price, clean and right off of the metro line for access to all of the sites of Paris. The Eiffel Tower, The Louvre and the Musee D'Orsay are all 15 minutes away by metro. There are shops all around for supper and if you are interested in going the fruit, bread and cheese route. Our only complaint is that the wifi was horrific, we could not upload photos to dropbox or send an e-mail with an attachment without being dropped and don't even think about streaming. The wifi is free so really we can't complain to much. All in all we would highly recommend this hotel, the rooms are small but the bed is comfortable and the front desk service was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Catacombs are a 10 minute walk from the hotel an SO cool. Arrive at it EARLY though, we got in line at 9 am and by the time the Crypts opened at 10am there was a 2 hour line behind us that wrapped around the block! Also, be aware that " tour guides" will stand in line or just step in line in front of you and the bring 30+ people right before 10 am to jump the line.

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
treeUNOME
Business
North Carolina, USA
Apr 29, 2014

A Really Good Stay

We stayed at Hotel Ville du Maine on the first 3 days of our visit. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked into Le 55. The rooms are small, but I guess that's to be expected in Paris. The room was EXTREMELY clean, very comfortable for the small size, a GREAT location....the metro is a 1 minute walk from the hotel, and there are great shops right outside the hotel. 10 minutes to Champs-elysees and tour Eiffel, also the Louvre by metro. Cant wait to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanaMJ
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2014

A bit far from the main but great hotel

I found this hotel a tad far from the "main" part of Paris (Latin Quarter, Marais, Champ-Elysses area) but it was a wonderful little part of town. The train system was easy to navigate to and from the hotel area. The bakery next door was an amazing little addition every morning (get the quiche) and Au Metro was convenient and tasty (I recommend the goat cheese appetizer). The staff spoke English and generally stayed out of the way. The hotel was cleaned every day and I had no problems with the size at all - actually it was quite a bit larger than I anticipated especially for Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vegetarians in the area should take the .2 mile walk to Aquarius. It was wonderful and the entire menu is vegetarian/vegan.

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lifelong learners
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 4, 2014

Comfortable hotel in residential neighborhood

Small, comfortable hotel, in charming neighborhood with lots of food shops and amenities for locals. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Room was small--with precious little space to put anything, but fortunately we were both able to find enough space to "work out of our suitcase". Breakfast was more than adequate--various breads, fresh fruit, eggs, yoghurt. It would have been nice to have fresh, rather than packaged cheese, but not a major issue. Metro stop just a few steps from the front door. Reasonably good value considering we were there over the New Years holiday and rates everywhere were quite high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lhayde
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 6, 2013

Great location and very pleasant!

The hotel is very close to a metro stop! For a visitor who did not know much about the area, its' location was great! The staff was very polite. The rooms were very clean and quaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wezzer
Business
Cork
Apr 8, 2013

Excellent all round until mislead with the taxi price to the airport

Room was satisfactory, staff were excellent And the access to the metro was very convenient. The only issue I had was the taxi price I was quoted to the airport by the hotel which was displayed at the reception counter. We were told the price of a taxi to the airport would be €55, saucy but we were willing to pay. When we arrived at the airport we were told €72 was the fare. I questioned it and was told there is a €16 reservation fee for the taxi which is outrageous! I am unaware if the hotel knows about this "booking fee" but you need to ask before you book the taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le 55 Montparnasse Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Digglio
Business
Manchester, England
Dec 30, 2012

Perfect couple getaway

This hotel is situated across the road from a metro station, which is ideal for getting around Paris. Plenty of local shops and a supermarket nearby, which is handy. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drinks can be expensive in some places. When deciding where to eat look at the drinks prices as well as the food.

Back to menu Return to top