Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

3 stars
41 rue d Hauteville, Paris, 75010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
11 reviews
Good Choice for Tourists

We were with a tour group that ended its itinerary after two days in Paris. We were staying at the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 25, 2009
Cute and Cozy

The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times needed. The hotel was very relaxing and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 19, 2009
Intimate guest rooms sport cavern flair and free Wi-Fi

Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris sits in the bustling 10th arrondissement close to Gare du Nord and Metro stations that lead to Place de la Concorde and the Paris Opera. Inside, guests find intimate cavernous spaces like a vaulted, stone-walled breakfast room and stone-accented guest rooms. Free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • 10th arrondissement hotel just a few minutes from Gare du Nord
  • Easy access to the Opera and Place de la Concorde via the Metro
  • Breakfast room with vaulted ceilings
  • Free Wi-Fi
Location

Situated in the 10th arrondissement of Paris, Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris offers direct access to the Metro station leading to the Paris Opera, or Palais Garnier, and Place de la Concorde. Also a few minutes from Gare du Nord, the hotel affords an easy walk to the many shops, restaurants and bars in the neighborhood.

Rooms

Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris rooms have a cavernous aesthetic with wood-beamed ceilings and rock-stone walls. Pastel-hued comforters lend softness to the space, while brass sconces further a traditional look. Angled ceilings create the feeling of a Paris flat. Small- and medium-sized rooms boast a flat-screen TV, safe and free Wi-Fi access. All rooms are nonsmoking. Connecting rooms might also be available upon request.

Dining
Like the rest of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris, the on-site restaurant reflects a cavern feel with vaulted stone ceilings. There, guests dine on a traditional French breakfast of pastries and breads.

Transportation
  • Paris-Orly Airport (10.2 mi/16.5 km)
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (13.5 mi/21.7 km)
Attractions
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • The Louvre (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Tuileries Gardens (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Sainte Chapelle (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Paris Opera (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Champs-Elysées (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Les Invalides (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Arc de Triomphe (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Versailles (4 mi/6.5km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris Rooms

Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed with Air conditioning, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Wifi.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed with Air conditioning, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Wifi.
Standard Triple Room
The room offers 1 Triple bed with Air conditioning, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Wifi.
Standard Quadruple bed
The room offers 1 Quadruple bed with Air conditioning, Hairdryer, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Wifi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Folies Bergere: 0.3 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.3 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.4 mi
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers: 0.5 mi
  • Gare de l'Est train station: 0.5 mi
  • Marais Quarter: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Gare du Nord train station: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Saint-Martin: 0.6 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.7 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.8 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.8 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.8 mi
  • Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Folies Bergere: 0.3 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.3 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.4 mi
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers: 0.5 mi
  • Gare de l'Est train station: 0.5 mi
  • Marais Quarter: 0.5 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.5 mi
  • Gare du Nord train station: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Saint-Martin: 0.6 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 0.7 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 0.8 mi
  • Les Halles: 0.8 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 0.8 mi
  • Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 0.9 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 0.9 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 0.9 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 0.9 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 0.9 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 0.9 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 0.9 mi
  • Place des Abbesses: 0.9 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 0.9 mi
  • Montmartre - Pigalle: 0.9 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 1 mi
  • Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris: 1 mi
  • Place du Tertre: 1 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 1 mi
  • Printemps : 1 mi
  • Olympia: 1 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 1.1 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 1.1 mi
  • Musée de la Publicité: 1.1 mi
  • Louvre Museum - Beaubourg: 1.1 mi
  • Louvre Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Carrousel du Louvre: 1.1 mi
  • Moulin Rouge: 1.1 mi
  • Samaritaine: 1.1 mi
  • Musée Picasso: 1.1 mi
  • Hotel de Ville: 1.1 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 1.2 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 1.2 mi
  • Paris Saint-Lazare: 1.2 mi
  • Madeleine: 1.2 mi
  • Conciergerie: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paris Traveller
Business
UK
Mar 19, 2013

Overated

A 3* hotel, self rated as 4*. Price not justified. Hard to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paris Traveller
Business
UK
Nov 30, 2012

*** Rating not justified

Hotel located centrally, poor directions and hard to locate. I would rate it as a 2 star, not a good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of good food joints near to Gard du Nord train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kevin in Colorado
Business
Loveland, CO, USA
Dec 1, 2011

small rooms, GREAT location

rooms are tiny by American standards, and few amenities, a little dirty and old, but the price and location are great if you are there to explore the city, would stay again without kids, but not with kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
a honeymooner
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 3, 2011

sleep tight, dont let them bite.

