Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

3 stars
54 Rue Monge, Paris, 75005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
52 reviews
Great location and kind helpful staff

Traveled with adult daughter. Location was good, 10 minutes walking to Notre Dame in residential... See full review

  • Rpcvrn
  • Jul 24, 2014
Paris with my son - who's 18!

My son and I had a great time experiencing Paris for the first time. I'm glad we choose this hotel... See full review

  • rachygoestouring
  • Aug 14, 2014
Comfortable Paris hotel offers Wi-Fi access

Located next to Arènes de Lutece in the heart of the Latin Quarter, Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain enjoys the charm of a Parisian restaurant and nightlife. Guests do not have to walk far for cute boutiques and café-lined streets or major tourist destinations like Notre Dame and Palais du Luxembourg. Intimate rooms come with Wi-Fi and satellite TV, while a daily breakfast buffet (fees apply) rounds out the conveniences.

Highlights
  • Affordable hotel in the heart of the Latin Quarter
  • Daily breakfast buffet or continental breakfast (fees apply) via room service
  • Wi-Fi
Location

Guests at Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain do not have to travel far to find classic snippets of Parisian life. From the property, guests stroll down Rue Mouffetard to sample local markets and global restaurants or pick up wardrobe pieces on boutique-studded Boulevard Saint Germain.

Rooms

Dark wood furniture and complementary neutral colors warm rooms at Hotel Des Nations Saint German. The property covers 38 rooms, all of which are air-conditioned and boast Wi-Fi access, outside phone connection, in-room safe, mini bar and satellite TV. White-tiled bathrooms come with a bath tub or shower and hair dryer.

Dining

Before hitting the monuments, shops and restaurants, guests stop for breakfast (fees apply) in the hotel lobby, where a tempting buffet is served from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. Visitors who would prefer to dine in can order continental breakfast in their room from 8 a.m. to 10 a.m for a fee.

Transportation
  • Paris-Charles de Gaulle Airport (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Paris-Orly Airport (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
Attractions
  • The Sorbonne and Latin Quarter (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Notre Dame Cathedral (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Jardin du Luxembourg (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Maison de Victor Hugo (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Musee Picasso (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Centre Georges Pompidou (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • The Louvre (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Tuileries Gardens (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Musee D'Orsay (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Eiffel Tower (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sacre Coeur and Montmartre (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Champs-Elysées (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Versailles (3 mi/4.9 km)
Business
  • Internet kiosk
  • Fax service
Policies and fees
  • Breakfast buffet (14€)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain Rooms

Single
Room with one twin bed includes individual heat and A/C, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities,safe, wifi, TV satelite, hair dryer.
Double or twin
Room with one twin bed includes individual heat and A/C, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, safe, wifi, TV satelite, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Elevators
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

48.8448 2.3522
Area served
Located in Paris Left bank in the heart of the Latin Quarter, near Notre Dame de Paris, the Panthon and the beautifull old streets like Rue Mouffetard
Nearby airports
Paris - Orly. It is 15 kilometers away. Roissy Charles de Gaulle is 25 kilometers away.
Area description
Located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, the Htel des Nations St Germain opens its doors to a quiet and warm atmosphere.

Nearby points of interest

  • Arènes de Lutèce: 0 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 0.1 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 0.2 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 0.2 mi
  • Mosquee de Paris: 0.2 mi
  • Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University: 0.3 mi
  • Panthéon: 0.3 mi
  • Arab World Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Jardin des Plantes: 0.3 mi
  • Lycée Louis-le-Grand: 0.4 mi
  • Collège de Sorbonne: 0.5 mi
  • University of Paris-Sorbonne: 0.5 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.5 mi
  • Musée national du Moyen Âge: 0.6 mi
  • Notre Dame de Paris : 0.6 mi
  • Arènes de Lutèce: 0 mi
  • Place de la Contrescarpe: 0.1 mi
  • Lycée Henri-IV: 0.2 mi
  • Rue Mouffetard: 0.2 mi
  • Mosquee de Paris: 0.2 mi
  • Pierre-and-Marie-Curie University: 0.3 mi
  • Panthéon: 0.3 mi
  • Arab World Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Jardin des Plantes: 0.3 mi
  • Lycée Louis-le-Grand: 0.4 mi
  • Collège de Sorbonne: 0.5 mi
  • University of Paris-Sorbonne: 0.5 mi
  • Ile St.-Louis: 0.5 mi
  • Musée national du Moyen Âge: 0.6 mi
  • Notre Dame de Paris : 0.6 mi
  • Mines ParisTech: 0.6 mi
  • Gare d'Austerlitz train station: 0.6 mi
  • Notre Dame Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Latin Quarter of Paris: 0.6 mi
  • Luxembourg Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Paris Descartes University: 0.7 mi
  • Memorial de la Shoah: 0.7 mi
  • Palais du Luxembourg: 0.7 mi
  • Saint Michel - Saint Germain des Pres: 0.7 mi
  • Canal de l'Ourcq: 0.8 mi
  • Sainte-Chapelle: 0.8 mi
  • Palais de Justice: 0.8 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 0.8 mi
  • Conciergerie: 0.9 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 0.9 mi
  • Hotel de Ville: 0.9 mi
  • Rue des Rosiers : 0.9 mi
  • Boulevard Saint-Germain: 0.9 mi
  • Place Dauphine: 0.9 mi
  • Promenade Plantée: 0.9 mi
  • Maison de Victor Hugo: 0.9 mi
  • Marche rue de Buci: 0.9 mi
  • Place des Vosges: 1 mi
  • Place de la Bastille: 1 mi
  • Opéra Bastille: 1 mi
  • Jewish quarter: 1 mi
  • Carnavalet Museum: 1 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 1 mi
  • Théâtre du Lucernaire: 1 mi
  • Gare de Lyon train station: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Wannabe Savvy Traveler
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 1, 2010

