$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

3 stars
View map of 6 rue Montgolfier, Paris, 75003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A quicky with no children
Business
Israel
Jul 15, 2012

Very nasty staff, can be a killer of your vacation

I ordered a room for 1 (double bed) at Austins Arts et Metiers for about 120$/day for 5 days (conference). My wife and me managed to organize that she will join me for the last 3 days. I didn’t change the order, thinking it will not be a deal if she join at the room (no breakfast), or they will ask for some minor edition (10-20$/day). At the night my wife came the man at the desk said no problem. A day after they asked for an edition of not less than 56$/day (there are no edition expenses at their end). We were shocked and asked for rethinking the price because it was a ridiculously high in compare to the price diffrences for 1 and 32 persons in a room at Cheap Tickets. They became nasty and let us feel we are thieves or people with no honor. The staff were not willing to compromise the price nor to let us speak with the manager. At last we paid the 56$/day * 3days and promised ourselves we will at least lower their rate at Cheap Tickets. The staff were so hostile it really ruined one of our 3 precious days in Paris. DONT TAKE THIS HOTEL and keep up your smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

the free (except tip) walking tours guided by young student that grew up and study in Paris are good. Google it for details.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vickmack
Business
Moraga, California
May 30, 2012

Way too expensive for two single ladies for a long weekend in Paris

Staff friendly and courteous, but minimally helpful with concierge services and watched without offer of help as we struggled with heavy luggage. Still figuring out how to get around Paris from hotel on our 3rd night, still finding out about hotel amenities (and we know Paris a little) - an orientation to services would have been helpful. Hotel makes a big deal of being "green" and they have a sign up in bathroom on how to re-use towels. Then, they provided pink toilet paper, whose dye was not kind to ladies' delicate areas AND washed the towels (twice) that we had left hanging up, per hotel instructions, so that they could be re-used. A complaint: is the 14 euros we were charged for "booking" an airport shuttle. It took the front desk guy about 2 minutes. As we were traveling together, the extra $7.00 charge was really over the top. This should not even be a charge. Next time I will stay in an apartment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a straight shot from the hotel down to the river, but if you don't know how, you will get hopelessly lost. Which is never a bad thing in Paris. . .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolbEDD
Business
North Carolina
May 23, 2012

Girlfriends' Week in Paris

I don't know how you do flights and hotel (6 nights) in Paris with quality and inexpensively, but we did it and thanks for the arrangements. The hotel was several blocks away from the Seine but we stayed in a neighborhood in the Marais district and it was fabulous. Very good locale for meeting locals and living like a Parisian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Handsome
Business
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Grerat place to stay in Paris

The hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the location is great (a five-minute walk to Pompideau and right next to the metro). The breakfast is outstanding. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone planning a visit to Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Handsome
Business
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Grerat place to stay in Paris

The hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the location is great (a five-minute walk to Pompideau and right next to the metro). The breakfast is outstanding. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone planning a visit to Paris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the pass for the museums in order to avoid long lines and potentially save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpidersareFriendly
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Awesome Time

Went on Holiday and Had a blast! The hotel is a block or so from Le Marais. The Metro is right out side the door. Minuets to get to Notre Dame. This was a great Hotel for its price. The only Fault, they charge if you want to have a guest spend the night. but other than that I highly recommend it! Will love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down Rue De Temple and you'll find all the Night life you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J-Roc
Business
Rochester NY
May 30, 2011

Great Paris hotel

Very friendly and welcoming staff, modern room with many nice features, in a convenient location in the Marais but also very quiet. There was a computer in the lobby where we could check email (no charge). Best of all, they had a breakfast room that in addition to croissants and jam, also included hard-boiled eggs, cheese, yogurt and some fruit, which made it easier for me to eat gluten-free. There's always someone at the front desk, and they ask you to leave your key - so we didn't have to worry about losing it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel front desk staff recommended taking the Roissy bus to get back to the Charles de Gaulle airport. It was an easy trip on the Metro - not too many stairs and just a few stops - but make sure to get your Roissy bus ticket before exiting the Opera metro station. They only have an automated machine at the bus stop and it doesn't take paper money and our magnetic strip credit cards didn't work in the machine. Most French credit cards use a chip (une puce) instead of a magnetic strip, and so U.S. cards didn't work in some vending machines. Luckily they did work at the ATM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meadowlands Visitor
Business
Narragansett, RI
Feb 27, 2011

Excellent 3 Star Hotel

Four day get-away with my wife. We are both experienced European travelers. This had all the necessities including a great breakfast and internet access. It was clean, the service good, and it was right next to the Metro and some cafe's. We got all over town from there without a problem. Exceeded my expectations of a 3-star hotel. Windows were tight so the noise was not a problem at night. We would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Metro. It's easy, fast and cheap. You'll get more done on the trip and not get savaged by cab fares. This hotel is right next to the Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
F430 16M
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 19, 2010

Not Recommended

This hotel is close to a bad area of Paris. When we got there, the cab driver told us to call him if anything happened. We checked in but we were smarter now since this happened to us in Italy before. We asked to see the room first and true enough, it was small, cramped, not dirty but could be better and the walls were thin and we could hear sounds from every angle. We went down and declined to stay. We observed some gangs hanging around outside the hotel as well and we did not feel comfortable. Hotel said they would have to charge us and I said Bullocks and we called a cab. The cab driver came and was quick to tell us to jump in as he did not want to be carjacked. Plus, there was a cop van with lights on trying to see if he can scare away the gangs loitering around. If you are a light sleeper, forget it. Overall, it would be best to pick name brand hotels with 4 star and above if you want to have a comfortable stay. Otherwise, if you are on a budget and just want a place to sleep, this might work...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Austins Arts et Metiers

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK, NY
Oct 10, 2010

VERY HAPPY WITH CONDITION AND LOCATION

LOVED IT ALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top