$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

4 stars
5 Rue Du 8 Mai 45, 75010 PARIS, Paris, 75010
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
45 reviews
Great night's sleep

Great location, clean, as good as hotels twice the price. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 5, 2010
quite agreeable

Perfect location, friendly service, room size as usual in Paris quite small. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 3, 2010
With the Gare de L'Est -sorties- (exits) 4 and 5 leading right into this hotel, the Holiday Inn Paris - Gare de l'Est is understandably in demand. The balconied exterior reflects the grandeur of the 19th century railway station opposite, while rooms have been brought into the 21st century with contemporary light fixtures and flashes of red on the walls. Internet, secretarial and courier services are all on hand for business travel, while families can save a few Euros as kids eat free here. Drink in the atmosphere - and the local red wines - at the Lobby Bar, beneath original stained glass windows, while planning your days and nights ahead in the City of Light.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • Business center
  • 5 meeting rooms
  • 8 floors
  • Pets allowed (with deposit)
  • Lobby Bar
  • Breakfast room
Neighborhood
The 10th arrondissement neighborhood which surrounds the Holiday Inn Paris - Gare de l'Est is transport-central because, in addition to Gare de l'Est across the street, major railway hub and Eurostar terminal Gare du Nord is less than a mile from the hotel. Wander along the nearby Canal Saint-Martin for choice Parisian restaurants, or stray a little further into Montmartre - home to the stunning Sacre-Coeur Basilica and the famous red windmill of nightclub Moulin Rouge - situated just over a mile from the hotel.
Hints and tips
Note that if you wish to avoid passing train noise, ask for a room above the seventh floor or one that does not overlook the street.

Dining options are numerous, but for home-cooked Italian penne and filetto, try Piccola Italia - close to Gard de Nord - for unpretentious eats and a genuine family-run atmosphere.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

48.8759 2.3586
Nearby airports
Paris Orly, (ORY), 20.00, KM, S; Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle Airport, (CDG), 26.00, KM, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Gare de l'Est train station: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Saint-Martin: 0.2 mi
  • Gare du Nord train station: 0.3 mi
  • Marais Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.6 mi
  • Folies Bergere: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers: 0.6 mi
  • La Villette: 0.7 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.8 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris: 1 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Abbesses: 1.1 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 1.1 mi
  • Place du Tertre: 1.1 mi
  • Gare de l'Est train station: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Saint-Martin: 0.2 mi
  • Gare du Nord train station: 0.3 mi
  • Marais Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Le Grand Rex: 0.6 mi
  • Folies Bergere: 0.6 mi
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers: 0.6 mi
  • La Villette: 0.7 mi
  • Grands Boulevards: 0.8 mi
  • Paris Bourse: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica of the Sacred Heart of Paris: 1 mi
  • Place des Victoires: 1.1 mi
  • Place des Abbesses: 1.1 mi
  • Centre Georges Pompidou: 1.1 mi
  • Place du Tertre: 1.1 mi
  • Buttes Chaumont: 1.1 mi
  • Les Halles: 1.1 mi
  • Montmartre - Pigalle: 1.1 mi
  • Musée Picasso: 1.1 mi
  • Parc des Buttes Chaumont: 1.1 mi
  • Gare de Châtelet Les Halles: 1.2 mi
  • Boulevard des Capucines: 1.2 mi
  • Place Igor-Stravinsky: 1.2 mi
  • Galeries Lafayette: 1.2 mi
  • Parc de Belleville: 1.2 mi
  • Opera: 1.2 mi
  • Théâtre Mogador: 1.3 mi
  • Garnier Palace: 1.3 mi
  • Jewish quarter: 1.3 mi
  • Café de la Paix: 1.3 mi
  • Avenue de l'Opéra: 1.3 mi
  • Bibliothèque-Musée de l'Opéra National de Paris: 1.3 mi
  • Carnavalet Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Châtelet - Les Halles: 1.3 mi
  • Rue des Rosiers : 1.3 mi
  • Hotel de Ville: 1.3 mi
  • Palais-Royal: 1.3 mi
  • Aquaboulevard: 1.3 mi
  • Moulin Rouge: 1.3 mi
  • Rue de Rivoli: 1.3 mi
  • Printemps : 1.4 mi
  • Théâtre de la Ville: 1.4 mi
  • Samaritaine: 1.4 mi
  • Lycée Condorcet: 1.4 mi
  • Olympia: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler from US
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 9, 2014

