$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

4 stars
5 RUE DU 8 MAI 45, 75010 PARIS, PARIS, 75010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
77 reviews
Great night's sleep

Great location, clean, as good as hotels twice the price. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 5, 2010
Great night's sleep

Great location, clean, as good as hotels twice the price. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 5, 2010
With the Gare de L'Est -sorties- (exits) 4 and 5 leading right into this hotel, the Holiday Inn Paris - Gare de l'Est is understandably in demand. The balconied exterior reflects the grandeur of the 19th century railway station opposite, while rooms have been brought into the 21st century with contemporary light fixtures and flashes of red on the walls. Internet, secretarial and courier services are all on hand for business travel, while families can save a few Euros as kids eat free here. Drink in the atmosphere - and the local red wines - at the Lobby Bar, beneath original stained glass windows, while planning your days and nights ahead in the City of Light.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting rooms
  • 8 floors
  • Pets allowed (with deposit)
  • Lobby Bar
  • Breakfast room
Neighborhood
The 10th arrondissement neighborhood which surrounds the Holiday Inn Paris - Gare de l'Est is transport-central because, in addition to Gare de l'Est across the street, major railway hub and Eurostar terminal Gare du Nord is less than a mile from the hotel. Wander along the nearby Canal Saint-Martin for choice Parisian restaurants, or stray a little further into Montmartre - home to the stunning Sacre-Coeur Basilica and the famous red windmill of nightclub Moulin Rouge - situated just over a mile from the hotel.
Hints and tips
Note that if you wish to avoid passing train noise, ask for a room above the seventh floor or one that does not overlook the street.

Dining options are numerous, but for home-cooked Italian penne and filetto, try Piccola Italia - close to Gard de Nord - for unpretentious eats and a genuine family-run atmosphere.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8759 2.3586
Nearby airports
Paris Orly, (ORY), 20.00, KM, S; Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle Airport, (CDG), 26.00, KM, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Gare de l'Est train station: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Saint-Martin: 0.2 mi
  • Gare du Nord train station: 0.3 mi
  • Marais Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.6 mi
  • Folies Bergere: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers: 0.6 mi
  • La Villette: 0.7 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.8 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris: 1 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Abbesses: 1.1 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 1.1 mi
  • Place du Tertre: 1.1 mi
  • Gare de l'Est train station: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Saint-Martin: 0.2 mi
  • Gare du Nord train station: 0.3 mi
  • Marais Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.6 mi
  • Folies Bergere: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers: 0.6 mi
  • La Villette: 0.7 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.8 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris: 1 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Abbesses: 1.1 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 1.1 mi
  • Place du Tertre: 1.1 mi
  • Buttes Chaumont: 1.1 mi
  • Les Halles: 1.1 mi
  • Montmartre - Pigalle: 1.1 mi
  • Musée Picasso: 1.1 mi
  • Parc des Buttes Chaumont: 1.1 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 1.2 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 1.2 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 1.2 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 1.2 mi
  • Parc de Belleville: 1.2 mi
  • Opera: 1.2 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 1.3 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 1.3 mi
  • Jewish quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 1.3 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 1.3 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 1.3 mi
  • Carnavalet Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 1.3 mi
  • Rue des Rosiers : 1.3 mi
  • Hotel de Ville: 1.3 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 1.3 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 1.3 mi
  • Moulin Rouge: 1.3 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 1.3 mi
  • Printemps : 1.4 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 1.4 mi
  • Samaritaine: 1.4 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 1.4 mi
  • Olympia: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Jun 22, 2010

Excellet Stay

I have to say that this was a great experience. I stayed in 2 Holiday Inns while traveling in Europe and was very satisfied. Great location for getting around the city. Rooms were small but very nice. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marshall, Texas
Oct 19, 2009

Paris Trip

I have never had a room so small. The room measured 7 feet wide by 12 feet long. We barely had room for our luggage. This is no exageration. We had to put a trash can under a night stand and the chair in the bathroom so we would have room for our 2 bags and were barely able to move around each other. Other than that the room was clean and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn how to use the subway system and the city is yours. We walked everywhere the first couple of days so we wouldn't miss anything. We started using the subway later to save time and wear and tear. There are so many stops, you can go from anywhere to anywhere else quickly. The Visit Pass is a good deal but make sure you read the rules. The clock starts ticking the first time you use it.

