Hotel Saint Christophe

3 stars
View map of 17, rue Lacepede, Paris, 75005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Saint Christophe

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ace on the road
Business
Boston
May 10, 2009

Great location

Great location. 5 min taxi from Gare de Lyon and RER Luxembourg. 5 min walk from 100's of medium range restaurants. Walking to Pantheon, long walk to Rodin museum, etc. Room size adequate by Paris standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Virginia
Nov 1, 2009

Comfortable room with great location

During the week we stayed there, the guests all seemed to be Americans or Brits -- but this hotel looks and feels like it belongs to the neighborhood, and isn't a tourist trap. The staff is hard-working and very helpful. Our room was very comfortable and quiet -- bathroom and front balcony windows open for ventilation; even when open, the neighborhood is pretty quiet. LOTS of good services and places to eat nearby. Don't miss the Jardin des Plantes. We're in our 50s and had no trouble walking to the Louvre; Metro service is excellent. Rue Mouffetarde is only 3 blocks -- charming neighborhood with good cafes. Rue Monge, the main drag, is loaded with stores including a Carrefour supermarket where you can stock your room's minibar. Pantheon is a 10 minute walk. Restaurants we'd recommend in the immediate neighborhood: Jardin des Pates, Cafe Mouffetarde, Assiettes aux Fromages, Le Perraudin. You can't beat this hotel for price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If this is your first trip to Paris, as it was for us, and you're not traveling with a group, do your homework! Get a couple of good guidebooks (we used the Little Black Book of Paris and Rick Steves) and learn to cross-check between them. Having a list of things to see and places to eat gives you great flexibility to change your plans depending on how you feel from day to day.

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Apr 1, 2010

Lovely small hotel

I enjoyed early morning walks down to Isle St Louis and Notre Dame. We enjoyed breakfast together in the hotel before setting out for the day. Shower was nice. Metro was a block down the street and we also caught the market there on 2 mornings. Coming back from the day there was a nice cafe for a cocktail or whatever. Back to the room only 1 block for a rest. Dinner choices were numerous and pretty inexpensive on Rue Mouffetard, only a short walk. Then back to the cafe for night cap and our comfortable room.Nice vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rue Mouffetard

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bethlehem, pa
Apr 22, 2009

hotel saint christophe

Location is great for us. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was good. Room was comfortable. Shower was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many prix fix restaurants just up the hill.

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Cottage
Dec 6, 2008

nice location, uncomfortable bed

Nice location in Latin Quarter area, lively neighborhood with lots of dining options. The metro is around the corner so its an easy 20 minute ride to downtown Paris. Free internet which was very helpful. Room was clean, decent size. On the downside, the breakfast was minimal, coffee and crossants. The bed was really uncomfortable, two beds put together that kept sliding apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk two blocks down you'll hit Rue Mouferatt which is a nice long and narrow avenue with tons of dining options and stores. Lots of people hanging out having a good time, great for young singles and couples.

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upper Westsider
Business
New York, NY
Nov 7, 2009

Hotel Saint Christophe

The hotel was on the inexpensive side (which is always a plus). It was comfortable (we had room #11 which is on the second floor facing the street). The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a tub in the bathroom, the shower was good, the towels were good, and there was a good hair dryer. There were sufficient outlets in the room for recharging phones, cameras, and laptop, if you alternated charging these devices a bit (we had two sets of each of these items). You can use the hotel's internet for free, but free wi-fi would have been better since the French keyboard is a bit different from the keyboards in the U.S. (wi-fi is available, but there is a charge). The room was on the small side, and my husband, who is 5'10" said that he thought anyone who is taller than him would have trouble with the length of the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel, Rishon leZiyyon
Jun 18, 2009

The good

Six floors, four rooms per floor hotel. Six tables breakfast room. Surprisingly the breakfast was included (not shown in hotel description). Clean and good enough for Paris rooms. There are no air conditioners in the rooms. Two minutes walking to metro, fifteen minutes walking to the Notre Dam de Paris, five minutes to restaurants area of Latin quarter where chipper and better than in the city center. The only negative impression - elevator in the hotel was out of order several times during our eight days sating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you would like to try fried frogs in Paris go to the "Roger La Grenouille" restaurant at 26-28 Rue Des Grands Augustins. Not cheap (33 EUR for number of legs) but remain in memory.

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 1, 2009

Great price/location in Paris!

The hotel is very clean, staff very helpful, and one block from a Metro stop. It was perfect for what I was looking for, a place to come back to after a full day of touring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 24, 2010

comfortable and convenient

The St.-Christophe is a small hotel, attractive, with the entrance just off the main street; the lobby is newer-looking than the rooms, but the latter are neat and clean. We were on the sixth floor (there's an elevator) so very quiet, with a balcony out through the mansard roof; it was February, so the lack of airconditioning wasn't a problem. If you don't have your computer, residents have access to the net with one in the lobby. All the staff we met spoke English perfectly well. Very convenient to two different subway lines, 10 minute walk to the Sorbonne. Hotel breakfast was cereal/brioche/croissant, jams and cheese spread, yoghurt, coffee, fruit—fine to keep one going through the day. A bonus: we really enjoyed a couple of evening meals only a block away at a pleasant restaurant (Le Jardin des Pâtes) specializing in different pastas from wheat, rye, barley, rice—all sorts of grains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Saint Christophe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence, KS
May 30, 2009

Wonderful hotel and neighborhood

Thank you to all the other reviewers who recommended the Saint-Christophe! I knew exactly what to expect and wasn't surprised by anything. The rooms are small but have everything you need and are incredibly clean. The only suggestion I would have is that I think its time to get new mattresses and pillows. Otherwise--wonderful. Our breakfast was included and so we didn't try the local bakeries. We went to Rue Mouffetard and Place de la Contrascarpe every day for dinner or coffee! The Jardin des Plantes is two blocks the other way and the metro station is also around the corner and down a couple of blocks. For a quick meal I would recommend the asian take-out place around the corner on Rue Monge and Il Crete on the square--I know, its not french food but we liked those places for a change. The staff is so helpful and nice and it was great to have free access to a computer. I would definitely stay there again--no hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to as many outdoor markets as you can! They are all a bit different--we loved the one at Place Maubert. The Bastille is huge so be prepared, and the one right by the metro station at Place Monge is also good.

Back to menu Return to top