There are some great aspects about this hotel, and some that are not so great. First, the good. We can confirm that it is quite close to the metro. We took the RER from the airport, and switched to metro, getting off at the Chateau d/Eau metro stop which was about 3 or 4 blocks from the hotel. Upon arrival and throughout our stay, the hotel staff was quite friendly. The room was of good size (for Paris) and clean, and had been relatively recently renovated. The location was pretty great...walking/hiking distance to almost everything. However, we encountered two major issues with this hotel, leading to our low overall recommendation. First, the shower was small, and the enclosure bordered on completely nonfunctional. Rather than a shower curtain, there was a solid panel that was supposed to enclose the shower, but it did not fit. Thus, the water streamed out of the shower and onto the floor of the bathroom during every shower. We did our best to soak up the water on the floor. But, we were not able to prevent this from occuring. The people in the room upstairs from us also probably had this problem, because, on one occasion, my wife noticed a cascade of water running down the wall (which soaked one of our suitcases). Next, we found bedbugs in the room (one living and another dead). I'm sure that there are more of the "alive" ones since my wife is now covered in welts from bedbug bites. Hopefully, we didnt bring any of them back home. We washed everything as soon as we got home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pennypie
Business
Middletown, NY, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Good central Paris location

Hotel is walking distance to many sites. Central location on a small side street very close to a main road and a few different Metro stations. Room is small but adequate for anyone who does not plan on staying in their room when there is all of Paris to explore. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was good size compared to other older hotels. There is a lift (so no lugging of suitcases up stairs). Air Conditioning worked well and plenty of hot water. There is some street noise but not bad. Room was clean and kept that way. Staff was moderately helpful. General comment: when exploring Paris get the multi day travel pass that will let you use the Metro, bus and trains. Intercity if you are only exploring central Paris or the #5 level if you want to go to some places outside central Paris (including Versailles and the Airports). Passes are good for consecutive days so plan accourding. Bon Chance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not be afraid of the Metro. Great way to get around and very good clear signage to help you get there. Buy the multipass for Metro, bus and train. Also if visiting lots of museums get the museum card but plan so that you do multple museums close together timewise as pass is for consecutive days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
takeithometravellers
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Nov 4, 2009

Short of expectations

We chose the hotel due to its proximity to the Gare du Nord which would have been convenient for an inexpensive train ride out to CDG airport. The neighborhood was a bit disquieting with numerous "street" people. Neighborhood (walking distance) restaurants were more bistros with bars than brasseries as we had desired. The bathroom was small and poorly designed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jackson's Mom
Business
Aviano, Italy
Sep 30, 2009

Not for tall people!

This hotel was relatively close to a metro stop which was nice but the room was extremely small. If you are over 5'5" you should probably not stay here. We would touch the ceiling while taking off your sweatshirt! And the shower was WAY too short. This hotel would probably be ok for a single individual who didn't mind sitting down during their shower! Also I would not pay for breakfast at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 14, 2009

Nice for a short stay

Staff was friendly...at first glance room looked nice. After lifting the bedsheets we found hair and it wasn't clean. Dust on everything in the room. Besides that nice area to go to Hard Rock Cafe, Est Train station and Metro is right down the street. Several other restaurants, bars, and shops also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe, Indiana Cafe is great. Gymnelypsee has unfriendly staff and not very good service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 12, 2009

Fine for short stay

The hotel was fine for our needs, which was a quiet room for one night before we left to return hone. The rooms are smaller than they appear in photos. One staff member seemed more interested in his phone conversations than helping me, but once I got his attention, he was okay. A plus was the use of the Internet in the lobby. The neighborhood a few blocks away was rather questionable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hauteville Opera Paris

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern Shore, Maryland, USA
Jul 25, 2009

Good Choice for Tourists

We were with a tour group that ended its itinerary after two days in Paris. We were staying at the Novotel Eiffel thpse two days and then moved to Hotel Hauteville which was just what we expected--small, clean, good breakfast, helpful staff, and easy location to get to everything. In our week, we got to almost everything that we wanted for our first time round in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Montmarte is just up the Hill-- be sure to go and cicle out through the sqaure where all of the artists are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top