Small and Old hotel - Do not stay here

I don't recommend this hotel. It is small and far from the happening areas of Paris. You are better off staying at the Holiday Inn in the Latin Quarter which is walking distance to Notre Dame and all the restaurants/cafes and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DandGValdez
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Jul 1, 2013

Good but not great

Nicely located across the street from train station. Some of the staff was very helpful although another, Jennifer was her name, was extremely rude. The parking (why I chose this hotel) was advertised as free parking (on this and other websites) was actually 20 euros per day. At that price, I would have looked at other 3/4 star hotels. We had an Executive Room which would have been nice if there was only 2 of us but the 3rd body made the couch in the office area a bed but left little for maneuvering around it. The 3rd body was my younger sister that I was treating to a Euro trip for her graduation. Oh yeah, the breakfast is 15 euros per person/day so be advised before you pre-pay for it. Also, they ran out of scrambled eggs at like 9:30am. I realize it was 30 minutes prior to breakfast closure but scrambled eggs are absolute must for breakfast. I would recommend this hotel if booked well in advance to book a lower rate. I overpaid. Again, good but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book all attractions well in advance because everything sells out. And I mean everything! The only thing you can count on being available on the spot is the Arc de Triomphe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Feb Traveler 2013
North Carolina
Mar 10, 2013

Good location

Excellent location as its near the train station. Nice, clean hotel and the staff spoke English which was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crystal Massey
Port Orange, Florida
May 28, 2012

Fantastic Eurotrip desitination

My best friend and I did a Eurotrip and included Paris as one of our destinations. The hotel was clean and in a nice location. However, there was no wifi in our rooms and no complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben b68867
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Paris vacation

If your in France for sight seeing this is a good place to stay at.. Major train station is across the street making it very convenient to get to any landmark you would like to see. Not much around the hotel but there are good local cafes and coffee shops for quick bites and casual conversation. If your tight on cash (like I was as a student) than this is great deal. I would rate hotel as a 3 star out of 5. My trip was during new years eve with my girlfriend, overall I would book same hotel all over again if I had choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Side Show Bob
Alameda, CA, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great city

This hotel was nice and had a reasonable price. Bathroom could use some cleaning (mold) and updating. Could not take a shower without wetting floor (had a half glass wall that was loose and allowed water all over wooden floor). Metro noise could be loud. Convenient to restaurants and metro made for easy sightseeing in Paris. Train to CDG ten minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brasseries near hotel had fixed price specials which made for good eating at reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Executive Surfer
CA
Apr 27, 2011

Holiday Inn Gare de l'est - a match box

We stayed one night and booked a USD 450 "executive room" which turned out to be a glorified match box dated and stinking of smoke! If you need a hotel room of "executive" quality dont be fooled by the Holiday Inn! Street noise was disgusting....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frankfurt, Germany
Feb 22, 2011

Holiday Inn PARIS-GARE DE L'EST

This hotel is extremley convenient as it is located directly across the road from the Paris Gare De L'est train station. The price is a bit high but you are paying for convenience. I do not, however, recommend staying in room 228-238 as these rooms are directly above the breakfast buffet and it is very loud very early in the morning. The hotel staff was very nice and they held our bags the entire last day after we checked out until our train left Paris at 1710.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a multi-day subway pass. It only cost us 41€ for a three day pass for two people. You can ride the metro and buses most anywhere in the center of the city for this price. The train system is very efficient and located directly outside the front door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, Virginia
Dec 5, 2010

Great night's sleep

Great location, clean, as good as hotels twice the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PARIS - GARE DE L'EST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
willandlen
Montclair NJ
Sep 3, 2010

Met All of Our Needs

Hotel was excellent in all respects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search