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marshall, Texas
Oct 19, 2009

Paris Trip

I have never had a room so small. The room measured 7 feet wide by 12 feet long. We barely had room for our luggage. This is no exageration. We had to put a trash can under a night stand and the chair in the bathroom so we would have room for our 2 bags and were barely able to move around each other. Other than that the room was clean and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn how to use the subway system and the city is yours. We walked everywhere the first couple of days so we wouldn't miss anything. We started using the subway later to save time and wear and tear. There are so many stops, you can go from anywhere to anywhere else quickly. The Visit Pass is a good deal but make sure you read the rules. The clock starts ticking the first time you use it.

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo-Jo_FL
Apopka, FL
Oct 15, 2009

Great view and close to the train

We arrived early, and they checked us in. I think they put us in a smaller room though. Across the street from Gare de L'est and so convenient. Great breakfast (not included), and tons of brochures/maps for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indiana Cafe is next to hotel, has American food and happy hour.

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo-Jo_FL
Apopka, FL
Oct 15, 2009

Great view and close to the train

We arrived early, and they checked us in. I think they put us in a smaller room though. Across the street from Gare de L'est and so convenient. Great breakfast (not included), and tons of brochures/maps for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Indiana Cafe is next to hotel, has American food and happy hour.

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lausanne, Switzerland
Sep 30, 2009

Excellent!!! Great value for money

Excelent value for money, clean & decent rooms (a bit small), good service and great location if you plan to use the metro. It was muuuch better than many 4 star hotels in Europe (and it is registered as a 3 star). No complains at all. I will come back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for the breakfast coupon for 10 euros. The regular price is 15 euros for a decent non-expensive buffet. Great deal

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lausanne, Switzerland
Sep 30, 2009

Excellent!!! Great value for money

Excelent value for money, clean & decent rooms (a bit small), good service and great location if you plan to use the metro. It was muuuch better than many 4 star hotels in Europe (and it is registered as a 3 star). No complains at all. I will come back for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for the breakfast coupon for 10 euros. The regular price is 15 euros for a decent non-expensive buffet. Great deal

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Sep 14, 2009

Watch your money !!!

We stayed there for a 7 nights.Room was very small with just coffee maker and hair dryer no iron for the clothes.Service was OK however they need learn how to knock to the door.They just want to get in without knocking first.The worse part was that 200$ was missing from the safe after talking to manager(that was maybe 24 years old) he said that there is only one thing that he can do for us witch is calling the police that was 400 ft away from hotel. Not a I`m sorry or here it`s a free breakfast or something like that.Will not go to the same hotel ever!For more deatels you can e mail me at [@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

buy passes for a metro and musseum will cost you 70 euros for each for a week

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Sep 14, 2009

Watch your money !!!

We stayed there for a 7 nights.Room was very small with just coffee maker and hair dryer no iron for the clothes.Service was OK however they need learn how to knock to the door.They just want to get in without knocking first.The worse part was that 200$ was missing from the safe after talking to manager(that was maybe 24 years old) he said that there is only one thing that he can do for us witch is calling the police that was 400 ft away from hotel. Not a I`m sorry or here it`s a free breakfast or something like that.Will not go to the same hotel ever!For more deatels you can e mail me at [@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

buy passes for a metro and musseum will cost you 70 euros for each for a week

Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York CIty
Sep 8, 2009

I'd Recommend Staying Here

I just got back from 10 days in Paris and stayed at this hotel and would highly recommend it. While I didn't spend much time in and around the neighborhood, I had easy subway access to other parts of Paris. I had read some other comments about noise because the hotel sits directly across the street from the Gare d'Est train station, but I didn't have any problems with noise and slept like a baby. The hotel didn't have the charm of the other, smaller hotels I'd stayed at in Paris, but my room was spacious, similar to American hotel rooms It was highly functional hotel. The staff was very helpful and very friendly and all spoke English. It is a bargain for its price. My main complaint was that I didn't get my wake-up call (the only one I made) on my last day, which put me in some jeopardy of missing my plane, but I woke up on my own early enough to get to the airport. And one other complaint was that instead of getting a room with one double-bed, I was in a room with two twin beds. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top