Great Location and Amenities

When I reserved I was given a non-smoking room with twin beds, I called ahead to ask for an upstairs back room for being quieter and it was provided although that depends on whether they are able to do it based on their daily clentele movement. The room was small, something that is true of all european hotels, but had all amenities including A/C, full length windows that opened, a flat screen TV, and an up to date immaculate bathroom complete with hair dryer. It was cleaned daily to my satisfaction. There was also a Metro entrance right across the street. It was a very satisfactory accomodation and I would stay there again if in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro to get around, it is cheap, readily available, will take you anywhere and is pretty easy to understand even if you don't speak French

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Just what we were looking for

We were spending a few days in Paris and wanted a hotel in a good location that was reasonably priced. Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain was perfect. The room is small but we didn't spend much time in it. We had a nice balcony that provided a view of the top of Notre Dame. We could walk to many places and used the metro which is nearby for others. The staff was very friendly and provided directions on how to get to the many places we were headed. It was a great place to start from to enjoy our time in Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Guinevere
Business
Saranac Lake, New York
Feb 8, 2012

Fantastic Place!

We spent four nights at the Hotel des Nations Saint-Germain for a quick Paris getaway. Location is perfect in the Latin Quarter. It was extremely cold during our stay yet we were still centrally located enough to walk to restaurants and even down to the Ile-de-la-Cite. There are 2 Metro stations just a few minutes walk in either direction making it simple to get all around the city. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff is cordial, helpful, and multi-lingual. Housekeeping is great. Breakfast buffet is super. If you are an American accustomed to big American hotel spaces with big American bathrooms and big American elevators this is not for you. This is a charming, comfortable clean, traditional French-style hotel. We will happily stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rue Mouffetard - full of cafes, restaurants, bars, pastry shops, etc. Great night life. A student area that is still great for all ages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jkhoang
Business
Harrisburg, PA
May 23, 2012

English Speaking Great Location

Very nice place to stay. Friendly English speaking staff. Close to patisseries, restaurants, grocery store, and metro. Area also seemed safe enough at night. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro is right in front of a patisserie down the left side of the hotel (when coming out of the hotel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canisia
Business
New York, NY
Sep 10, 2012

Small, cozy, pleasant

We stayed for five days, walked to the Seine, took the metro around the corner, walked to rue Mouffetard for great cafes and restaurants. Descartes, Hemingway houses nearby. Central, yet quaint and intimate. Breakfast was great, and the staff at the front desk were courteous and helpful. Will book again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant "Le Volcan" has great onion soup and duck, and the house wine is quite decent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SandraArtist
Business
Orlando, Florida
May 27, 2013

Wonderful Hotel

We stayed at this Hotel for 12 days, they were so helpful, directions for anything we needed, they even set up our tour to go to Normandy for the day, lots more in expensive than any other tour we looked at on line.. Rooms are small cause it is the oldest area of Paris, but so Paris... loved it.. had a view of the street from the third floor. wonderful food locations close to the hotel. there is laundry shop, and market close.. Loved our stay there, will be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get directions from the staff to go to Moufftard Street, lots of food locations, cafes, shopping, flower shops, anything, spent a lot of time there, so enjoyable..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry WK
Business
Chicago , IL
Jan 22, 2011

Good Location. Friendly Staff

Read previous reviews. Hallways were dark but there was a light switch with a timer on it. Rooms very small but I think that is normal for Paris Hotels. Never had a problem with noise from other rooms despite close quarters. Grocery store just down the street on Rue Monge and easy walk to Notre Dame. Huge selection of good places to eat very close. Just walk down to small streets around St Severin. Only had one desk clerk begin to get annoyed with me when I asked him to translate some french to english on a tourist flyer. Rest of staff always helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Couple very good jazz clubs nearby. Caveau de la Huchette and Le Caveau des Oubliettes next to church.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cesiblue Super Wife
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 24, 2010

Hotel Des Nations Sait Germain

Very attentive and they had great knowledge and responded to our tourist questions perfectly. We had a great time. Compared to other trips this is one of our best stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the hotel, you have a wonderful restaurant with great prices. Also the Metro and the RER are just on each corner of the hotel. ATM just a couple of doors down. Latin Quarters right behind the hotel about 3-4 blocks. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rpcvrn
Business
Pennsylvania, PA
Jul 24, 2014

Great location and kind helpful staff

Traveled with adult daughter. Location was good, 10 minutes walking to Notre Dame in residential neighborhood. This hotel was everything I had hoped, clean safe, with helpful staff. I esp want to mention Marie at the desk who always helped us and answered all our questions. Of course the room was small, as expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Des Nations Saint Germain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Gypsy Girl
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 8, 2010

Good place to stay

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Prior to my arrival, they made some dinner reservations for me that I requested by email.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can take the 7 metro and get off one stop before Jussieu (can't remember the name of the stop, but I think it's P. Monge). Anyway, this stop will get you just across the street from the hotel. For some reason this stop doesn't show up on the metro map/schedule, but it's very handy. (You'll have to climb about 4 flights of stairs to exit the station.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top